We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected!!!”
Review of P-Hotels Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
P-Hotels Bergen
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, it got awful reviews but in fact I got my money's worth and more. The staff were friendly, helpful, smiley. The place was SPOTLESS and clean. Room was warm, spacious, everything worked perfectly.
The only thing I could fault was the TV which had just one Norweigan channel, and the light was very dim so I had to use bedside lamps see.
My friend ordered a twin bed and was put in a single room, they upgraded her straight away.
No problems with noise.
Right in the city centre

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at their second location which was just a bit up the street - at first I was reluctant as it didn't seem very official - but it turned out to be a great room and experience - it had way more space than my friend and I needed or expected (we are use to staying in hostels it seems like an upgrade). I will admit it to be old and has potential to be noisy but neither of these deterred us from having a good experience. It was the perfect location - easy to find from the airport bus - got off around the large gazebo and walked from there. We were able to walk everywhere and felt safe doing so. They provided a "breakfast" (sandwich, fruit and drink box) in a bag on your door in the morning - which we used as lunch and picked up some breakfast around town. All in all Bergen is an expensive city so you are going to get what you pay for with this hotel - it is on the cheaper price side and therefore is not going to be a 3 or 4 star experience. I found the staff to be nice and helpful - allowed us to keep our luggage behind the desk (before check-in) instead of just sitting in the lobby as we had some valuables. Had free wifi.

Room Tip: Higher floors = less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBum093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Nicely located close to Torgalmenningen. That's the good thing. Otherwise, a very poor hotel. Rooms are shabby, the bathroom we got smelled like urine, and when taking a shower the entire floor got wet, and stayed wet. Heating did not work. The bed works, but unfortunately there is so much noise from the street that you really need the ear plugs that you find in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is a shame to see a hotel like that with such reviews, but the hotel management does not really care about how things work, at least, that's the impression they gave us!

The location is just great! You are able to visit absolutely everything on foot! Of course there are places and tours that demand a transportation, but the situation is similar to all of the other hotels, nevertheless the hotel itself is very bad!

We stayed there from Monday to Thursday, so we didn't have problems about noise. There is a bar and a disco just below the hotel. The bar, every day, shows soccer games, so there's always an audience for such. Fortunately we didn't have any problems despite being on the 1st floor, just above the bar and the disco. We could sleep.

Breakfast...we knew about the way things work, I mean, a paper bag with a sandwich, a small bottle of apple juice and a fruit (usually a very small pear), but the sandwich is a joke. No filling at all! No matter the filling you choose (salami, ham, chicken), they are all just the same.

Staff...I had read here on Trip Advisor a few reviews about the "blondie" that works at the front desk, but, believe me, she's much worse than you can imagine! She's there, but she's NOT there, if you can get what I mean. If you depend on any detail, forget it or try to deal with her very bad mood! She seems to get irritated when you ask her something. Check-in and check-out are automatic, I mean, you do all the process, but our process, for some reason, didn't work out, so I had to talk to her about my reservation. Poor me! If I knew of a hotel nearby, I would have just gone into it at once! From that moment on, I never faced her again!

Sorry, miss/mistress, but if you are not happy, if you are not professional enough to work at the front desk, please, just look for something else for you to do! We don't have to deal with such a bad-moody woman like you! You don't know what politeness is and in Norway this is amazing, very bad for you!

So, despite the excellent location, I don't recommend this hotel at all!

Room Tip: Look for some other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekkingGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I decided for this hotel given the prices, Bergen is a very expensive city in regards to accommodation and this hotel prices are more affordable. But you get what you paid for...

The hotel is very basic, and could be noisy so don´t expect anything "extra". The hotel does the job is you really are not spending time there but just sleeping. If you are in a low floor it could be noisy but you can ask for earplugs.

You will get a basic breakfast delivered to your door in the morning (sandwich, juice and a fruit).

Location is almost perfect, very centric....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is a shame.

First of all, the rooms are dirty, we found some old food under a sofa bed (oh yes because you're not even sure to sleep in a bed), it smells really bad, noisy as hell and the service is terrible.

The first night we got here, the window was broken and the reception clerk did not want to help us nor offered us another room. Result: we got robed because there was an emergency stairway coming from the bar downstairs, meaning that more-or-less everybody could come into our room.
The hotel manager didn't want to help us to solve this problem.

In a nutshell, do not go there! There are plenty of other hotels that offer safety, comfort, good service for the same or a bit higher price.

Room Tip: If you wanna go to this hotel (which I highly discourage), ask at least to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SWTLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was so bad that I don't even know where to begin...
Maybe from an advice: don't go there!
First thing we immediately reported that a window was broken and they did NOTHING to help us!
Result: we got robbed in less than 2 hours! And we were not the only one!!
They didn't fix the window, they didn't change our room and of course they didn't give us our money back!
Moreover, the hotel entrance is always opened to everybody, there's a very crowded pub in the ground floor and the emergency stairs end exactly in the backyard of this pub which can be reached from everybody also from the street!
The hotel smells really bad, is dirty and very very noisy (but they warn you at least).
I can write many other problems, but remember that there's no safe in the rooms and neither in the reception, so if you have valuable stuff BE CAREFUL!
If you can, pay a bit more for another hotel which is safer, cleaner and in which you are not treated like if it was your fault!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tommaso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#30 of 49 in Bergen
410 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#17 of 49 in Bergen
746 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P-Hotels Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P-Hotels Bergen

Address: Vestre Torggaten 9, Bergen 5015, Norway (Formerly Ambassadeur Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — P-Hotels Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P-Hotels Bergen offers budget accommodation and is located in the city center. All tourist attractions, shopping and Bergens outdoor concert venue Koengen is within walking distance of the holet.Thank you for your order at P -Hotels Bergen. Please check that the date and number of nights are correct. Breakfast: The price includes a breakfast package (sandwich and drink) delivered to your door. Coffee/tea, mineral water, wine and beer for sale in the reception. Wireless access is free of charge. Payment is made at check-in or in advance if you have booked a non refundable reservation. We only accept credit card as valid payment.Cash will not be accepted. We have two hotel buildings, the reception is in our main building in Vestre Torggate 9. We are open 24hrs. We are situated in the center of Bergen, and there will be noise from the streets and a pub located in the area. Check-in from 16.00 pm Check-out 12 pm All rooms are non-smoking. Welcome to us and to Bergen city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your P-Hotels Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p-Hotels Bergen Hotel Bergen
p Hotel Bergen
Bergen p Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing