We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best looking, but functionally no complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Hotel Marin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not the best looking, but functionally no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Not the best looking hotel, others in the area look nicer, but I had a good-sized room that was a decent sleep for a few nights. The staff was nice too. I agree with others that breakfast could be better but it wasn't bad either except that they start cleaning up a half hour early.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear from you since it's been so long since you stayed with us.
We are sorry the breakfast staff started cleaning before they should. Since it is so long ago we are not able to explain why this has happend, but we are sorry this happend during your stay. We assure you this is not a standard for us.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    413
    208
    113
    64
See reviews for
216
480
77
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Rozas, Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

The only good about this hotel is the situation in the wharf. The service was always unresponsive and angry, the breakfast crappy, the rooms very poor. And all this for more than 250Euros per night !
In Spain they would be killed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesusizdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Jesusizdo,

I am really sorry you have had such an experience, this is NOT what we are trying to achieve. As we are always trying to improve I would like more specifics so that we are able to pinpoint the issues in our organisation.
We have done major changes with our breakfast and the staff since August and we hope you will come back to experience it.

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This lovely hotel could not be in a better location! One block from the Brygge and waterfront, a block from the Fløybahn funicular ( and amazing view), a block to 8-9 restaurants, and a ten minute walk from the train station. The room was large, clean and comfortable, the bathroom quite a good size, everything fairly modern. The staff was very attentive at breakfast, which was fairly standard for Norway...I have had much better. I was disappointed in the cereal choices and the lack of Norway's rather notable brown cheese (Gjeitost). They served cookies, but they were prepackaged, not fresh. Overall, I would stay here again, just for the exceptional location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Njschultz,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel is mainly used by tour operators accommodating large travel groups for one max two nights. It is therefore mostly fully booked and very crowded at reception and especially breakfast. First we stayed in room 218, which is next to the engine room. Then they moved us for the remaining nights to a business suit on the 5th floor. But all the rooms are scruffy: furniture is cheap and old, even the towels. Beds uncomfortable and breakfast disgusting with the cheapest of the cheapest prefab choices. When we complained to the staff about the 'sagged' bed and central regulated air conditioning, placed above, blowing all night on us, they told us that we could sleep on the couch in the living room! This was our second time in Norway and the price/quality of hotels is just very bad (or actually in general). But regarding this hotel, please spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear anonymous01,

Thanks for your thoughts about our hotel. In regards to the room and the bed in particular, I will check the bed and have in replaced.
Other furniture, walls and floors are to be renovated the following months.

August is our busiest month of the year and we do have all sort of guests staying as we are a family hotel as well as business hotel and conference hotel. You might have been checking in or out and having your breakfast just at the same time as the group.


Best regards

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

If you are looking for a very standard three star hotel with a perfect location in Bergen, I recommend the First Hotel Marina. Reception is a bit dysfunctional, but the rooms are ok but the breakfast mediocre.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms facing the fish market and the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjurontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Sjurontour,

Thanks for telling people about our great location and rooms with a view.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

I arrived late at night, and the hotel was apparently full apart from a suite on the 7th floor. I was warned that I might have to move rooms the next day - which meant that I didn't quite settle in, and in the end I didn't move. My suite was huge - a good sized bedroom, an large living room, with full floor to ceiling glass windows on two sides, opening out onto a roof terrace, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi and sauna. The odd thing was that this potentially wonderful suite contained old, scruffy furniture - the wooden table and bedside console had peeling varnish and stains on them, and the mock English regency wallpaper in the bedroom was about 40 years out of date... So much more could have been done with the space. However, I slept well, the breakfasts were fine (although no soya milk and no brown goats cheese, which I always look forward to in Norway), and the hotel is conveniently located for the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islingtonian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Islingtonian2010,

First of all, thank you for giving us this feedback. Although the hotel was full we should have had enough control of the arrivals in order to provide a room you could stay in for all the nights without worrying. The front desk will trained in this for the future.

Our rooms are tired after 12 years, however, we are working on a plan for renovation now.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The bedroom was very small and the furniture/decoration is in need of refurbishment, although the bathroom was in good condition. The bedroom walls were very marked. The towels in the bathroom were very small and thin. The communal areas, especially the corridors, were in poor condition. On weekend nights there was a lot of noise in the street from people entering/leaving a nearby club, which is not the hotel's fault but earplugs in the room would have been appreciated. The price charged by the hotel is not justified given the current poor condition of much of the hotel - hopefully the refurbishment the hotel has planned will improve it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartan-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear Tartan-Travellers,

Thank you for your review. In fact, our rooms are some of the largest of the hotels in Bergen, even our standard rooms are of average size. So next time, ask for the largest we have!
Some of our rooms have marks from suitcases and shoes on the walls which will be painted during the fall/winter season.
I would like to know more specific what you mean about the corridors since these were painted last winter. Is there a damage we don't know about?

We do have earplugs at the front desk so we could have brought you some. Now it's obviously too late, but next time...

In regards to the price, August is the busiest month of the year and prices are high throughout the city.

We do hope to see you again, maybe after the refurbishments?

Best regards,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing