We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A CLASSICAL MUSIC BUFF”

Troldhaugen Edvard Grieg Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.73*
and up
Bergen Card
Ranked #1 of 35 Museums in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enchanting residence of the composer Edvard Grieg and his wife, who lived there every summer from 1885 to 1907. The museum also comprises the chamber music hall, Troldsalen, where daily concerts are held during the summer season. Museum building with shop, exhibition and cafeteria.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT A CLASSICAL MUSIC BUFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I liked everything about this place. It is set in beautiful grounds with lots of history and Grieg was a very interesting person.

We saw the piano concert and in those surroundings the music made real sense, even to me.

If you are in Bergen you should go to this attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    207
    41
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Balance of Music and Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I love classic music very much. One of my favourite piece is Grieg piano concerto. Naturally when I visited Bergen, Norway, Grieg Museum was a must place to go. I hurried to go there at 9 am when this museum opens. I was the first visitor that day. Everything at this small museum did not disappoint me. In particular, when I went down to the small cottage with only an old piano, a desk and a couch, I soon recognized that his lovely music should be composed from this atmosphere. Moreover, the burial site of him and his wife on the rock struck me. This small place of one of the great musicians in the world gave me a full cultural feeling of harmony of culture and nature.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For the Grieg lover, a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A tour of Bergen before visiting this lovely place, Grieg's house, now a museum. A small concert hall has been added with a large window looking down to the lake and the little house where Grieg composed. We were treated to an half hour piano recital, lovely finale to a 14 day cruise of Norway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfield ct
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another house museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Not much else to see in the area. We did get a better sense of the time in which Grieg lived and the nationalistic context for his music.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandma35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We picked up the bus from the Tourist Information Centre which left at 11.30, for the quick ride out to Troldhaugen, Grieg's summer residence in Bergen. The cost of the tour was for the bus, entry to museum, a guided tour of the house, and the 30 minute piano recital. Good value indeed. You can get to Troldhaugen without taking this tour, by catching a local bus from the city centre, however it is much more convenient to have it all packaged up for you for the 3 hours, as the guide on the bus also gives you a good overview of Grieg, his family history and life on the way out to the museum.
The museum and house are well presented and give a good overview of Grieg and his life: as a musician, a patriot and as the private individual.
Catch the piano recital if you can. It is a wonderful opportunity to hear Grieg's music in a beautiful setting overlooking the lake. Our performer gave a brief introduction to each piece which was useful, as there were no program notes. All in all, a fabulous day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Troldhaugen Edvard Grieg Museum also viewed

 

Been to Troldhaugen Edvard Grieg Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing