We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb experience”
Review of Bien

Bien
Ranked #25 of 381 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$61
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bien Restaurant is a neighborhood bistro/restaurant situated just outside the city centre of beautiful Bergen. We serve delicious seasonal and regional food, our wines are all organic/biodynamic. Take the city tram to Danmarksplass and enjoy an outstanding evening in our old art deco pharmacy.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“superb experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had an amazing evening in Bien Bar, arriving late near closing time but being instantly welcomed warmly by waiter Henrik who did an outstanding job in making us feel at home, highly personal yet fully professional, food was just fantastic, we had superb veal buttock steak with roasted vegetables followed by very nice deserts, atmosphere totally relaxed and arty, we ended up receiving recommendations from Henrik for a couple of other places in Bergen* for the next days (whihc were nice but none matched the Bien Bar experience), a friend/colleague of Henrik sitting next to us engaged in a discussion on wines (and let us try some highly interesting italian desertwine he was tasting) after we had tried some admittedly simple but nice frech red wine that Henrik had recommended, this place is not cheap but totally worth the money. Perhaps of interest is that as we were a weekend in Bergen for a job application the following Monday, and it seemed as if Bergen, through Bien Bar was simply telling us to accept the job if selected (and the interview went really well...)

*See my reviews for the same weekend for: Spisekroken, Smakverket

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lumzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    81
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Night”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What an night ! Super ambiance, great DJ, great music, the owners were there dancing and partying with the crowd, They made it an epic night !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something different.”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a pharmacy in Art Deco stile which has recovered as a small cosy restaurant. All inventory is kept as it was while being a pharmacy. They have 2 main courses, 1 fish and 1 meat which are always very tasty and well prepared. The atmosphere is very special and you feel very relaxed here. A must is their Irish coffee which I once was recommended and have had ever since.
Is located outside central Bergen but with the tram its very easy to get there in few minutes and worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irene785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Our group tok the Bybanen to Danmarksplass to eat at Bien. We reserved seats and food in advance. We got execellent service from the staff and the food was good. The interior of the cafe is and old pharmacy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norheimsund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cozy local pub with good food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Bien bar is a cozy local pub, with a lot of atmosphere. Descent prices and the food was tasty (even tough the Ragu Bolognese was a bit boring). The drawback is the location - this has to be a pub mainly for the locals living in the area. Its only minutes away from the "tram", but there is NOTHING else to do or see around, so why anyone would go there except for buisness I have no idea. But if you are in the neighbourhood and fanzy a nice lunch and a beer, I recommend Bien bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørnar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bien also viewed

 

Been to Bien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing