We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Old world charm" is one thing but shabby is quite another”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Old world charm" is one thing but shabby is quite another”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked this hotel in expectation of the usual high levels of Scandinavian standards of decor and service. Sadly, we were bitterly disappointed.
The good points: our room was on the 4th floor and directly overlooked the harbour. It was a large room which was warm and there was little noise from adjoining rooms. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and fresh food; though the decor and lack of any ambiance in the restaurant would not make you want to linger over your meal.
Now for the bad points. Our room was shabby. The wooden floor had scratches all over it and there was no rug on the floor or at the side of the beds, which gave it a spartan rather than minimalist appearance. The furniture was basic and old fashioned. The arm chairs looked as though they had come from a senior citizens' retirement home. The windows did not open properly and the the paint was peeling on the outside. The curtains were totally out of place in the room and could only be described as 1970's Habitat style. There was no safe in the bedroom, which would be troublesome if you were travelling with valuable items. However, the bed and bed linen were perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was cramped and there were no large bath towels and no bath mat. The shower head was broken and so it was not possible to adjust the water jet. That said, there was underfloor heating.
There is all the world's difference between "old style charm" and downright shabby. Sadly, this hotel has been allowed to deteriorate into the latter category. The paintwork throughout the hotel is scuffed and badly in need of redecorating. The bar is one of the most uninviting areas of the hotel and, understandably, was empty for the duration of our stay. This is not surprising when you consider that the only feature of note in the bar was a television screen displaying an artificial open fire!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo_Aglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Paolo_Aglio

Thank you very much for posting your review of First Hotel Marin. I am so sorry you did not have the experience you had hoped for while staying with us.

I appreciate your feedback very much and we will closely monitor your comments with the departments involved.

We have been working on improving the quality of the breakfast – and I wish to thank you for your positive response on the contents of the meal itself. We do however – have some more actions to take regarding improving the appearance of the breakfast room /restaurant. During the next months we will be working on improving the coziness of the breakfast room in order to make our guests feel more at home.

I wish to bring to you attention that the hotel is going through a thorough refurbishment during 2013 /2014, and we have finished refurbishing 3 floors and some public areas by March 2013. The remaining floors will be done throughout the year. The room you stayed in is from 2001 and is not yet refurbished.

We do not as of now offer a safe in every guest room. However, the front desk offers rent of safe for free upon request.

Please contact me directly should you have any more concerns regarding your stay and I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconvenience experienced during your stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our property and a newly renovated room the next time you choose to stay in Bergen.

Yours sincerely
Monica Selvik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    471
    234
    123
    70
See reviews for
242
538
86
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Hill, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Can't get any closer to all the good stuff; museums, Bryggen, restaurants everything right here, even train station is close. Breakfast is very good and staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms very clean and spacious. Good value for Norway!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here en route home back to London from a huge arctic Birthday trip that my partner had treated me too. Our last ( winter) trip to Bergen was about 10 years ago and we loved it ,so, it was a lovely surprise to return. Look, this hotel is centrally located in the old part of Bergen and just in the Bryggen ( quay),but, really, poor customer care and standards generally and in great need of tlc ( care and attention.

The staff could careless and were really unhelpful and the place was in need of proper management. I really felt for my partner who'd put so much thought, time and energy into this trip and everything had been so brilliant and perfect. When someone you love puts so much into planning a special trip or event - there's quite a bit of emotion bound up in it. We still enjoyed our overnight trip to Bergen, because it's such a fabulous place, but, we would not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On the positive side: a good location and a varied breasfast.
On the negative side: fairly old interiors; my floor and room smelled to cigarettes; I had to go through a set of stairs to get to the elevator, which is not very convenient when you have heavy luggage; my bed was small; I arrived on a Sunday late in the evening and the computer system didn't work, so it took the receptionist about 15 minutes to give me my room (why wasn't it ready upon my arrival?!?).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxiNegrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights as part of a Hurtigruten package and so was chosen for us. It is situated just off the Bryggen (quay) near the old part of Bergen and within easy reach of the many tourist attractions, shops, restaurants, bars and the Tourist Office. Following Trip Adviser comments, we requested a room on a higher floor and were given a very quiet one on the 4th floor, at the side of the building with a limited harbour view. A large-ish room, it contained double bed, wardrobe, table, coffee table, 2 armchairs and 2 other chairs, tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. The ensuite bathroom had a bath with shower, and a tiled floor with no bath mat. The floor in the bedroom was wooden, with no mats, and it showed signs of being well used as did the furnishngs e.g. stained lampshade, burn marks on the table, scuffs on the walls, scratches and chips on the furniture. The bed and pillows were rather soft for us. Despite these remarks, we found the room comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good included juices, cereals, breads, cold meats, pate, fish, fresh fruit etc.

Room Tip: See other review comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear ge0rgiana,

Thank you very much for reviewing First Hotel Marin. We will pay close attention to your comments for improvement, and we also wish to thank you for letting us which areas we do well and where to improve.I am happy to announce that we since November-13 started a soft renovation and have already finished 3 floors. The renovatotion will include total touch up of all floors, rooms and public areas and will be finished at the latest February/March 2014.

Thank you for making us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Very good location minutes from Bryggen waterfont and Floyen fenicular station.Very large family room consisting of two bedrooms and lounge area, we found this perfect for sharing with our two teenage children.good sized bathroom with toiletries provided.Good breakfast,plenty of choice from cooked to cold meat cheeses etc.Ten minutes walk to the train station was very convenient, the train journey to Oslo was amazing,its worth booking the comfort carriage just for the free tea and coffee en route, as everything in Norway is hideously expensive, two coffees two hot chocolates and a muffin cost 25 pounds locally! One thing to point out is that everything in Bergen was closed on Sunday,even the small supermarkets.Dont miss going up the floyen mountain, the view is incredible,and take as muuch food out from breakfast as you can !

Room Tip: Family room was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozzyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel stands out for being located next to the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Bryggen, right in the city center and across the road from the fish market. Location wise, it really can't get any better. We stayed in the rooftop suite and had some great views over the bay. The suite was L-shaped and very spacious. There are lots of books throughout the hotel and the lobby is nicely decorated. Breakfast was delicious. We went downstairs at the first hour and there was plenty of food and lots of variety to choose from. We would love to stay here again next time we visit Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
611 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing