We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for a good night's sleep!”
Review of P-Hotels Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
P-Hotels Bergen
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in Bergen on July 11, 2012. Parking is in a lot several blocks away so we had to carry our luggage because we couldn't find a place right outside the hotel to check in. That could have been our oversight. The hotel room was very small. The beds were the most uncomfortable on our entire trip. The bathroom was fine. The shower even had a door so there wasn't as much water everywhere like some showers in Scandinavia. I agree with everyone who mentioned the pub below the hotel and the noise. I guess I got to see that it is light at 3:00 am! We found that even though the outside temperatures were cool (50s and 60s) the hotels were warm. We needed the windows open to cool the room and then we couldn't sleep because of the street noise. Even with the windows closed (and I wear earplugs at night!) the noise from the street was loud and kept waking us both up. Breakfast was very disappointing: a prepackaged sandwich with a sliver of ham and sliver of cheese, an apple, and a juice pack. Not what I would say was even remotely appetizing or satisfying. There is coffee and tea in the lobby at all times and two lobby computers. The wi-fi worked fine for us. We enjoyed Bergen, but the hotel was definitely "budget." I think I would pay more. However, our room was clean and it was less expensive than most. I would not be afraid to stay here, but I would not plan on a good night's sleep,

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Even though it's the cheapest hotel in town I do expect to be able to sleep. There's a nightclub under the hotel that blares out dance music until 3 in the morning. The floor in our room was vibrating and the the painting on the wall bouncing from the noise. After they finally closed they started cleaning and moving furniture about for another hour...
When we checked in the staff only said there was a pub underneath and they didn't have any other room than on the first floor anyways. The night staff said guests complain every weekend, well, then they need to do something about it! When we complained again in the morning the staff basically just shrugged their shoulder and asked us to email the management.
There is VERY limited parking in the area and the staff didn't have any reliable information on where to park other than the expensive parking garage some blocks away. In fact there is a free parking behind the church (free on weekends and 23-08 weekdays) that we only found by accident. My advice to anyone else is to book something more expensive, that has a free parking garage if you come by car so you don't have to drive for hours to find parking ( or end up paying a fortune anyways at the parking garage) and where you can get sleep and possibly also a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very basic hotel with a good location. Hotels in Bergen are very expensive for the standard provided so is this hotel. Rooms wer quite basic and small and outdated. We were on the back side so luckily quit. On the front is a very noisy pub which is annoying. Beds are hard and slept poor. Bathroom very small and no amenities
Wifi was free and worked adequately.Breakfast was given in a bag on the doorknob and consisted of a sandwhich with juice. Nothing fancy. Only for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is rather run down and in need of updating. We stayed here b/c everything else was booked up. I'm glad it was only for one night. Apparently our check in wasn't done right so the next guy on duty decided to come wake us up about it. I went back down and signed again. Then in the morning I was asked to sign yet again. The bathroom sink smelled awful. The to go breakfast had a decent serving size. The location is good to many attractions and the train station. It is noisy at night due to locals being out and having fun. In the future I'd avoid this place. However it's not so awful as to give it the lowest rating.

Room Tip: A room in the back may be quieter. Also the elevator is rather old an the stairs cramped so you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel was originally known as Bergen Travel and is now under the management of P-Hotels. The hotel has 3 buildings close by and I ended up staying away from the main building. There was a boxed breakfast which was nothing spectacular. For the price that I paid for this room, I expected a bit more. However the hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akgandhi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is located above a pub frequented by soccer fans. The pulsing music, shouting, and laughter begins around 10 and continues until 3 or 4 am. Breakfast is a nasty sandwich (cold) and a mushy apple, and the staff doesn't accommodate requests for more soap, more towels, etc. after the first night we asked to be moved to the back of the hotel, away from the street, but we were told it was not possible. STAY AWAY!!

PS: We booked with the Bergen Travel Hotel next door, but that hotel no longer exists so our reservation was moved next door to the P Hotel. Sucked.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Ok, it's as cheap as you're going to find in mega expensive Norway and the room was clean. Bergen is small so the location is good, 10 mins walk from train station and the main sites. But... what a noisey hotel. SportsBar in the basement open til like 2am and on matchdays is full of chanting supporters. No sleep in the front of the building. The back is quieter but a lot of banging from laminate floors above. Then, the worst thing, are the curtains. It's Norway, it is light pretty much all day and all night, So they put up thin, light curtains that are 10cm from the wall and do a poor job of blocking out any light whatsover. I really struggled to sleep. Breakfast is left on the door handle each day and is always the same... a ham and cheese sandwich, orange juice and an apple. Not the best. Free wifi though. I feel there are better options out there.

Room Tip: You HAVE to get a room towards the back of the hotel to have any chance of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank das_beb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 49 in Bergen
414 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
752 reviews
Vågen
Magic Hotel Korskirken
Magic Hotel Korskirken
#28 of 49 in Bergen
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P-Hotels Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P-Hotels Bergen

Address: Vestre Torggaten 9, Bergen 5015, Norway (Formerly Ambassadeur Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £37 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — P-Hotels Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P-Hotels Bergen offers budget accommodation and is located in the city center. All tourist attractions, shopping and Bergens outdoor concert venue Koengen is within walking distance of the holet.Thank you for your order at P -Hotels Bergen. Please check that the date and number of nights are correct. Breakfast: The price includes a breakfast package (sandwich and drink) delivered to your door. Coffee/tea, mineral water, wine and beer for sale in the reception. Wireless access is free of charge. Payment is made at check-in or in advance if you have booked a non refundable reservation. We only accept credit card as valid payment.Cash will not be accepted. We have two hotel buildings, the reception is in our main building in Vestre Torggate 9. We are open 24hrs. We are situated in the center of Bergen, and there will be noise from the streets and a pub located in the area. Check-in from 16.00 pm Check-out 12 pm All rooms are non-smoking. Welcome to us and to Bergen city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your P-Hotels Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p-Hotels Bergen Hotel Bergen
p Hotel Bergen
Bergen p Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing