We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably comfortable, but looking a bit tired and scruffy”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I arrived late at night, and the hotel was apparently full apart from a suite on the 7th floor. I was warned that I might have to move rooms the next day - which meant that I didn't quite settle in, and in the end I didn't move. My suite was huge - a good sized bedroom, an large living room, with full floor to ceiling glass windows on two sides, opening out onto a roof terrace, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi and sauna. The odd thing was that this potentially wonderful suite contained old, scruffy furniture - the wooden table and bedside console had peeling varnish and stains on them, and the mock English regency wallpaper in the bedroom was about 40 years out of date... So much more could have been done with the space. However, I slept well, the breakfasts were fine (although no soya milk and no brown goats cheese, which I always look forward to in Norway), and the hotel is conveniently located for the centre of town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islingtonian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Islingtonian2010,

First of all, thank you for giving us this feedback. Although the hotel was full we should have had enough control of the arrivals in order to provide a room you could stay in for all the nights without worrying. The front desk will trained in this for the future.

Our rooms are tired after 12 years, however, we are working on a plan for renovation now.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

The bedroom was very small and the furniture/decoration is in need of refurbishment, although the bathroom was in good condition. The bedroom walls were very marked. The towels in the bathroom were very small and thin. The communal areas, especially the corridors, were in poor condition. On weekend nights there was a lot of noise in the street from people entering/leaving a nearby club, which is not the hotel's fault but earplugs in the room would have been appreciated. The price charged by the hotel is not justified given the current poor condition of much of the hotel - hopefully the refurbishment the hotel has planned will improve it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tartan-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear Tartan-Travellers,

Thank you for your review. In fact, our rooms are some of the largest of the hotels in Bergen, even our standard rooms are of average size. So next time, ask for the largest we have!
Some of our rooms have marks from suitcases and shoes on the walls which will be painted during the fall/winter season.
I would like to know more specific what you mean about the corridors since these were painted last winter. Is there a damage we don't know about?

We do have earplugs at the front desk so we could have brought you some. Now it's obviously too late, but next time...

In regards to the price, August is the busiest month of the year and prices are high throughout the city.

We do hope to see you again, maybe after the refurbishments?

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent three nights at the hotel while in Bergen, early Sept. 2011. The hotel is in a great location, right in Bryggen, near the Fish Market, the Hanseatic Quarter, and many sights. There was a little confusion at check-in and checkout, due to the Delta points we used for one night and booking through Expedia for others, but the hotel staff couldn't have been more gracious. A huge breakfast buffet is included, and it was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamper796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Dear curiousrover,

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again some other time!

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights (August 21 & 22). The hotel is centrally located. Our room was not well maintained. The bar fridge was missing, there was no electric iron and no hot water kettle. The bathroom was tiny even by European standards. The bathtub did not drain properly. On the night of the 21st the internet did not work. The front desk staff were not helpful in restoring the service. Even the computer in the lobby did not have internet service. The buffet breakfast is OK. All in all we did not enjoy our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms. It seems our room was in the older section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear curiousrover,

Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear we could not meet your requirements. It seems you should have booked a superior room or another upgraded category as these are the rooms with minibar, iron and kettle.
The internet working was due to our external supplier that experienced problems at the time. Normally the computer in the lobby, that has a different supplier would work, but due to an upgrade this was also out of service.

We do hope you will consider us again for the future so we can show you what we really are! Please contact me and I'll ensure an upgraded room!

Best regards,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

the hotel sent me to a dark and dirty hotel where I stayed in a closet beside the elevator door. I am a single woman traveling alone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcmeschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Dear Ms Mcmeschke,

Please explain, what happend during your stay? Did we relocate you to a different accommodation? Then it could have been because of an overbook, but I need more information to find this out.
Your experience sounds terrible, I would like to sort it, please contact me!

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We'd heard that Norway is not known for its service, so we didn't expect a Ritz Carlton. But this hotel let us down in a number of ways. They tried to deny my reservation was for the dates I had. Fortunately, I had printed my voucher, at which point they relented. Turns out the hotel was overbooked, and they actually forcibly thew out several members of our group after a couple of days. Scandinavia normally puts on a terrific breakfast spread, but this hotel had the most meager of any hotel we stayed in. There's a great-looking modern hotel on the way to the airport - but unfortunately it's far from the cute old inner city. And taxis are so expensive, you don't want to add that to your bill. Might want to consider a couple of Radisson Blu hotels in the heart of old Bergen.

Room Tip: We had two rooms. One had a very leaky tub. Unfortunately, the hotel was too full to move rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennsylvaniaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear PennsylvaniaPatty,

I am sorry that the service provided in our hotel was experienced this way. Although we are fully booked there is no excuse in not treating our guests with excellent service. I apologise and will inform the Front Office Manager about this so he can take action on the staff on duty.

We are continously working on improvements and breakfast is one of them. We will take your comments into account for the future.

If you come back to Bergen, please do not hesitate to contact me for a rooms so that we can show you what we really are.

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights as part of the Norway in a Nutshell package.
The trip from the airport was very easy as the bus stops on the quayside less than 200metres from the hotel-the last stop.
The hotel staff were very welcoming and efficient and being able to leave our main baggage at the hotel while we did a 24hrs trip on the fjord, was a bonus.
Our room was large, light, airy and clean but as a previous reviewer commented, the hotel is looking a little tired and the spruce up planned in the autumn will be a great improvement.
For 2 out of 3 nights our room was very quiet but the noise from revellers leaving the night club opposite was a little disturbing (or were we just jealous?) - especially as we sleep with windows open. This didn't spoil our stay and we could have asked to be moved.
The spa room/gym was very average and needs a real overhaul - it would be such a bonus especially after a rainy day in beautiful Bergen.
The buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, but we're always embarrassed by fellow travellers hoarding supplies for a free lunch! With the high numbers of people staying, the breakfast room did have a slight canteen atmosphere. We didn’t eat at the hotel as we prefer to wander the streets but although prices are silly, (stop converting) we had excellent meals in Bergen and the fish market stalls are brilliant for no frills snacks.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet room ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seniorhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Seniorhound,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. Your tip about asking for a quiet room is very good, particularly if you are staying Friday or Saturday night.
The fitness room is in fact, getting a new carpet next week and we also hope that we will be able to do some painting down there when doing the rooms.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
116 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £71 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing