We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Terminus in Bergen for 1 night during a business trip to Norway, and found the accommodation nice and clean. The room was a little bit small (particularly the bathroom, which was a bit tricky to negotiate), but the hotel facilities were nice (and quite grand), and I particularly liked the breakfast offered in the mornings (a good variety of hot and cold options). It's very centrally located (only a short walk to restaurants, shops and the train station), and the staff were helpful. I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Bergen. The location is very central, and most sights are in walking distance. The interior is charmingly traditional, and makes the Terminus indeed feel like a Grand Hotel.

Our room was spacious, and faced the backyard so we could avoid the potential noise from the train tracks. I was particularly happy with the quality of the beds: I had very good nights sleep which is not a given in hotels. Unfortunately, the walls seem quite thin so we could hear our room neighbors. This didn't turn out to be any problem though since everything was quiet at a reasonable time.

The breakfast was nice, even though the machine coffee was a pretty sad sight. The hotel provides lose tea however and guests can make their own coffee in a French press.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room if you need space, and ask for a room away from the train tracks if you're af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel location is great for those traveling by train or bus. The room was quite small, but clean (especially for the price). The breakfast was very nice. The restaurant offered a very limited menu and was incredibly expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel is very near the train station, I estimate less than 100 steps away. But with Bergen weather, the proximity doesn't really help. It was raining when we reached Bergen via train. We were so near, yet so far away from the hotel. But once you check in, you can always borrow umbrellas from the reception counter when heading out. As mentioned by many other reviewers, you can get to anywhere in Bergen conveniently from the hotel. The Bergen Light Rail (Bybanen) has a stop just outside the other exit of the train station. You can cut across the train station to get to the stop. The next day when we checked out, there was no rain and we went to the bus terminal using the sheltered walkway which is connected to the train station.

Checking in and out is fast and hassle free. We were slightly late for our check out as the walk between Troldhaugen and Hop station took much longer than expected. Unlike some hotels which require you to revalidate card key after the designated check out time, we managed to get to our room without re-validating and check out quickly.

Rooms are small. You can only open one luggage at one time at the walkway between the bathroom and the bed. Bathroom is almost like the size of those on a cruise ship. You open the door, take one step in and there is the sink; take one step to your right and there is the toilet; back to the sink and take one step to your left and there is the shower.

We called and request for kettle and was informed that we can help ourselves to the service room on the second floor with our room card. No problem, went there and took the last kettle on the counter, and took some cups and glasses too. The staff who processed our check-out said that we can leave them in our room when we checked out.

Breakfast. We searched high and low for the breakfast area. The entrance to the breakfast area is not grand at all. You have to enter it via a small corridor between the lift and the stairs. But, the breakfast spread is good. They also have waffles but it is the soft waffles and not those slightly crispy on the outside and soft in the inside.

A friend had dinner there and has high praises for its steak. Didn't have the chance to try it. Hope to do so another time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

We hopped of he hurtigruten cruise and checked in at the grand terminus... So pleased we booked this hotel.

The whole hotel set a scene of grand history- wide hallways and well appointed decorations throughout the hotel.

Massive rooms, with beautiful decoration- my room had a chandelier and I didn't want to leave my room.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was tasty and lots of variety.

We were lucky to be in Bergen on one of the 100 days of no rain in Bergen in the year. This city is stunning and lovely to walk around the place and couldn't help but admire the views of this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie10375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel has a lot of history. If you like that kind of old feeling, this is definitely the best place for you. If you are looking for big, comfortable, trendy rooms, then you should consider again. Rooms are quite small and bathrooms as well. Furniture is classy, as everything else in this hotel. But prepare for some inconveniences: wet bathroom floor after showering, noise, too warm to sleep, etc. Nothing major, and all very understandable for a historic place like this.

They have a free wifi also working in the rooms. The breakfast is really good

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zillertal_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here after flying into Bergen, for one night before renting a car to drive around the fjords and then one night before flying out. Our room was a standard one for our first night but we were given an end-of-corridor suite for the last night for the same price (booked through Otel). We chose the hotel because the price and location seemed right. The price is definitely good value (for Norway) and the location great, just a couple of minutes walk from the Airport shuttle bus stops.
The hotel has character, unlike any other, read previous comments by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yondir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,334 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
676 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 49 in Bergen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £88 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing