We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outrageously stinky”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“outrageously stinky”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we have stayed at this hotel in August 2013

as we are a family of 5, we have booked a family room and a double.

family room appeared to be a rather large bedroom, with a separate room with no windows and a bed

that'd be totally ok if not the ventilation. especially the room with no windows. complained to reception, got offered nothing.

morning brought the smell of fried bacon, later in the day and especially dinner time - the smell of cigarettes.

totally not worth it to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzel_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    471
    234
    123
    70
See reviews for
242
538
86
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had very good time in this hotel. The structure is not particularly new or trendy, but rooms are very confortable (we were 2 adults and 2 children in 2 communicating rooms with 2 separated bathrooms) and clean. Breakfast fantastic! Very very good, various and with any kind of choice. We did not use the SPA, but people there said it was nice. The hotel is in a quiet street, but close to the center and 15 minutes on foot from the train station

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaneMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location of this hotel within the Brygen to a visitor to Bergen appears fantastic. It is near the Floyibahen and the fish market which are musts for any visitor to the city. However before you book you should check out the location of nightclubs and their opening times. It would appear acceptable to the hotel to offer rooms opposite a club within a narrow street without supplying a warning to guests who have requested a quiet room or windows which close properly let alone having secondary double glazing. It was like trying to sleep inside a club, with whistles blowing and sound thumping.

I appreciate that we stayed in the 3 nights before the 17th May, but I do not think it is acceptable to expect visitors to only have an average of 3 hours sleep, or to merely be offered ear plus when a complaint is made. The fact that the night porter had a ready supply of ear plugs shows that the noise associated with our stay is standard.

The walls very shaking throughout the hotel, and speaking to other guests occupying the other side of the hotel sleep was impossible.

The breakfast buffet was good, the hotel décor a little tired.

This is an expensive Hotel but should I visit Bergen again I would never pick or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location for Bryggen and we were able to explore Bergen easily from the hotel. The Staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly and allowed us into our room early which was a great help. The breakfasts were substantial and offered a great variety of different choices. The bedrooms and bathroom were very clean but are a little tired and dated and could benefit from updating. Nonetheless they were very comfortable and cosy and we would definitely stay here again. The central location did mean there was night time noise but this did not unduly affect us. We stayed for 3 nights and had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 609066Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, Daglig leder at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear 609066Sandra,

Thank you very much for your warming feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin.

I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I am very pleased to see that you have had en enjoyable time with us.

I am happy to inform you that there are plans of renovating the hotel, and we are already finished with 3 floors.

We wish to welcome you back to First Hotel Marin next time you visit Bergen!

Warm regards
Monica E. Selvik
General Manager

First Hotel Marin
Rosenkrantzgaten 8
N - 5003 Bergen
Tel: +47 53051530
Fax: +47 53051501
Cell: +47 93210528
Email: monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great central location for Bryggen. Room clean, nice decor, bed very uncomfy. Street partying for 2 nights woke us up at 1am and went on for half an hour. No warning, explanation by hotel staff and when we phoned reception to find out what was happening, nobody available or interested - duty manager didn't contact us or check with us at all after that, despite asking for a message to be passed on. Perhaps if we'd had a room overlooking the other quiet side of the hotel, we wouldn't have been subjected to this!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear LizzieH69,

Thank you very much for you review, I am very sorry to learn that you have had such a bad experience with us.

You do not write when you stayed - but I can imagine this was during the constitutional day celebration - as the streets tend to be very noisy all over town.

Certainly we should have had the duty manager contact you, and I am again very sorry you have not heard from us. I will make sure to follow this up with our front desk employees,

Please let me know if you plan to come to Bergen again and if you have any further comments you would like to pass on to me directly,

Thank you again for your very honest feedback and welcome back to Bergen and First Hotel Marin!

Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
FIRST HOTEL MARIN
____________________

Rosenkrantzgaten 8
5003 Bergen
Norway

monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Excellent Hotel, good friendly service, good breakfast, friendly service, brilliant position being central and easy to all main areas of Bergen,
rooms were clean and comfortable and to a good standard. No real view but that did not matter. Hotel and rooms warm and cosy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ian H,

Thank you so much or your warming review - I am so happy you have had a lovely stay with us!

We do have rooms with view as well - make sure you book one of our harbour view rooms when you return next time. Then you actually stay directly at Bryggen- very nice views.

I wish to use this opportunity to also welcome you back the next time you are planning to come to Bergen.

Warm regards

Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
FIRST HOTEL MARIN
____________________

Rosenkrantzgaten 8
5003 Bergen
Norway

monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Plus: Friendly staff, great breakfast. Free coffee, thee and hot chocolate is provided. Perfectly located on a walking distance from the tourist information point and lots of tourist attractions, including Bryggen and the Floybanen.

Minus: Hotel is a little outdated. They have relax-facilities; a sauna, steambath and sports facilities. But the steambath is broken and the sauna is very outdated and they are in the fitness area, so you cant relax in silence when someone is sporting. The bed isn't really nice, it feels like its a bit worn down and you can feel the springs coming through. Hotel is a bit too expensive for what you get. I asked to keep my towel to be a little bit environmently friendly, but they still changed it every day (even when I tied a not to it), as well as the soap while I didn't finish it. That wasn't neccesary.

Overall, I like the hotel and if in Bergen, would come back. But for a different price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suuzje2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaSelvik, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Suuzje2013,

Thank you so much for you nice feedback. Our guests exerience with us is very important to me, and I am very happy to learn that you you have had good stay with us.

I m sorry that the steambath was out of order for while you stayed . We have had to make repairs to it and have been waiting for spare parts. The relax & gym area is for free and is indeed a very small area, but we like to see it as an extra service for those guests wanting to use it as both relax and gym. I am sorry you found that disturbing .

We have been changing the top maddress in several rooms - and I would be very happy if you would le me know which room number you stayed in. Then I can make sure to change this one as well.

Again -thank you very much for your honest feedback and I can assure youI will look into the different issues you are addressing.

I am looking forward to welcomig you back to our hotel and to Bergen the next time you are stopping by!


Monica E. Selvik
General Manager
FIRST HOTEL MARIN
____________________

Rosenkrantzgaten 8
5003 Bergen
Norway
T: +47 53 05 15 30
M: +47 93 21 05 28
monica.selvik@firsthotels.no
www.firsthotels.com

A member of the Global Hotel Alliance – www.gha.com
In partnership with Thon Hotels – www.thonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#3 of 47 in Bergen
609 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#9 of 47 in Bergen
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing