We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
  
Ways to Experience Bryggen Hanseatic Wharf
from US$43.96
More Info
from US$212.01
More Info
from US$83.58
More Info
Reviews (5,217)
Filter reviews
5,217 results
Traveller rating
2,971
1,866
332
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,971
1,866
332
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colorful buildings lots of shops unesco heritage site alley ways tourist shops narrow alleyways fish market historic area hanseatic league wander around walking tour tourist trap sunny day seafood bryggen stroll facade
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 5,217 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

It’s like stepping back in time as you wander along the front of the houses and then through the alleys with the crazy angles of the steps and building overhanging edges.

There are some lovely shops - mainly tourist type though - lots of Norwegian jumpers and types of souvenir items and a lovely Christmas shop.

The site is UNESCO and it’s clear to see why - and not busy when we were there although I am sure it will be busier in the summer time.

A lovely stroll and not far from the main modern shops in Bergen.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank markhJ1878CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019

My friends and I had a great time walking around Bryggen. It was a great feeling to walk through houses that has historical background. They might have been more crowded in the times of the Hanse, with marketeers in front of them. We went on Christmas Day itself and even attended a Church service at a nearby Church.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank xalimonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Everything about Norway is beautiful, but Bergen - or Bryggen as they call it - is a beautiful place of 'history stood still'. Some of these buildings were built over a thousand years ago. You won't want to miss them!

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Bergen is worth a day out of your trip. Easy walking and the area called Bruggen is a must. Walking behind the old buildings will make you feel like you in an old fishing village great atmosphere and stunning photo options ...wooden walkways and small shops.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Nathania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

We walked there from opposite and what a magnificent sight it was at sunset on the cold but sunny day we were there. We were particularly interested as we have been to many of the towns and cities that were part of the Hanseatic league. Some of the houses only date back to the 1900s as many were destroyed over the years by fire but they have been beautifully restored. Unfortunately, the Hanseatic league museum I particularly wanted to visit was closed for renovations and will be for the next 6 years so I was disappointed from that point of view.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank Frog-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews