We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Kings Bay, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were presently surprised by the size of the room. While we booked astandard two person room, ours turned out to be large with a sitting area. Bright room right across from the train station. This worked out well for us since we were only here to do Norway in a Nutshell. Thought the breakfast buffet was very good. Would recommend this hotel for people wanting to be close to the train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    369
    183
    52
    20
See reviews for
167
310
56
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked the hotel based on previous reviews from TA. We were not disappointed as it was exactly as describes and we enjoyed our visit. The room was retro with a few quirky touches and there was enough space for us. The beds were very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. We enjoyed the breakfast too. The location of the hotel is great with everything in easy walking distance. The staff were pleasant and professional. We couldn't ask for anything more.
If in Bergen again we would stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you liked the hotel's qualities and services!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Truly grand! It is a hotel with history and class. Very authentic and old world charm, a hotel where Amundsen stayed on his last journey.
The hotel is right opposite the railway station where we got off after memorable norway in nut shell trip. Our luggage had already arrived by Porter service from Oslo. Norway in summer is great place to be with day light till 11 pm.
The breakfast spread once again was fit for king!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakul_shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for your uplifting review. It is a great motivation for us to see the comments from guests who truly understands and values the qualities of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here one night in May and arrived by taxi. The room comes only with heat and does not have any fans - I was hot all night and did not sleep very much. Room was hot when I first arrived and hot when I left (I made sure heat was off). The curtains did a poor job at keeping out bright lit street. Good breakfast included (coffee was not very good), staff was friendly, and hotel was close to Bergen attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestofBergen, General Manager at Grand Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, there are not many hotels in Bergen that have aircondition. In Bergen, only a few days of the year we experience heat above 25 degrees celsius. Those days we provide fans, and we always have fans available if you ask for one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is opposite the train station so very handy for people coming to Bergen by train. The room we had was the smallest we had in Norway and was not particularly clean. It is close to the centre of the city so that was a bonus. The biggest problem we had was driving into Bergen. Signs were non existent and more by luck than judgement found the hotel. Leaving the hotel to return the car to Avis rental was a nightmare. Bergen is a city of one way streets, we arrived on a Sunday so Avis closed. They neglected to tell me that their office is in one street and parking their car is in another street. Again luckily I found the parking area as I had google earthed it before I left the UK. We walked to the office but there was no letter box to return the keys. Went back to the car and asked the nearby petrol station assistant if he knew what to do with the keys. He stated lots of drivers asked the same question and he showed me the letter box in the filling station. No one at Avis informed me of where to park the car when the office was closed or where to drop the keys off. Certainly I was not told that the car did not go to the office. Anyway this hotel had the worst breakfast in our time in Norway we had two nights here and for our 2nd breakfast did not have anything cooked

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sauntonHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Located almost wall to wall with the train station in downtown Bergen, Grand Hotel Terminus has a very good location. It is a historic hotel which can be experienced particularly in the nice whisky bare next to the reception. Rooms are small and bathrooms even smaller. Food is ok, but there are a number more exciting places to eat downtown Bergen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights. It was close to the station and greatly suitable for those joining the Norway in a nutshell. The staff were very helpful and was able to give us all answers we need. The hotel is quiet and cozy but is within 10 mins walk to major attractions. Recommended for all.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LEONA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Property: Grand Hotel Terminus
Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing