We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical location with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Strand
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Practical location with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Nice spot, looking over the Bryggen area across the water. If you are coming from the airport, it is one of the last stops on the airport bus and less than 10-15 metres walk to the hotel [I think it is the Fish Market stop]. However, it is not near the Hurtigruten terminal. I booked a budget single room for one night, but the computerised lock on my room didn’t work so they upgraded me to a junior suite. It was like a big bedroom with a lounge area. Although lots of space around the room, the bathroom was small and comprised of two seperate rooms, one for the toilet, and the other was just a shower cubicle. The room had no bar fridge, but a type of vending machine with about 7 things to choose from. Your purchases were automatically added to your bill when selected. The staff were friendly, and it had free 24hr internet access. The breakfast was okay, not a huge selection but adequate enough to fill yourself up on. Quiet spot, but it was winter, and very close to the shopping malls and old district.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    218
    166
    88
    54
See reviews for
133
227
47
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights and regretted it. The location is wonderful - right on the harbour in the centre of town - but the bad things about this hotel definitely overshadowed its one strongpoint. Firstly, our room was very small and it faced onto a dingy courtyard at the back (which was admittedly relatively quiet most of the time). The room was outdated and rather grubby, and the furnishings looked like they had been purchased from an Ikea outlet 20 years ago; i.e. cheap-looking veneered chipboard with the surface peeling away in places, nasty anodized lights, uncomfortable skimpy armchairs, plastic fittings etc. The friends we were travelling with were put into a room on a different floor. They had a better furnished & slightly more spacious room & bathroom with a decent outlook, so can only agree with what other reviewers have said: the quality of the rooms in this hotel is quite variable. Secondly, our bathroom with its horrible fittings was a complete joke. It had obviously been converted from a closet and was so miniscule you had to turn sideways when you sat on the loo otherwise your knees would hit the door. There was a very small old basin, and nowhere to put any toiletries except a tiny plastic shelf (about 3 inches by 8 inches) on the wall. Worse still, the cramped shower - complete with mouldy curtain - was missing the cover over the drain pipe, so you had to be very careful where you put your feet if you didn't want to risk a broken toe.

The breakfast buffet was OK, with a reasonable choice of most of the usual things, but - as another reviewer has already mentioned - the juices were not fresh and there was a disappointingly small supply & choice of fresh fruit. That drawback was somewhat compensated for by the breakfast room itself, which was bathed in morning sunlight and had a lovely view over the harbour.

The staff at the front desk were efficient and polite, and the check-in/check-out process went smoothly. However, I had a bad experience with one of the cleaning staff which was very off-putting. In the early hours of the morning during our first night there I woke up with a bad dose of apparent food-poisoning, with gut pains, vomiting & diarrhoea - probably from the prawns eaten at dinner that night (luckily no-one else had chosen them). The next day I was feeling too seedy to go out sightseeing with my husband and friends, so I settled down in a chair with a book for a quiet morning of occasional throwing up and rushing to the loo. When the cleaning person arrived to do our room he made it clear that he wanted me to vacate it, so I spent a bit of time trying to explain my problem with both words and gestures (this was necessary because, like all the service staff we saw, he appeared to be of middle eastern origin and spoke very little English). I asked him just to go ahead and make the bed, clean the floor or do whatever he wanted to as best he could with me there, as I couldn't risk leaving the room (and the nearby loo) for even 15 minutes. However, he seemed to get very upset by my request and left the room a huff. He re-appeared about an hour later and after going through the same performance (shock & annoyance at finding me still there), he finally condescended to do the room (extremely quickly - now I knew why the room was so grubby), occasionally muttering under his breath as he did it. The whole experience was both unexpected & quite unpleasant .

In summary, this was in no way what I would call a good hotel, and - apart from its location - was by far the most disappointing place we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Norway. Unless you are lucky enough to score one of the better rooms you probably won't be too thrilled with it either.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thommo177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Lommedalen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Hi!

I stayed at this hotel in the end of June. The location is great. It is nearly on the fish market, and is close to everything in Bergen. Can't be better location that this. That's the good points.
The rooms are VERY SMALL, and outdated. There were no arcondition in the room, and it was very very hot. The breakfast was just OK, and I remember that the "fresh" fruite was not fresh.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lommedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaburns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

After staying in a really great hotel in Oslo, the Strand was a bit of a come down. That being said, I had no problems with it- it was a basic, no-frills place, and since everything is so expensive in Norway (especially Bergen), I'd probably stay there again.

The desk staff was friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast was great! The lobby and interior were nothing special, so if you want a really great atmosphere (romantic or otherwise) and are willing to pay for it, then book elsewhere. The room was a double and very... cozy. It was small, and the furniture was a bit warn. I wasn't in Bergen to sit in the room all day, so it was perfectly fine for crashing there at night. I was sharing the room with a friend, so we just had to move the twin beds apart and it was fine.

The Strand is across the street from the fish market and Bryggen, and a very short walk from the train station and so very many beautiful places, including Floibanen. I enjoyed wandering the streets, taking in the beauty of the city and the stunning surrounding nature, and getting out of the rain (uh, by the way, it rains in Bergen, a lot) by warming up in a pub. Everyone I met in the city was GREAT, and the combination of people and places made my visit to Bergen very special.

So, if you are looking for a similar experience and just need a basic hotel in which to stay, and one that is close to everything, I recommend the Strand. If you are on a romantic getaway or know that you'll want a better decorated or more comfortable hotel, then you should probably find some place that is more expensive.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Very plain
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank annaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2008

The Strand Hotel offers an excellent location. It is located at the harbourside with easy access to the open market, museums, restaurants, tourist information office, the funicular to Mt. Floyen, and other popular attractions. If location is the most important matter when choosing your accomodation, then the Strand Hotel may be just perfect. In addition to its convenient location, the Strand Hotel is clean and safe. The staff is friendly and quite helpful particularly if you want to know how to get around, places to eat and things of that sort.

However, if things like comfort, amenities, etc. matter when selecting the accomodation, then the Strand Hotel may not be the place to stay. The building itself seems rather old and is in desperate need of renovations. The beds are uncomfortable. But worst are the bathrooms where the shower and sink share one area. In other words, to wash your hands you're literally stepping in the shower. The shower curtains are those plastic curtains and the shower fixture are the plastic hoses which leak out all over the place. It was quite the nuisance to have the place flood each time one took a shower since there were no doors, only the plastic curtain and rod.

It is very telling when one asks for a feedback form to complete and the response from hotel staff is, "Well we don't have one".

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Rooms and amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
373 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

Lying right behind the fishmarket, the hotel boasts the best views in central Bergen. Sure enough the location couldn`t be more central, bu that`s the best thing which be said about the place. A superior room still had a shower with one of those smelly shower curtains, and no hairdrier. Service at the reception was slow - had to wait 10 minutes to check in because the only receptionist at work was busy with a phonecall.

  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

We stayed at the Strand hotel either side of a Hurtigruten cruise in December 2006, we were impressed by how friendly the staff were, especially when we checked in at about 3am due to ferry delays! The staff also helped us to plan our free days and even loaned us an umbrella when the heavens opened!

The rooms we stayed in both over looked the waterfront and very very large with high ceilings. The beds were a little soft but when you're tired you don't really care!

Everything was very clean, the breakfast was a self-service buffet which had everything you could want. There is free internet access in the reception and secure rom for your luggage on your check out day.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank December_snowdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Scandic Neptun
#23 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
First Hotel Marin
#17 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Strand

Property: Scandic Strand
Address: Strandkaien 2-4, Bergen 5013, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Strand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing