We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious attractive room”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spacious attractive room”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our tour group stayed here the first night. Convenient location to sights. About 1 block from the historic wharf. Easy walk to Floibanen station to ride funicular up Mt. Floyen. Friendly staff. Small fitness room in the basement. We opened the windows to cool the room. Nice chairs for reading.

Room Tip: No suggestions - we were assigned a room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    471
    233
    123
    70
See reviews for
242
535
86
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is very well located in Bryggen, and has pretty good breakfasts.
Unfortunately we booked for a family suite and arrived on a hot weekend to find the main bedroom had no windows and no aircon. The room with windows would only allow window to open a small amount. We complained but were'nt offered a suitable alternative and were told that all of the fans were already taken. After a further complaint in the morning we were offered a small discount but the damage had already been done . Id rather have stayed at a citybox.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel at Bergen, Norway is very centralised. Next to it is an Indian Restuarant. The famous Fish market is just few steps away. Value for money. Service good. Money changers nearby. Shops restaurants all at walking distance. Breakfast at the hotel was quite satisfying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte,Nc
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The good- the location of the hotel is perfect. It is only a few steps from the funicular and the Bryggen Wharf. The family room was perfect for our family of four, spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty with a good variety to choose from. The bad- No air conditioning meant open windows and it is loud outside this hotel. This made sleeping difficult. Parking is in a very cramped garage under the hotel and is quite expensive. It's Norway! Finally the ugly- The reception clerk was without a doubt the most arrogant, rude, unhelpful fellow we encountered on our 2 week tour of Scandinavia. This would have been 4 and possibly 5 stars if not for him. He easily lowers the grade of this property with his haughtiness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank tbv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would not classify this hotel as luxury in any sense of the word. No wifi, loud music playing until early morning, no safe, the decor is beyond dated and the internet pictures in my view are misleading.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank thinduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Il
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed one night during a tour. This is a great location - right around the corner from the Hanseatic museum, historic area, Cruise boat dock and castle.
Our room was fine - some of the others felt theirs were cramped. The breakfast buffet was good and had many selections.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just around the corner from the main waterfront street, so an excellent location. Also just a few minutes walk to the funicular which gives excellent views.
The rooms are a good size for European hotels. WiFi worked OK.That where the good news ends.
Old, very tired rooms, we could feel the wire coming through on our mattress, very uncomfortable.
Hot stuffy room and the window opens on to a noisy and ugly central court overlooking other rooms and the machinery for the hotel. We asked for a fan - couldn't help.
Buffet breakfast is cheaply put together. No dietary options if you are gluten free, and wouldn't even heat up precooked rice which I offered to supply, go figure. Time for an overhaul and better management.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 47 in Bergen
604 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
The Hanseatic Hotel
#10 of 47 in Bergen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Property: First Hotel Marin
Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing