We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotel i have ever stayed..”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the worst hotel i have ever stayed..”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is one i wont forget soon.. checking in after a long day visit the room. And there the walls are full of stains from wine and suitcases. The later is probably because the room is so small. We go down to the reception and we get a new room without wine stains but still dirty walls and some of the interior was broken like hall light and lists. Night time bring air plugs because it can get loud if you have your windows open.

This is one of the more expensive hotels in Bergen, none the less the service is mediocre and its quite worn down.

The bar restaurant was better then I had imagined so at least something was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Razars,

Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay last year.
Since you stayed with us we have had a thorough cleaning of all rooms from top to bottom.
The stains from the suitcases are very hard to remove, however, we are starting painting our rooms this fall.
In regards to your comment about the size of the room I am surprised as we have some of the largest rooms of all hotels in Bergen.
Being a city hotel does involve some street noise. We do have rooms faced towards the back yard so please request one of those for a more quiet night.

We do hope you will consider us again sometimes. Our rates vary from day to day so you will be able to get a good deal.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    478
    240
    128
    70
See reviews for
248
547
88
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Location is within easy walking distance to most things in the city.
Room was very clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Showers had great pressure, and great variation in water temp.
Breakfast included with the room was easy and fast. Nothing extraordinary, but it was a solid breakfast.
Staff was friendly and helpful (all English speaking as most of Bergen).
The only complaint: we were on the 3rd floor facing the harbor, and there was street noise (yelling, laughing, etc...). Didn't really bother us, but beware if it bugs you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveInBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Excellent Rooms, Great Service, Fantastic Location in the Heart of Bergen. I Was Very Impressed. Hotel Staff Friendly and Very Helpful. Rooms Were Cozy, Large With Internet Access. The Hotel is Located in the Old Town of Bergen within Very Easy Walking Distance to Everything. The Cobblestone Streets are Really Nice and Especially Charming. Very Happy to Have Stayed Here, Would be Happy to Stay Here Again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Larger Room with a King Size Bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfoxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear mrfoxycat,

Thank you so much, we appreciate it. Come see us again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drobak, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Everything i OK with this hotel - but not more.
Staff in receprtion are inflexible with focus on their own "routines and systems", instead of their customers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazztrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Went there with a tour group (Globus), hotel seemed OK. Left carry on bag locked in room. When I returned hours later, porter had placed large suitcase in room, but carry on bag was gone, as was another one stashed inside my big suitcase. Passport, cell phone, house keys, prescription meds. A nightmare. Apparently porter didn't close door properly behind him, giving someone an opportunity to steal my stuff. Had to leave tour immediately for Oslo (7 hours away) to replace passport, called home to have locks changed. End of that vacation. Moral of the story -- don't leave anything of value, even locked in your room -- it must be in a safe, or checked with the front desk (a nuisance, I know, but better than what I went through).

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank jtamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Dear Jtamar,

First of all, I'm sorry for the loss of your personal items. I remember this happening, however, the issue about the door was never solved. When that is said, we did implement extra security rounds twice daily during the entire summer season where we checked all doors and emergency exits.
The routine among porters and housekeeping in regards to keeping an eye on what is going on around them at any time as well as closing and locking any open door was also stressed and we did not experience any other cases with lost property during the season.

Again, we're sorry for this happening to you and we do hope you will consider coming back to Norway, Bergen and First Hotel Marin another time.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed at this great hotel for a weekend with my husband - have stayed several times before and just love beeing paphered by the lovely staff at this hotel. Perfect location, great rooms (This time we were upgraded for a small extra charge to a unique room on the 5th floor facing harbour) and perfect location. Breakfast is good too, but miss the fried eggs, and the breakfast hours could be extended at least by half an hour... Will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Dear Ekjw,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm happy to hear we accomplished pampering you :)

Your notice about fried eggs is being taken care of and the head chef is going shopping for equipment so that we can serve them warm and with a slice of bacon with it.

In regards to the breakfast hours this is under continious consideration, particularly during weekends and summer season.

I am glad to hear you will be back - can't wait to see you.


Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I just checked out of my room first I waited almost 10 minutes with phone ringing at the front desk! No one to be found. When receptionist finally arrive she takes the phone. And tries to check me out. Then she hangs up I have some questions and give her feedback that as a customer should you not give me service before phone she said no. Could not help me with my reqes took phone again and everything is fine. I was dismissed. What an awful way to end a tiring work visit. I will never stay here again. It is so important to greet customers thank them or at least say good bye.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Lemt10,

Thank you for you review and taking time to be honest.

We always strive to provide excellent service to all our guests and I agree that the situation you describe is not up to our standards.
This is a situation of training and staffing and we obviously missed both in this matter. We will give all our staff a better insight in our Standard Operating Procedures for all guest treatments and ensure we have the proper amount of staff at any time.

I have sent you an e-mail suggesting a free upgrade to a harbour view deluxe room with extra amenities for your next stay. I do hope you will give us a second chance so that we can show you how good we can be!

Best Regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
635 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing