We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn-out, scruffy hotel and bad service”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Worn-out, scruffy hotel and bad service”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is mainly used by tour operators accommodating large travel groups for one max two nights. It is therefore mostly fully booked and very crowded at reception and especially breakfast. First we stayed in room 218, which is next to the engine room. Then they moved us for the remaining nights to a business suit on the 5th floor. But all the rooms are scruffy: furniture is cheap and old, even the towels. Beds uncomfortable and breakfast disgusting with the cheapest of the cheapest prefab choices. When we complained to the staff about the 'sagged' bed and central regulated air conditioning, placed above, blowing all night on us, they told us that we could sleep on the couch in the living room! This was our second time in Norway and the price/quality of hotels is just very bad (or actually in general). But regarding this hotel, please spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear anonymous01,

Thanks for your thoughts about our hotel. In regards to the room and the bed in particular, I will check the bed and have in replaced.
Other furniture, walls and floors are to be renovated the following months.

August is our busiest month of the year and we do have all sort of guests staying as we are a family hotel as well as business hotel and conference hotel. You might have been checking in or out and having your breakfast just at the same time as the group.


Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    457
    232
    119
    69
See reviews for
239
518
85
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

If you are looking for a very standard three star hotel with a perfect location in Bergen, I recommend the First Hotel Marina. Reception is a bit dysfunctional, but the rooms are ok but the breakfast mediocre.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the fish market and the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Sjurontour,

Thanks for telling people about our great location and rooms with a view.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I arrived late at night, and the hotel was apparently full apart from a suite on the 7th floor. I was warned that I might have to move rooms the next day - which meant that I didn't quite settle in, and in the end I didn't move. My suite was huge - a good sized bedroom, an large living room, with full floor to ceiling glass windows on two sides, opening out onto a roof terrace, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi and sauna. The odd thing was that this potentially wonderful suite contained old, scruffy furniture - the wooden table and bedside console had peeling varnish and stains on them, and the mock English regency wallpaper in the bedroom was about 40 years out of date... So much more could have been done with the space. However, I slept well, the breakfasts were fine (although no soya milk and no brown goats cheese, which I always look forward to in Norway), and the hotel is conveniently located for the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islingtonian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Islingtonian2010,

First of all, thank you for giving us this feedback. Although the hotel was full we should have had enough control of the arrivals in order to provide a room you could stay in for all the nights without worrying. The front desk will trained in this for the future.

Our rooms are tired after 12 years, however, we are working on a plan for renovation now.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The bedroom was very small and the furniture/decoration is in need of refurbishment, although the bathroom was in good condition. The bedroom walls were very marked. The towels in the bathroom were very small and thin. The communal areas, especially the corridors, were in poor condition. On weekend nights there was a lot of noise in the street from people entering/leaving a nearby club, which is not the hotel's fault but earplugs in the room would have been appreciated. The price charged by the hotel is not justified given the current poor condition of much of the hotel - hopefully the refurbishment the hotel has planned will improve it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartan-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear Tartan-Travellers,

Thank you for your review. In fact, our rooms are some of the largest of the hotels in Bergen, even our standard rooms are of average size. So next time, ask for the largest we have!
Some of our rooms have marks from suitcases and shoes on the walls which will be painted during the fall/winter season.
I would like to know more specific what you mean about the corridors since these were painted last winter. Is there a damage we don't know about?

We do have earplugs at the front desk so we could have brought you some. Now it's obviously too late, but next time...

In regards to the price, August is the busiest month of the year and prices are high throughout the city.

We do hope to see you again, maybe after the refurbishments?

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent three nights at the hotel while in Bergen, early Sept. 2011. The hotel is in a great location, right in Bryggen, near the Fish Market, the Hanseatic Quarter, and many sights. There was a little confusion at check-in and checkout, due to the Delta points we used for one night and booking through Expedia for others, but the hotel staff couldn't have been more gracious. A huge breakfast buffet is included, and it was exceptionally good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear curiousrover,

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again some other time!

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights (August 21 & 22). The hotel is centrally located. Our room was not well maintained. The bar fridge was missing, there was no electric iron and no hot water kettle. The bathroom was tiny even by European standards. The bathtub did not drain properly. On the night of the 21st the internet did not work. The front desk staff were not helpful in restoring the service. Even the computer in the lobby did not have internet service. The buffet breakfast is OK. All in all we did not enjoy our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms. It seems our room was in the older section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear curiousrover,

Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear we could not meet your requirements. It seems you should have booked a superior room or another upgraded category as these are the rooms with minibar, iron and kettle.
The internet working was due to our external supplier that experienced problems at the time. Normally the computer in the lobby, that has a different supplier would work, but due to an upgrade this was also out of service.

We do hope you will consider us again for the future so we can show you what we really are! Please contact me and I'll ensure an upgraded room!

Best regards,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

the hotel sent me to a dark and dirty hotel where I stayed in a closet beside the elevator door. I am a single woman traveling alone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcmeschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Ms Mcmeschke,

Please explain, what happend during your stay? Did we relocate you to a different accommodation? Then it could have been because of an overbook, but I need more information to find this out.
Your experience sounds terrible, I would like to sort it, please contact me!

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
573 reviews
The Hanseatic Hotel
#10 of 46 in Bergen
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing