We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good introduction to Bergen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good introduction to Bergen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

A beautiful hotel, with plenty of charm and character which is ideal to soak up the culture of Bergen and Norway. Our room ( upgraded to a junior suite), was fresh and airy, but was at the front of the building, so the noise from the wedding guests late at night made for a disturbed night's sleep.
The reception staff made us feel very welcome.
Breakfast was disappointing as the dining room was swamped with guests, all eager to grab what remained of the food (not much), therefore we left and went across the road to the rail terminal, where we found a charming cafe, Frieles Kaffe, which was an an oasis of calm. The cappuccinos were superb, not to mention the pastries and the staff were excellent- both friendly and welcoming

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCLEANSatATHOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    361
    179
    51
    20
See reviews for
161
305
55
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with family. The location is next to the main train station and only 7 minutes walk to the fish market and city center. Ideal for doing the fjords on ones own. The rooms are extra spacious compared to other modern hotels in Europe . The breakfast served is good and has a decent variety. The reception staff were welcoming and gave useful tips on sightseeing. We stayed on the 6th floor and our only complaint was that the area on the floor near the lift was very untidy and used as a storage place for maintenance tools which tarnished the look of a historic hotel. Limited tv channels in English and rooms could do with a small kettle and some tea bags/ coffee etc, although the restaurant offers the same free throughout the day. The beds were spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. Access to train, light rail , taxis & busses are right at the door step or a stones throw away. If one wishes to grab a light meal, there are restaurants, fast food joints nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sigsvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in room 209 and had the most restless sleep as the walls and doors are thin and you can hear everything happening in the hallway, your neighbours next door and upstairs and cars in front of the hotel picking up people from the train staion. The fact that our room is connected to the next room via a wooden door obviously didnt help and i could hear my neighbours discussing which towels belong to who and them shuffling their plastic bags while packing and unpacking. And most terrible is that i got woken up at midnight as ppl checked in late and talking in the hallway and my neighbours alarm clock went off at 6:30am in the morning!! And then they started fighting for the washroom again.. even after they left the room, their alarm clock went off again at 7:30am again and no one was there to switch it off so we had to call the front desk to send someone to switch off our neighbours' alarm so i could continue to lie in until 8:30am but of course then i started hearing more noises in the hallway, traffic on the road and water drainage upstairs etc as people wake up. It was terrible and one of the most noisy hotel among the hundred of hotels i have stayed at.

Upon check out, i told the hotel staff that the room is very nosiy and he just said yes sometimes the Asians are very nosiy, as it was a big group and didnt apologise or seem to care. Great, i am Asian too hello?! but i somehow dont think that is a race issue but just not a good hotel with thin walls and poor noise insulation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DingDingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Hotel Grand Terminus is a classic old style railway hotel with lots of charm but in need of some updating and restoration. Its location is excellent, directly opposite the station (with surprisingly little noise) close to bus/tram stops and within 10 minutes walk of downtown Bergen. Reception staff are young and friendly, there's free tea and coffee in the lounge all day long, breakfast is fairly good with plenty of choice but someteimes a bit chaotic when all the groups leaving early for the fjords take breakfast at the same time leading to no tables available in the dining room or certain stuff running out (tip go for breakfast early or after 9.00 am!). Rooms are small and a bit dated but charming nevertheless,bathrooms are old fashioned too. Mini bar but no tea/coffeemaking facilities in the room. Terrible choice of TV channels but there is free wi-fi everywhere in the hotel.

Overall I enjoyed my 6 night stay at this hotel..yes it is expensive if you compare it with similar category hotels in other european cities but for Bergen which is busy, touristy and very expensive it offers pretty good quality/price ratio. And for that reason I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGRBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Spent one week in this hotel while in Bergen for a meeting. The room quality was excellent, very spacious and clean, as well as the bathroom. The location is absolutely perfect, on one side of the train station, in front of the tram stop and few steps from the bus terminal and the city center. The breakfast buffet was amazing, with plenty of choice and variety from day to day. The staff was absolutely friendly an ready to help. The price is in line with the quality of the service offered.

Few less points for the beds in the room: the mattress was really uncomfortable, too soft and not really "flat" compared to my standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OminoDiGhisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is located next to the train station (very convenient for fjord tour) and near the bus station so easy access. Some street people around train/bus station but never felt unsafe and no bothered us. It is an older hotel with similar decor in the common areas. We had requested an allergy free room and had a very spacious room with hardwood floors and no aromas! Windows could open but air conditioning was good. The tile floors in the bathroom were heated and the bathroom was spacious with a tub and shower over it. The view wasn't great but we were after a good location rather than a view so it didn't matter. Walking distance to most things including the waterfront area. Large breakfast buffet. Friendly staff and good service in making/confirming reservations. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This old and lovely hotel is located just across a small street from the side exit from the Bergen Train Station...couldn't be easier coming and going. But unlike many train districts, this one is quiet, lovely and so close to the old part of town and the harbor. Very easy stroll. The lobby is beautiful, the elevators ample, and the view from the 6th floor very nice. I have had larger breakfasts in Norway, but this one had great fresh food, good OJ and coffee, good hot choices, great Norwegian breads and cheeses. Our room was for 3 and generous in size, bathroom older but clean and good sized also. Price was about $200...not bad for anywhere in Norway, let alone Bergen!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Property: Grand Hotel Terminus
Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing