We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergen P-Hotel”
Review of P-Hotels Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
P-Hotels Bergen
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bergen P-Hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

This hotel offers good budget accommodation - clean rooms, comfy bed, large bathroom. However, it's situated above a bar and since most places in Norway don't have aircon, our only choice on a warm summer evening was to feel like we were in a nightclub until the early hours.
Reception offers free internet access for guests, and a bsaic breakfast (sandwich, fruit, juice) is dropped off outside your door early in the morning.

  • Liked — Clean and great beds - very comfy
  • Disliked — Noise - it was above a bar
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou25London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    61
    145
    126
    166
See reviews for
91
169
73
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kindgdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Whilst the rooms are simply furnished but reasonably comfortable the noise from the pub and night club meant that it was impossible to get a good night's sleep.
Whilst most of the staff were pleasant and understanding there were others who were rude and we would not recommend this hotel even as a last resort.
We checked out and moved to another hotel as soon as we found one with vacancies.

  • Disliked — Noise and staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Holidaymaker0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

I stayed here at the beginning and end of my trip around the fjords. The hotel is comfortable and staff are friendly. i was located in room 307 at the start of the trip - decent room but a big downside was the night club noise which started at 12am and went on until 4am! Not a good nights sleep!! The last night I was in room 405, more spacious with a great velux window, the noise was not as bad in this part of the hotel.the breakfast pack was ample and the rooms clean with tea/coffee making facilities and tv. Internet access is also provided free. Location is decent, approx 10 mins walk to the fish market. To sum up - average, decent hotel, shame about the night club, which is underneath the hotel - therefore check the location of your room when you arrive.

  • Liked — convenient for town & sights
  • Disliked — the noise at night
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arcangelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2008

We planned to stay here in August, but unfortunately all we got to see of the hotel was the lobby. They had lost our reservation, and although we had a print-out of it so we could prove it was their fault, they said there was "nothing they could do". Unlike most hotels, they did not keep an extra room in case of something like that. I had to beg for them to make another reservation, and the hotel they booked was way on the outskirts of town. I complained about the cost of transportation to that hotel and all the manager did was shrug her shoulders. Judging from the reviews I see in here, I'm glad we didn't end up at this hotel, I suppose. But really, the hotel is quite well located, despite its unpleasant appearance and staff.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff, organization
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ascoltate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2007

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights in May 2006.
On all accounts, it does not match at all a 3 star category as mentioned on their web site. It is located on the upper floor of a pub. It goes without saying, it's pretty noisy on the evenings. Towels were not changed during my 3 day stay. Breakfast was decent. Besides, it's the first time for me to get a hotel room without wardrobe. All this awful service for a US$ 80.- a night for a single room.
Don't make the same mistake

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IpsoFacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2006

We stay at VESTRE TORRGT 5 7 BERGEN 5015, Norway just for one night the charges are very high and the standar of the Hotel is very bad if you compared to others Norwegian Hotel in the same price. We decide to move to SAS Radisson after the first night, more cheaper and better quality. For the price we are paying in this hotel is not included internet. The toallets are very bad supply with the standar tools for this price. ($ 221,00 usd).
If you are going to Bergen, you can find better Hotel for this price.

Helpful?
5 Thank Kokabiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2006

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights. This hotel does not match the rate demanded for a single room. But this is not astonishing in the very expensive Norway. The service is fairly good. I thought that in a 3 start hotel, at least towels would be changed daily, in this hotel, it's not the daily custome. the only good thing in this hotel, is the reception, a friendly young lady.
NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED at all.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TiKTaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Citybox Bergen
#26 of 49 in Bergen
27 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#27 of 49 in Bergen
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
885 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P-Hotels Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P-Hotels Bergen

Property: P-Hotels Bergen
Address: Vestre Torggaten 9, Bergen 5015, Norway (Formerly Ambassadeur Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — P-Hotels Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P-Hotels Bergen offers budget accommodation and is located in the city center. All tourist attractions, shopping and Bergens outdoor concert venue Koengen is within walking distance of the holet.Thank you for your order at P -Hotels Bergen. Please check that the date and number of nights are correct. Breakfast: The price includes a breakfast package (sandwich and drink) delivered to your door. Coffee/tea, mineral water, wine and beer for sale in the reception. Wireless access is free of charge. Payment is made at check-in or in advance if you have booked a non refundable reservation. We only accept credit card as valid payment.Cash will not be accepted. We have two hotel buildings, the reception is in our main building in Vestre Torggate 9. We are open 24hrs. We are situated in the center of Bergen, and there will be noise from the streets and a pub located in the area. Check-in from 16.00 pm Check-out 12 pm All rooms are non-smoking. Welcome to us and to Bergen city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your P-Hotels Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p-Hotels Bergen Hotel Bergen
p Hotel Bergen
Bergen p Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing