We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Bryggen Hanseatic Wharf
from US$43.85
More Info
from US$209.78
More Info
from US$82.70
More Info
Reviews (5,195)
Filter reviews
5,195 results
Traveller rating
2,958
1,859
330
35
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,958
1,859
330
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lots of shops colorful buildings unesco heritage site alley ways tourist shops narrow alleyways fish market historic area hanseatic league wander around walking tour tourist trap sunny day seafood bryggen stroll facade
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 5,195 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A UNESCO World Heritage site . It's history dates all the way back to the 12th Century and went thru a series of fires, but has always been rebuilt . Safe to say that this was the oldest part and the Center of Bergen in the beginning. Had Been used as a dominant trading center for the Germans All the way back in 1360 to the 1700s . As Fire was common , and this has always been wood in construction ,no candles or open flames were permitted. This made winter here terribly cold and dark . But must have been great during summer .
Presently , the original wooden structures and hallways, now houses different restaurants ,offices, shops , and cafes. I had the opporunity to visit during summer in the past , and recently during winter. It is much more vibrant during summer when restos set up al fresco tables outside and the place is loaded with little kiosks, selling all wares . During winter it is quieter but you feel the history thru it’s walls just the same . The Heritage site includes the Fish Market across the river, the wharf , and the Bryggen Hanseatiske Museum . Most definitely a must visit when in Bergen

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After the funicular, this is my second pick for a visit to Bergen. Bryggen Hanseatic Wharf, now under a UNESCO World Heritage listing, has been lovingly restored and maintained with a practical use. Although the beautiful wooden buildings are certainly showing their age, today they also operate as offices, studios and retail shops. If you are a history buff, a student of architecture, or a curious person, there is a lot to see here. Although very little is open on a Sunday - this practice may go someway to keeping Norway high in the happiest country stakes - you can still wander through these lovely wooden streets and marvel at the stories that must have been made here.

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank FlyingTheCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always thought that Bergen looks like this everywhere. That's the same photo you see in every guide.

Unfortunately this is just a very short street. Buildings are beautiful indeed but they are occupied by businesses and offices.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Indygoflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a group of friends .
Meeting in Bergen for a night out .
Stunning place really nice building's surrounded the city .

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank 13kristiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

If you love history, friendly people, water falls, and tunnels, then Bergen is the place for you. We were so lucky to visit Bergen in September. Our good friend has been inviting us to come an visit her beautiful country and the lovely city of Bergen. So this September we did just that. She advised us to bring water proof, comfortable walking shoes, and a good rain coat. We did. We were grateful for the good shoes, but mother nature was kind, and we only need our rain coats a couple of times.

We spent a couple of days of days in the city of Bergen. We loved Bryggen, with all of it's old buildings. Make sure you explore all of the alley ways. We enjoyed some visiting all the shops, and love the art work we purchased that now hangs on our walls.

We also wandered the Maritime museum and the Museum at the university. Both were good. Skip the aquarium, and spend that money else where, like the Rosenkrantz tower. Definitely take a ride on the funicular. We had a clear blue sky day, and the vista's are amazing.

The shopping district is large and fun to wander through. Remember to ask for the tourist receipt that allows you to get back the 25 % tax. We missed a few of these receipts, but we did get over $700 back on everything we purchased.

And if time allows, go and see the visitor center and check into a Norwary in a Nutshell tour. Well worth your day.

We loved Norwary, and if time and money allowed we would go and explore some more!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews