We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Terminus
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I only stayed for one night but I was very impressed, lovely old hotel, nice lobby and lounge/bar area with free tea/coffee and fruit all day. The hotel is located next to the train station but about a 10minute walk to the main tourist area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank giglesoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Christian, the receptionist, was more then helpful; he showed a sense of humour and eagerness to be of service. Ten points for him then.
Vika (I believe Ucranian), in the main dining room, on the other hand, behaved with contempt. Because we were part of a rather large group of thirty, he perhaps thought we deserve lesser good service at dinner time. He would not tell me about our requested menu, would not supply information on basic questions regarding what we had ordered. Worst, the quality of the food was quite unimaginative when not downright dreadful. And this is the hotel that brags about having top quality chefs...
My single room, 422, tiny and smelly. Overlooking a backstreet weigh some sort of machinery that produced a constant (light) noise all night. could not sleep at all.
Bathroom super small and uncomfortable.
Staying here was a bad choice. Never again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have been revamped, slightly larger, but are more noisy then in lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cussons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is located directly besides the train station and is close to all sightseeing spots in Bergen. It is old-fashioned in a good way, especially the whiskey bar is worth a visit. The breakfast buffet is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoliaEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed the experience. The hotel has a great location because it I so close to the train and bus station. It is very atmospheric. We stayed on the fifth floor and although there was some noise from the street it did not trouble us. There was a lot of choice at breakfast and they have a nice courtyard garden where we sat and had a meal late one afternoon. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Grand Terminus, as its name suggests, is situated right next to the railway station, and only a few minutes more from the main bus station (where you get off if you are taking the airport bus). The hotel is a typical Victorian railway hotel, retaining a lot of its period features, such as the main hotel bar/lounge, which together with the polite and helpful service, produces a guest experience that is redolent of a more relaxed era of international travel. The rooms themselves are typical scandinavian, modern, clean and simply furnished. You are not going to get a harbour view from here, but it's an easy 10-minute walk away, and feels like a refuge after a day spent with the cruise ship hordes in central Bergen. There are no coffee-making facilities available in the rooms - something that appears to be the norm in Norway - but free coffee is available in the bar/lounge. Breakfast was of a good standard, and overall, we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

From the first moment I liked this hotel. Such atmosphere from an era when buildings had genuine character. Staff were so helpful, booking our restaurant, helping us into our room and explaining all of our queries. I Do not agree with other's complaints about noise at all!! Try a few nights in Paris if you want to experience noise, fellow travellers. This place has the aged timbers of a grand building, very clean and modern rooms, a lovely room for lounging/tea and coffee at any time and staff that were so helpful and friendly. I tried to use a room key incorrectly and when I asked the reception staff about it, they stopped what they were doing, put an "unattended" sign on the desk and immediately accompanied me to the room to check the key. The key worked, I was embarrassed but thankful for friendly service. Out of a family of 6, 5 of us used WiFi. Yes it's sad that we were all in our own world but the WiFi did not falter. I'm happy to recommend this hotel. After arriving by train and leaving by the airport bus, this hotel is convenient to everything I needed, including the harbour restaurant we visited for dinner. I'll not hesitate to return.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in two rooms - both were quite small. The location was terrific - right across the street from the train station and near many activities. The room itself was fine. I didn't have any issues with the WiFi. The room, though, was not clean. The bathroom in our room (one room) was quite disgusting. There was hair in the shower - all types (it was quite the collection). It needed a good scrubbing (gross). The bed was comfortable. There was a lot of noise in the morning from the trains - we were up at around 7AM because of it.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room from the six or seventh floor - that was where I received the room that was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
727 reviews
Sentrum
Zander K Hotel
Zander K Hotel
#21 of 49 in Bergen
171 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Terminus

Address: Zander Kaaes gate 6, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £86 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing