We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
West Sussex
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location and comfy room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it is in a great location - very near the fish market and the old buildings.

The hotel room was comfortable and clean although the general decor around the whole place could do with a refresh. Plentiful buffet breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leopards_cheetahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Leopards_cheetahs,

Thank you for the great review! We will start a soft renovation this fall. Welcome back to experience us!

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    431
    215
    115
    64
See reviews for
222
496
82
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Convenient location. Good atmosphere. Reasonable accommodation. Dinner in bar area, my wife and I both had rack of lamb, compliments to the chef – delicious. Staff very polite and helpful. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJF44a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Dear Richmojp,

Thanks for the great review. For your information, we have a new menu in our restaurant now, more Scandinavian dishes. We hope you will be able to come back one day and try it.

Best Regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We checked in the hotel in a family room and found it a great place.
there is a separate bedroom with double bed, a bathroom with bad, shower, 2 sinks and the toilet and then you have the huge living/sleeping place with a double bed and comfortable seats.

The beds are comfortable and good size (not the small ones we often found in other places).

The location of this hotel is very convenient. Hotel has a flyer with an app about Oslo by the locals but we did not have the time to check it out.

Unfortunately around 2 am the fire alarm went off and we found ourselves awake, getting dressed and very sleepy. Luckily it was a false alarm but the night was broken and we did not feel too well getting up in the morning.

Maybe not a bad idea if management had offered their awaken customers a comforting little goodnight drink.


Breakfast was not busy at all. The CD however got stuck every other song. A minor thing but probably a good thing to change it.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibi-ikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear Biki-ikke,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sorry about the fire alarm, somebody punched the wrong button. The idea about a goodnight drink is good and I will ensure this is something we will offer in the future - thanks!

We hope to see you again in the future. If so, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I recently stayed 7 nights in room 418 at the Marin. I loved my room, a double that I occupied alone. There was plenty of space in the bedroom, the bathroom being on the smaller side but perfectly adequate. Toiletries were provided, though the hotel towels were quite small. The room looked out towards the cathedral and the town with good views of the funicular and cablecar. There was a TV and minibar but one thing I would have liked in the room would have been a small safe for valuables and money etc. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in for a long time that hadnt provided a safe. I was there just before midsummers day so the nights were short and it was light till very late. But the room had good curtains that blacked out the light completely which was excellent. I needed the windows open at night as the weather was good and I was not disturbed by noise outside until the last night I was there (Saturday) when the noise went on until after 3am. However I did have earplugs with me and found them useful. Breasfast times I found to be chaotic at week ends and on days when large groups were going on early excursions. Returning to the buffet meant that my place at the table was sometimes lost if the waitress cleared away in the short time I was gone. I tried leaving my coat on the back of the chair to try and prevent this. Depending on where you ended up sitting in the restaurant, it was quite a walk to the breakfast buffet and some days it seemed like there was a constant parade of people carrying breakfast. But the choice of food was good. The location of the Marin couldnt be better. Right at the heart of Bryggen and one minute to the seafront. Also the funicular was only a couple of minutes away and I spent many evenings up at the top watching the lovely sunsets. when I return to Bergen I will be staying at the Marin.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleyhorse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Charleyhorse_9,

Thank you so much for the great review!
I would like to comment on a few things and one of them is in regards to safe in the rooms. It is correct we do not have this in our rooms, however, we do have safe storage in our back office so it would be possible to keep your valuables safe there. I understand this is not as flexible and comfortable as a safe in the room which is something we will bring back to the owner/landlord before a possible renovation.
Earplugs are really nice to have and we also sell some at the front desk for those who hasn't brought their own.

In regards to your comments about breakfast we do have this problem every now and then during high season when all large groups are leaving at the same time. However, we do usually inform our individual guests when the best time to have breakfast is. If you haven't been given this information - ask us next time.

Thanks again and welcome back.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Dusty flores in the room, slow service and bad bad food in the restaurant. ALMOST UNEATABLE

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wengs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Wengs,

Thank you for reporting on your last stay with us. Considering your feedback I do hope you also told us about these issues when you where here?
If not I hope you will contact me so I can get more details and provide a compensation as we do not want to be perceived as you describe us. We are constantly looking for improvement and depend on detailed feedback.

Please contact us!

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

This hotel is one i wont forget soon.. checking in after a long day visit the room. And there the walls are full of stains from wine and suitcases. The later is probably because the room is so small. We go down to the reception and we get a new room without wine stains but still dirty walls and some of the interior was broken like hall light and lists. Night time bring air plugs because it can get loud if you have your windows open.

This is one of the more expensive hotels in Bergen, none the less the service is mediocre and its quite worn down.

The bar restaurant was better then I had imagined so at least something was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Dear Razars,

Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay last year.
Since you stayed with us we have had a thorough cleaning of all rooms from top to bottom.
The stains from the suitcases are very hard to remove, however, we are starting painting our rooms this fall.
In regards to your comment about the size of the room I am surprised as we have some of the largest rooms of all hotels in Bergen.
Being a city hotel does involve some street noise. We do have rooms faced towards the back yard so please request one of those for a more quiet night.

We do hope you will consider us again sometimes. Our rates vary from day to day so you will be able to get a good deal.

Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

Location is within easy walking distance to most things in the city.
Room was very clean and well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Showers had great pressure, and great variation in water temp.
Breakfast included with the room was easy and fast. Nothing extraordinary, but it was a solid breakfast.
Staff was friendly and helpful (all English speaking as most of Bergen).
The only complaint: we were on the 3rd floor facing the harbor, and there was street noise (yelling, laughing, etc...). Didn't really bother us, but beware if it bugs you.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveInBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#10 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing