We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is one block from the harbor and wharf. Shops and fish market super close. Views are not good from the hotel, but you will want to stay outside and visit all the sites and shops anyway. No A/C so need to open windows or ask for a fan in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredTeach2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room 222 has two rooms not counting the bathroom. The bedroom, off the sitting room, has no windows and is perfect sleep environment in the Summer when it never exactly gets dark. The bathroom is a nice size with a tub/shower combo. You need to be careful standing in the tub as it's narrow and slippery with no hand grips. You need to step up 2 inches when stepping into the the bathroom which is a tripping hazard. The room overlooks a common ally way and is quite private. Room 222 features one 'almost' king size bed and one pull out couch. Mini bar and a nice sized T.V with iron and ironing board. The First Hotel Marin is located one block away from Bergen Harbor, great location. The breakfast starts at 7:30am but groups can arrange an earlier breakfast if you plan in advance, not sure if there is an extra charge for that though. All guests have access to free coffee 24/7 but I'd not suggest you drink it. The coffee machines are not top of the line. They do not offer fresh cream, only "whitener". Starbucks is around the corner. Breakfast is pretty generous. Eggs, bacon, small franks, fresh bread, salmon, cereals, yogurt, apple juice, orange juice, oatmeal. I saw some visitors stuffing food in their back packs to eat later that day, nobody seemed to mind. The front desk was friendly and willing. I would have given this hotel 3 stars if were in New York but you need to understand that Norway does not cater to their guests. It's difficult, if not impossible to find a four star hotel with white glove service in Bergen. It's not their culture to eat out and consequently they don't invest in hotel and restaurant services. The First Hotel Marin had my room available for me upon arrival at 10:30 AM at no extra charge; nice touch.

Room Tip: I would suggest room 222 but do be careful to watch that step into the bathroom and don't slip i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shexbends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here in July 2014. It is a very comfortable hotel near the fish market in downtown Bergen. We couldn't all fit in one room so we had 2 rooms on the same floor. One of the rooms had a bath tub while the other had a shower. The pluses of this hotel were that breakfast was included and great and there was a coffee machine on the main floor that guests could use for free. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were big by Scandinavian standards and we were walking distance to the funicular. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nice hotel right around the corner from the wharf and shopping areas. Close to the funicular and fish market. The room was ok. Pretty much a standard hotel room. Everything was clean and neat. Staff was professional.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GMA1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great service, great breakfast. Great location with one minute walk to the Bryggen.
We booked a family suite, and it turned out two bedrooms with two bathrooms with decent spaces.
We left a toy at the room. First Hotel kept it for us till we came back a few days later.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
Thank coco_zhangying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stopped two night at First Hotel Marin in Bergen in a harbour view superior room in July.
The hotel is well located in the historic area and with easy walking access to all attractions.
The two nights we were in Bergen it was very hot and the only way to cool the room was to open the windows,but this proved too noisy to sleep as the noise from the nearby bars and restaurants was very loud.The superior room was tired with scratched furniture and small holes in the plaster work in our room,we also had to do battle at the breakfast buffet with a large busload of Japanese tourists, who were obviously hungry.Overall very average.

Room Tip: Avoid to rooms overlooking the waterfront on hot nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzTravellers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The First Marin is a centrally located hotel just a few blocks from the city center. It is a "classic" hotel in that it has wood floor and antique furniture. Unfortunately, every piece of furniture and the floor was badly marred and scratched. The bathroom was also quite "antique".

When we went to the room we saw that our 3rd story room overlooked one of the main streets. Not a problem at night. The window opened well but air just did not circulate in the room. The room temperature was 79 degrees - northern Europe was having a horrible heat wave. There is no A/C in the whole hotel. We had purchased a fan for a previous hotel and that moved the air around a bit. When we went to be the temperature at 11 PM was still 76 and when we woke up it was 74.

The room itself was poorly maintained. All pieces were 1950 style but had large and noticeable scratches. The floor was even more marred and scratched. BADLY.

The bathroom had a dirty shower curtain. The toiled ran for the two days we were there - we had to close the door during the night and even with the fan, we could hear it. The towel rack had a heater that could not be turned off. After contacting management, they disconnected the towel bar but did not fix the curtain or the toilet.


The buffet breakfast was a mad house with other large tour groups filling the relatively small breakfast area and wanting immediate service and food. Their coffee machine broke during the second morning and they had problems. The foods was replenished slowly, they were understaffed and overwhelmed. Why not ask different tour groups to stagger their presence in the breakfast room?

On the positive side, the hotel gave us extra towels; had super fast internet and to placate the complaints we made to management they brought us fruit and cheese plate - VERY NICE

Room Tip: Check the Room before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,353 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
949 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Orion
Thon Hotel Orion
#12 of 49 in Bergen
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £85 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing