We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Bergen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Bergen”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was absolutely lovely. Make sure to pick up the pamphlet in the foyer which tells about the hotel's history and the "ghost" story. The rooms were small but beautifully decorated with lots of character. The breakfast was first-rate. As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is very convenient to Bergen's charming train station, but even if you aren't traveling by train, I would still recommend this hotel. It's a short walk from the city center, the harbor and other tourist attractions. Staying at the Grand Hotel Terminus was one of the highlights of our visit to Bergen!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    376
    185
    54
    21
See reviews for
170
316
57
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent one night at this hotel after departing the Hurtigruten and before heading onwards to Oslo. We chose it mainly because of its proximity to the train station and because of the reviews here. We didn’t spend a lot of time here as we were out and about in Bergen as much as possible. However, the room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast was good the next morning. I’d stay here again if I find myself back in Bergen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Not that the hotel wasn't amazing and old in and of itself, but I find some of the reviews of this place sort of off putting. First off, I experienced exactly the opposite of some of the poor reviews on this one...the beds were comfortable, the rooms were small but not too small but very cozy indeed. We were there in October so no need for air con, so I cannot comment on that. The room was also very quiet as well...perhaps the loud noises other reviewers are hearing are the alleged 'ghosts' or ghost that roams the halls of this historic place. Being historic it is also quaint, with a very quaint charm that most of the other hotels we've stayed in didn't actually have. The front desk reception hosts were so very nice and extremely enthusiastic about showing us where the best places to go in Bergen were and how to get there. The location could not be bet...you arrive by train you exit out the right side, and BOOM! you're there....And, apart from all the other wonderful things about the hotel (that apparently some people who are so nit picky don't actually see) there's a GRAND whiskey bar that has won numerous awards for their knowledge and selection (800 and counting!) of whiskeys! The man at the bar Kenneth is a fountain of knowledge of whiskey and even craft beer. WARNING: If you're a whiskey snob and/or a beer snob, be prepared...you may drain your pocketbook here! However, it's worth it because the staff are so friendly and knowledgeable about whiskeys you won't be able to help yourself!

Room Tip: The more budget rooms are smaller but they're still very cozy. Don't let the nit picky peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric_G1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just check in after NiN. I though the review is good but... The room is stuffy and not cooling even in autumn. No A/C, no fan, no water boiler, no power point on table, lousy tv channel selection, rough bedsheet. Hotel room is kinda old. Thin floors, as I hear banging from upstairs and closing of doors. The bed is make up of 2 single beds joined side by side .... and too soft.

Not here if you are looking for a good sleep .

Otherwise, room is big enough for 2, heated bathroom floor.




There is no a/c. oI never like opening windows due to possible

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank luanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and we are most sorry that we did not meet yor expectations. Remember that it is not costly, only NOK200, to order an upgraded, superior room. Most hotels in Norway do not have A/C systems, only a few five star hotels do. We do have normal ventilation systems. We have refurbished nearly all rooms. Regarding the style - please note that we are an old hotel from 1928, listed and protected for it's classical and historical charm. We have spent more than NOK 50 million the last five years on refurbishment. Our goal is to be both modern and historical. We keep the original interior but gently introduces modern, fresh design where apropriate, to be relevant for todays travellers. Water boiler is available from the special service room if you need one as is other amenities. You must know that we also serve free coffee and tea all day from the lounge by the reception that you may bring to your room. The TV selection is quite normal for hotels in Norway with film channels, international news channels, sports channels and all Norwegian channels. Just a few weeks ago all rooms got brand new LED tv sets from Phillips with digital signal distribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

As other reviewers have stated, the hotel is ideally located for the bus to the airport and the train station and a short walk down-town along the lovely Marketen street. Big shopping centre located on the other side of the train station.

Lovely breakfast and lunch and we stayed there for a meeting so the meeting room facilities and refreshments were excellent also. Of course, the lobby, restaurant and bar are beautiful and traditional as described but the bedrooms aren't 'anything to write home about' - but they are adequate and functional and of course the bathrooms (tiny) have cosy underfloor heating that you come to expect in Scandinavian hotels. Would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a well placed, traditional hotel with excellent food and service.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room that was located along the side of the hotel and witht eh windows closed it was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The railway station is right across the street and everything is very easily accessible from the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would in particular like to mention Signe at the reception, who went out of her way to suggest good places to eat, places to see etc and marked them all on the map and told us how to get around etc. Thank you so much Signe! :0
The hotel has an excellent breakfast spread of fresh fruits, varied kinds of cheese, meats, juices and of course the std eggs-bacon-sausages-breads. Everything was very fresh and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal.
The hotel is old with dark wood and subdued lighting, giving it an old-world charm, though the rooms were modern enough, though a tad small (but then that's typical of most European hotels).
I would definitely choose to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We recently spent 2 1/2 weeks travelling through Scandinavia. This was our favorite hotel. Convenient location across from the central station, lots of old world charm, a wonderful breakfast, a large, comfortable room all made for a delightful stay. My only quibble is that our room faced the train station, so there was some noise, but I was so tired I slept through it (and I think it quieted down substantially during the night anyway). The best amenity - the hotel provided free access to a washing machine and dryer, which was very welcome halfway through our trip. Bergen is an expensive city, and we paid more per night for this hotel than any other on our trip, but it was worth every penny. I would absolutely stay here whenever I travel to Bergen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TennTux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#9 of 46 in Bergen
1,186 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
518 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Property: Grand Hotel Terminus
Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing