We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid reliable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here on two occasions, before and after a cruise. We were happy with tis hotel. The location was convenient to the flybussen (airport bus). The hotel was a grand old style. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms big. There wasn't a kettle as one reviewer said, but they directed me to a service section on the second floor that had washing machine, dryer, kettles, microwave. Breakfast was good, The atmosphere was dry, like many heated places, but the plus of this was any washing we did dried like a charm. Staff were very helpful too, and pointed out the shopping malls, ordered taxis for us. There is complimentary coffee and tea on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Grand and beautiful. We stayed in the junior suite and there were no shampoo or any toiletries provided. The only thing was a wall mounted soap pump in the shower with unknown content. For a place like like, it's a shame that at small selection of nice toiletries aren't provided.

We also missed a kettle and some tea/coffee in the room. You can go downstairs and get this, but that's not exactly the same.

The breakfast is nice and has a wide selection with options for everyone. Included vegetarians. The menu in the restaurant is less exciting, but you can have a pizza or some salads.

The radiators are behind radiator covers, and to adjust the temperature - you have to squeeze your hand in between the gap, really tricky.

Overall, it's a great hotel and I hope they will make these small changes to make it even better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks a lot for your detailed review. We will absolutely consider your suggestions. The hotel's guest soap is of high quality and the pump solution is a result of our environmental friendly operation program. We do have kettels to bring to your room and we offer free coffee and tea 24 H. Our à la carte offer is for the moment an informal and inexpensive concept. In January 2014 we are looking forward to present a renewed lounge and Whisky Bar with an expanded menu offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

stayed for 4N in a nice airy room with high ceilings, openable windows and nice old-world charm. internet worked fine, so did hot water. breakfast had ample selection including interesting norwegian dishes. this place has a nice location relatively close to the cable car, next to the railway station. only downside was that the lobby bar closes early. counter staff were nice and helpful. would go again if going to bergen!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urmsu888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed for just one night with very heavy suitcases. The staff were utterly helpful and kind, far beyond the call of duty. Room was fantastic with sofa and chairs, lots of space and large scrupulously clean bathroom ....would not hesitate to stay there again. Fruit, tea md coffee were freely available by the bar for no charge. Lovely feel tl the place and perfectly central for all Bergen activities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirri60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Having stayed a total of 4 nights at this hotel between March and July 2013. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel on almost every count :
- Character of the lobby/bar/breakfast/stair areas complete with art and lots of dark wood panelling.
- Excellent food available in the bar.
- Service from the front desk where assistance was even given to ensure we and our bags all made it into our MaxiTaxi.
- Location is VERY central, not just to train station but to large shopping centre just beyond.

The Standard rooms are rather compact but big enough for 2. The family rooms cost more (most of the time) but are VERY spacious.
We travelled with a 2 year old child and for a hotel which did not look at first appearance to be a family hotel they were very accommodating.
We certainly prefer HGT to the Clarion Havnekontoret even if the latter may appear at first to be the better hotel.

Room Tip: Larger / family rooms are great but may be more pricey depending on availability / season. Standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DandJ_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Travel to Bergen in periods and staying at Terminus. The location is very good, since my meetings are closeby. Right next to Bybanen, the trainstation and the airport bus.
The rooms are small and not more than what you need, but the bed is comfortable. Beeing in Bergen city center there will be sounds, both inside and outside of the hotel.
The breakfast does not have the big variations, but the bread is good and fresh!
The Front Office personell has a potential when it comes to service in general, but I might be picky not liking that they hang over the desk and actally sits down when talking to you...
I've had a few good stays here and I would have been giving both thumbs up if it weren't for the very drunk lady crying in the phone half the night, stealing my sleep and the very long, black hair I found in my breakfast the very next morning (my hair is light brown...).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Marthaifarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was absolutely lovely. Make sure to pick up the pamphlet in the foyer which tells about the hotel's history and the "ghost" story. The rooms were small but beautifully decorated with lots of character. The breakfast was first-rate. As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is very convenient to Bergen's charming train station, but even if you aren't traveling by train, I would still recommend this hotel. It's a short walk from the city center, the harbor and other tourist attractions. Staying at the Grand Hotel Terminus was one of the highlights of our visit to Bergen!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
727 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 49 in Bergen
171 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £86 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing