We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Det Hanseatiske Museum og Schoetstuene
Save
Review Highlights
Terrific summary of the history of Bergen

The building is furnished as the home of a Hanseatic merchant that it actually was. That does not... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jaymat44
,
Worcester, Massachusetts
NOW I know what the Handeatic League was!

Really old building, faithfuly preserved. An excellent view into the business trading life of the... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
JudyG1227
,
Cedar Falls
Read all 994 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bergen
from US$335.50
More Info
from US$200.00
More Info
from US$120.00
More Info
from US$246.40
More Info
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
289
268
56
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
268
56
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanseatic league guided tour living conditions sleeping quarters assembly rooms original building fish european history history buff northern europe fried cod entry fee worth a visit middle ages bergen card bryggen area rainy day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you buy your ticket make sure it includes the fisherman's museum and other annex. The museum on the Hanseatic wharf is interesting in itself with details of the Hanseatic trading history but coupled with the two annexes really does tell the story of Bergen, with a minibus linking the three buildings. Young children might not appreciate the exhibits and the history.

1  Thank The_Magpie_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building is furnished as the home of a Hanseatic merchant that it actually was. That does not mean luxury, but living and working space for the merchant, his journeyman and his apprentices. The rooms have extensive information (in English) about fishing, the processes of trading, the shipping to and from the other Hanseatic cities, etc. A history buff can spend a couple of hours. However, you do have to be able to climb three flights of narrow stairs.
A few blocks away is the other part of the museum--the building shared by several guilds where cooking and socializing was done. One ticket covers both and it is worthwhile to see both.

1  Thank jaymat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really old building, faithfuly preserved. An excellent view into the business trading life of the 13th-15th centuries. The building is that old and the scale and design of the living quarters was a revelation to us. This is NOT handicap accessible and there are a fair amount of steps. If you are travelling with someone for whom this is a challenge, they can wait for you across the street in Starbucks. Also, the shuttle to the Norwegian Fisheries Museum a couple of miles away leaves every half hour from just outside. It was a great morning--neither museum takes a long time, maybe an hour each.

1  Thank JudyG1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The Hanseatic Museum provides an excellent way to understand the economic and trading base that underpinned the location, establishment and role of Bergen as part of the Hanseatic network.

1  Thank jagsjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We really would have liked to have seen this site, after walking there in the rain we found out it will be closed for years for renovation. Bergen card needs to revise their information.

Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Norway is neat in that unlike the US, people can be trusted to act like adults. That's one of the reasons why the Hanseatic Museum is so neat - you're walking through a time capsule from the Hanseatic settlement of Bergen, that captures the sights, feel, and smells of the era of trade. Walking through the uneven floors, rooms and chambers you see exactly how people lived, traded, and worked during this interesting period in Bergen.

Highly recommended for the history nerd, but might be a bit much for children or anyone with mobility issues.

Thank ryanprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

It was interesting at best - there is not much to it, not much furniture. You're mostly just wandering around relatively empty rooms. For what you get, I thought the price of about US $20 per person was very steep. We only spent about 30 minutes inside, then walked to the second location, which is just big rooms with tables in it. There are stairs at both locations.

Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Our patience in the queue for this small museum was worth it (and we discovered the reason for the queue - free entry on their last day before closing for a long renovation period). I love small museums and old architecture and this museum was perfect! While there are issues with access, this is often the case with such old buildings. The rooms and floors gave such a wonderful atmosphere, even the darkly lit ones! Many photos were taken and a great experience was had!

Thank Lovingthecountryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

I found this museum very interesting and authentic. I did not know a deal about the Hanseatic League, so was interested in the explanations.

The building has lot of narrow stairs, so would be challenging for people with mobility issues, but I found the authenticity of the place well worth the climb. The rooms were furnished in the original style - box beds etc so overall I found the place to be excellent.

Unfortunately, my husband was not impressed - very worried about the safety aspects of a narrow wooden building - so I have reduced my score to 'very good'.

Thank RandM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

The building is sinking and the museum is being closed for a few years while it is taken down piece by piece and reassembled so we were pleased to have the chance to see inside. It’s a fascinating building to walk around with interesting displays on Hanseatic history on the ground floor. It’s very dark upstairs which makes it difficult to see the map. More information boards would be good up there. The entrance fee, 16NOK, also gives entry to the Schoetstuene building, 5 mins walks away, where the apprentices and others used to gather for warmth and food. [No fires were allowed in the museum building so it was freezing.] It’s also an interesting and well preserved building. If you’ve time, which sadly we didn’t, entry to the Fisheries Museum is also included so, for Bergen especially, the ticket is great value.

Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews