We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, convenient”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A clean, well-organized, perfectly good hotel right next to the main sights in Bergen. This is on a side street right off the main street, which is actually an advantage. Go outside to get your view - this is a quiet place to relax, work in peace, and plan the day's activities.

Rooms are simple but not spartan, bathrooms are very clean and modern, the elevators not big but it's easy enough to take the stairs.

Value rating is "for Norway."

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

My travel agent booked me in this hotel last minute on a recent business trip for one night as everything else seemed to be full in Bergen. I paid an atrocious amount for one night even by Norwegian standard prices. The hotel is in a very good central location on bryggen, but that's about the only plus. The hotel is worn and shabby and I did not feel very comfortable during my stay. My room was dirty, beat up floors, clumps of dust, broken dresser drawers, stain on bed linens, worn out scruffy towels, rust in the chipped tub, and the list goes on. I refused to remove my shoes while in the room and I slept on top of the blankets. Front desk staff were not very helpful. Breakfast was mediocre and a weird setup with communal cafeteria style seating. I would not stay here again and I cannot recommend it as a destination in Bergen.

Room Tip: Any room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a business hotel in the middle of the historic district. A touch warn around the edges, it is in need of a major renovation. Prices were good. The restaurant is really a breakfast somgasbord...and quite tasty. At night there only seems to be one item on the menu.

Clean and uninspiring.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

First Hotel Marin have the waterfront views you want to see from the top of the hotel. Ask for an upgrade and you can see the fish market from your room ang the lining of ships and boats along the Port of Bergen, and its perfect for over view the celebration of the Norwegian National Day (17 of May ). You have a royal view over all of the parade.The employee service make sure your staying is awesome.The good location make you in walking distanse to the street of the attraction on this city has ever to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken-mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First Hotel Marin is one street back from the waterfront in the old town"Bryggen" which is the World Heritagre listed section of the city. Norway is an EXTREMELY expensive country so while it seems dear by Australian standards, it's fairly "run of the mill" in price. We were in residence over a weekend and the noise from nearby nightclubs was intrusive into room 211 (absolute front on the corner - but only one floor up). There were also lots of people for breakfast which is somewhat communal with a number of round tables seating eight or ten. Monday and Tuesday mornings were completely different - and more relaxed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were departing on a "Hurtigruten" cruise up the coast and their bus calls at the hotel at (fairly) regular intervals. Because Bergen is a favourite cruise ship destination, the number of tour buses and coaches can vary and this can affect the progress of the Hurtigruten bus through the traffic and thus affect its schedule to the hotel. There are a number of eating places nearby from Pizza, through Chinese, Indian, Sushi.to Steak houses.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yambatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The employes in this hotel give you a real welcome. I have had many stays on this hotel and the staff working there are so helpful in any situasions. The rooms are very, very nice. If you visit the hotel in a quiet week, ask for an upgrade and you get a splended rom for a few bucks more. They have some off the best looking rooms i have ever stayed in. And dont bee afraid off asking stupid questions or demands. They will fix it. And my headline says it all. It is in the middle off Bergen, best location ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trular76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked this hotel in expectation of the usual high levels of Scandinavian standards of decor and service. Sadly, we were bitterly disappointed.
The good points: our room was on the 4th floor and directly overlooked the harbour. It was a large room which was warm and there was little noise from adjoining rooms. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and fresh food; though the decor and lack of any ambiance in the restaurant would not make you want to linger over your meal.
Now for the bad points. Our room was shabby. The wooden floor had scratches all over it and there was no rug on the floor or at the side of the beds, which gave it a spartan rather than minimalist appearance. The furniture was basic and old fashioned. The arm chairs looked as though they had come from a senior citizens' retirement home. The windows did not open properly and the the paint was peeling on the outside. The curtains were totally out of place in the room and could only be described as 1970's Habitat style. There was no safe in the bedroom, which would be troublesome if you were travelling with valuable items. However, the bed and bed linen were perfectly acceptable. The bathroom was cramped and there were no large bath towels and no bath mat. The shower head was broken and so it was not possible to adjust the water jet. That said, there was underfloor heating.
There is all the world's difference between "old style charm" and downright shabby. Sadly, this hotel has been allowed to deteriorate into the latter category. The paintwork throughout the hotel is scuffed and badly in need of redecorating. The bar is one of the most uninviting areas of the hotel and, understandably, was empty for the duration of our stay. This is not surprising when you consider that the only feature of note in the bar was a television screen displaying an artificial open fire!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo_Aglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Paolo_Aglio

Thank you very much for posting your review of First Hotel Marin. I am so sorry you did not have the experience you had hoped for while staying with us.

I appreciate your feedback very much and we will closely monitor your comments with the departments involved.

We have been working on improving the quality of the breakfast – and I wish to thank you for your positive response on the contents of the meal itself. We do however – have some more actions to take regarding improving the appearance of the breakfast room /restaurant. During the next months we will be working on improving the coziness of the breakfast room in order to make our guests feel more at home.

I wish to bring to you attention that the hotel is going through a thorough refurbishment during 2013 /2014, and we have finished refurbishing 3 floors and some public areas by March 2013. The remaining floors will be done throughout the year. The room you stayed in is from 2001 and is not yet refurbished.

We do not as of now offer a safe in every guest room. However, the front desk offers rent of safe for free upon request.

Please contact me directly should you have any more concerns regarding your stay and I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for the inconvenience experienced during your stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our property and a newly renovated room the next time you choose to stay in Bergen.

Yours sincerely
Monica Selvik
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
700 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
677 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,335 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £92 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing