We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Montana Family & Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hanseatic Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
51
81
46
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
81
46
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carthe busincredible sunsetcommon areasfree breakfast isbig kitchenplace to staycommon roomminute drivecooking facilitiesexpensive citybergen city centergreat breakfast buffetenjoyed my stayrooms are cleanbreakfast roomfish market
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Having spent the night before at the very beautiful and fabulous Flam Hostel this place was a real disappointment. The pouring rain didn't help and the free wifi was non-existent. We paid over A$200/night for a modest four bed, no bathroom hostel room. The place looks a bit tired. Breakfast was pretty reasonable and included in price. 15-20 minute bus trip to city was better option than parking, even with four people. Three stars, but 2.5 more realistic. I wouldn't stay again, not that I'm planning on returning to Bergen in the next 50 years.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Heathcliffe1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Free parking is one reason we picked this property, and it was only a 10 minute drive down to the harbour for food and drinks. Yes, we stayed in bunk beds, but it was only one night. Good breakfast and beer in the soda machine! Wifi was poor to non-existent (we were warned by the front desk) and "renting" sheets and towels was a hassle and expensive. The store down the street was handy. Not the easiest place to find either...

Room Tip: The second floor is good because it's the same level as the lobby!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaatmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Positive points: good breakfast, there is a supermarket near, friendly staff, free wifi, quiet neighborhood. The view of the city from the hotel’s area is nice, and you can see the sunset. The hotel is close to the Mount Ulriken.
Negative points: no free towel or sheet, there isn’t lockers. It is far from the central train station(40 min by foot, 15 min by bus). The shower is not private, it is in a room with two showers separated each other by a wall and the door of the room don’t close and you don’t have a private area between this two showers. It’s not a quiet hostel.
In general is a good place to stay in Bergen on a budget, in a very expensive city

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place has no particular charm. It is actually a bit of a "sleeping factory". However it serves the purpose of offering the functionalities you need for a short stay. The plus point is the very nice you can enjoy from the outside terrace provided weather you are lucky with decent weather. It was nice to watch sunset at 10.45pm from there. Free parking is also appreciated in a country like Norway.
The internet connection was uselessly slow. The location is good if you have a car but probably not ideal if you use public transport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Ok, is Norway, but 63 euros each person for a double in a tiny room is really, really, too much. Really nothing extra, we had to pay for the sheets as well, so pay attention. Room was tiny with a bunk bed. We had yes a shower and a toilet, but the thing was very old and poorly constructed, with the entire bathroom as a floor for the shower, with water that goes everywhere. Usually is this kind of solutions they put the drain valve inclined compared with the rest of the room, but not here, they provide a mop in the bathroom to move the water to the drain valve by yourself.
Internet was one of the slowest I ever seen in my life. Was like a 90s connection with WiFi. I was not able to load not even a single small image through my phone, with that connection. After 30 minutes of suffering I decided to stop struggling and I stayed with no internet for the rest of the evening.
The place is very very far from the city centre, I had the car, so no problems regarding that.

I would say to the people that want a private room to not go here. They give you nothing that even come remotely close to the price a paid for a double one night: 126 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews