We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of First Hotel Marin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Marin
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Decent hotel, fair value given that hotels in Norway are generally expensive. Very central, great location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

When booking this hotel be warned that one side of the hotel backs onto one of the biggest nightclubs in Bergen. We went for a long weekend and on the Friday the music stared about 10am, it was so loud you could sing along to the lyrics, sleep was not an option and I'm a heavy sleeper. Although the clubs/ bars close at 3am the noise form the street carried on until 4.30am when finally it quietened down. Horrible way to start a short break. We tried changing rooms for the following day and told there was nothing avaialble,no ear plugs available, pharmacy closed. No apology from the shaff at all which was a bit irritating as they obviosuly know this is a problem. There was another traveller complaining when I went to reception and he got the same reaction - nothing. It really put a dampner on our trip as we were all exhausted for our trip to the Fjords the following day. Bergen is beautiful and worth a visit, the hotel is in a great location, it is in decent shape for a 3 star hotel, clean and comfortable but I would avoid this hotel as there is no guarantee for a decent night sleep. The management of this hotel really need to address the issue or I suspect they don't rely on repeat business? It takes a lot for me to complain but when I book a hotel the one thing you are after is a decent night sleep..thats the whole point!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Cheb,

Thank you for giving us this feedback and yes we are aware of the problem with the nightclub during weekends, however, we are working on a case with the local municipality.
Furthermore, I feel terrible if my staff has shown no sympathy or given no apology, so for that matter I would like you to know we are sorry.
We will get ear plugs for the future and we always try to change rooms whenever possible - we have rooms towards a closed backyard that is quiet.

One of our ambitions is to satisfy guest's primary need: sleep. Since you where not able to achieve this I would like to offer you a free night stay at our hotel. I do hope you come back to Bergen some day and I would like to show you how good we can be!

Yours Sincerely,
Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This is a conveniently located, clean and friendly member of the First Hotel chain. Nothing else about the hotel jumps out as either praiseworthy or negative.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Bergen is a very touristy and cute town. We enjoyed it but we probably could have only stayed one night since it is very small in comparison to Oslo/Stockholm and we were able to walk around the city in a few hours. It is a good destination for anyone wanting to see the fjords and some might like to stay here for 2 nights but we found it very expensive. The hotel was nice and in a great location but it was noisy at night since it is located on the main strip with the bars. We had a room on the top (5th floor) and although it was a harbour view the windows were so small that we could hardly see the water. Breakfast was included but not as good as at other hotels. Fitness centre was in the basement and not very big. sauna was not working while we were there. I would probably stay elsewhere next time. The Radisson seemed to be nice and was a bit further down the strip so it probably would not have been as noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFHMarin, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear JennieM,

Thank you for reviewing First Hotel Marin.

Being a hotel in the city centre creates some challenges in regards to the street noise.

Some of our rooms have a much bigger window with a great view of the harbour - we do hope you will come back and try one of these rooms the next time.

Our breakfast concept is about to be evaluated and both the selection, amount and quality will be better.

We do hope to see you again.

Yours Sincerely,

Nan-Birthe Os
General Manager
First Hotel Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Hotel staff friendly and helpful. OK breakfast buffet. Large rooms with internet access.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aequast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here for a couple of days as part of a tour package from Scandinavia Packages. The location is excellent. We arrived on a high speed boat from Flam and upon entering the harbor, you can see the hotel on the left. The building looked old on the outside and it is but the rooms inside were great. It was an easy walk to the fish market, the funicular ride, the self-service laundry shop and lots of eating places around. Peppe's Pizza is just around the corner if you don't want to eat in the hotel. The restaurant & bar in the hotel is pricey but you get to try some authentic Norweign food. A trip to the fish market for fresh seafood is a must. Note that the seafood is mostly served chilled and according to the taxi driver, you can get better quality seafood if you are willing to get out of the harbor area.

The staff were helpful and we got an upgrade when we arrived which is bonus for us.

There is a spa in the (-2) floor but we did not use it. ExoDus is just across the main door but we did not do that since we have kids with us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msnyinyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Stayed here during a business trip with the highlight of the hotel being its location just off the harbour with plenty bars and restaurants nearby. But with this central location comes noise in the form of a nightclub across the road. I would advise the light sleepers to request a room away from the nightclub if you plan to stay here.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful throughout our stay offering restaurant recommendations and directions when needed.
The room was basic and needed updating in my opinion though the heated bathroom floor was nice. Usual amenities you would expect from a mid-range hotel but just in need of some modernisation to make the stay more pleasant. Wi-Fi is free which is a plus point nowadays.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good with plenty choices to be had hot or cold in a nice setting within the hotel restaurant. Service was also friendly and to a good standard.
The hotel gym is not worth the visit with outdated equipment comprising of a bike, treadmill, weights, and resistance machine found within a very small room. There is also a steam room and sun tan bed available both of which looked rarely used.
I would only recommend you use the hotel car park if you have a small car. As access in and out of the entrance located at the side of the hotel is extremely tight and once inside is also again tight. There is a public car park further along the hotel entrance road that seemed a better choice with comparable prices.
Overall I probably wouldn’t stay here again if I was paying myself but it would do fine for another business trip to Bergen. If you don’t mind the street noise and want location then something to consider.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Junkie_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 51 in Bergen
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,404 reviews
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#14 of 51 in Bergen
130 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 51 in Bergen
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £75 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing