We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Bergen Accommodations”
Review of Marken Gjestehus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marken Gjestehus
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Budget Bergen Accommodations”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The first thing you’ll notice about Marken Gjesthaus (after you find the entrance) is the adorable, ancient elevator that you’ll ride to the fourth floor. Its complete with a manual sliding door, a mechanical meter showing which floor its on, and a cushioned seat. The rest of the Gjesthaus is modern and minimalist, but the elevator really does bring some character to the building.
Bergen has a surprising amount of options for budget-minded travelers, but the Gjesthaus stands out among them. The location is great - right in central Bergen, but off the main road so it isn’t too noisy or crowded (not that there are many places in Bergen that are noisy or crowded). It’s just a stone’s throw away from Bryggen, the Fish Market, the base of Mt. Floyen, the great hall and tower, and any other Bergen attractions you might want to see.
Rooms include bunk beds, a desk, ample power outlets, and large closet/lockers that are provided free of charge. The room I was in included a power splitter, though I don’t know if that was standard or someone left it there. Either way, I’m not one to complain about extra power outlets. Linens and towels are extra, unfortunately. The Gjesthaus also offers several commons rooms as well as laundry and kitchen facilities. There is wireless internet throughout the building, but it is unfortunately a bit spotty in the rooms.
There was one annoyance during my stay, aside from spotty internet: on the second night, at around 7PM, the smoke alarm went off twice in a one hour period, and we had to evacuate to the street level. Luckily that only happened in the evening - I can imagine I might be writing a more sour review if it had occurred at 3AM. Overall, I would definitely recommend the Gjesthaus to budget travelers in Bergen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    166
    48
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
80
138
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hostel has good location. Very clean and modern. The breakfast is not included in the price, but ı highly recommend to have breakfast at hotel, because the breakfast is rich and eating outside is very expensive in Norway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. We picked this place as it was close to the train station as we were taking the "nutshell" tour the next day and wanted to be close to the station. The place has just about every kind of room, from Hostel room to private, with private bath. It has a laundry too. We stayed in a room with private bath, it was clean & nice. A very short walk to the harbor. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesheltonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Well located in downtown Bergen, in a somewhat old building, it takes a whole floor and it is really roomy. The premises are always clean and it's really cozy. It has an equipped kitchen, laundry room and a sitting room. The staff is friendly and really helpful. Glad I chose to stay here!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank toobaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

All fantastic, very clean rooms, nice simple design, perfect location. OK it is a hostel, you have to be prepared to share facilities (baths, toilets and kitchen - all very good and clean) and to pay for bed linen and towels (bed linen - 65 NOK per set, towels - 15 NOK) but it is still fantastic value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydkaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was only in Bergen one night, arriving after 9pm and leaving before 7am. They set my credit card as my room key and left me everything I needed in my room. Smoothest after hours check in I've ever had! Clean facilities and comfortable beds, would definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very convenient for train/bus station. Clean, well decorated hostel with kitchen, dining room and TV area. Good communal showers. No breakfast available. Drinks available from vending machines in lounge. Limited reception opening hours during off-peak season so arrange early/late arrival before get there if required. Helpful staff looked after our bags for a few hours after we'd checked out and before our bus to the airport.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lp1Lp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
634 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marken Gjestehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marken Gjestehus

Property: Marken Gjestehus
Address: Kong Oscars gate 45 | Entrance : Tverrgaten, Bergen 5017, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marken Gjestehus 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central and reasonable priced Guesthouse / Hostel for those who want to spend their money on something more than just sleeping - an excellent base for exploring the city of Bergen. Our hostel is stylish and modern, centrally located, safe and affordable. We also have rooms with private bathroom, TV, fridge and a water kettle. Common areas to use for all our guests are a fully equipped kitchen, TV room, sitting room and a laundry room. We offer accommodation for everyone from corporate clients, families and backpackers . Also suitable for school classes, sports teams and groups. A variety of people who want to stay the best possible way, at a low price. Together with our staff, they are all part of creating that special homely and cozy atmosphere that characterizes Marken Guesthouse - a modern hostel! Marken Guesthouse is superbly located and is clean and comfortable, with these extra touches that make you feel more like a hotel - without the price tag. We are convinced that there can be luxury and design in simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Marken Gjestehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marken Gjestehus Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing