We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montana Family & Youth Hostel
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overall nice hostel”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Can recommend the hostel for anyone that would like to have something simple and low key. You get value for your money. It takes about 10-15 min by bus, and the bus stop is a short walk away. Remember to buy bus ticket at the local store - Bunnpris, where the price is 29 NOK. If you pay the ticket on the bus, it costs you 40 NOK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromMajsLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    76
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
35
56
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had previously stayed at a ln International Hostel chain in Oslo which was quite pleasant, and was expecting very much the same here.
We got here to our "ensuite" room, had to pay extra for linen.. Then had to purchase tokens for doing the laundry, and to top off our first night the shower did not even last 10minutes with Hot water- this continued for the next 3 nights we stayed here which irritated us to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lecce, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very nice hostel with good amenities, breakfast, comfy beds and nice big guest kitchen! Beutiful view from the top terrace! It is a little up the hill but it is worth the view! I was happy all in all!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weareallmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I usually don't complain about hotels or write bad reviews, but this place is so terribly overpriced at $161/night that I have to warn people. Stay far far away from this place, you can find a much much better experience in Bergen for a similar or cheaper price.

My and my wife arrived late in Bergen and first visited a regular hotel that ended up being fully booked, so we got recommended this hostel instead. Upon arriving we see a simple building, enter a simple reception area. Having been told a room cost $136 we are a little hesitant after seeing the state of this place so far. But we are tired and in need of sleep so we book a double bed room. After doing so we are told sheets are not included so we had to add $25 and ended up paying a total of $161. The sheets are given out in the reception and you have to make your own bed.

So far we are a bit annoyed at the high price and low standard, but looking forward to a shower and comfortable sleep after a long day's drive. And also the breakfast that is included in the price.

Upon arriving in the room we are greeted with a very simple and rough room. An old wooden two storey bed with simple mattresses, cloth hanger with most hangers broken, old wooden desk and chair, dirty stained curtains. The bathroom is similar with very old stained plastic taps and curtain. The plastic carpet has black spots in the corners. If you google for images "Norwegian prison cell", those rooms look MUCH nicer than what we got.

Not having much choice at this hour we head to the kitchen area to cook some food. The kitchen is simple with old heating plates and matching broken pots/cutlery. The chairs and tables are however quite new, from IKEA, but due to being made from wood veneer rather than real wood or glass they look damaged already. Whoever is managing this place seems to be making a lot of poor choices, we are starting to figure out how this place can be so expensive but still so low quality.

Even more annoyed, but still tired and looking forward to sleep, we make our bed and jump into the shower. I was able to finish 80% of my shower before the water started to become cold. The time is now 23:30 and we have to sleep to get up for breakfast in the morning. Waiting a while hoping the heat returns, but also stressed about having to get to sleep, my wife gets 20% of her shower done before the water turns ice cold.

After complaining in the reception I am first offered one explanation: "All rooms share the same water heater and a lot of people must be showering right now". The time being 23:30 I'm not really buying that, one heater for such a big hostel should be able to handle a few showers that late. After pushing a bit more I get the real explanation: "The double bed rooms share a water heater with their neighbor room". So for $161 a night we got a tiny water heater shared with our neighbor, that runs out after barely one person has showered. As far as we could tell the room next to ours was empty as well. We are told we can either wait, or shower in the common showers instead. After walking wet and cold through the hostel up and down two flight of stairs, we get our shower, and can finally start to sleep.

Breakfast buffet in the morning is served in a canteen, it is plentiful but basic: regular toasted bread, cheese, ham, salami, yoghurt, cereal, juice, milk.

Overall Montana Hostel is an OK/poor hostel, but a terrible value and experience for $161. If you can, look into other hotels or hostels in the area. We found a wonderful place for just $119 the evening after.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Having spent the night before at the very beautiful and fabulous Flam Hostel this place was a real disappointment. The pouring rain didn't help and the free wifi was non-existent. We paid over A$200/night for a modest four bed, no bathroom hostel room. The place looks a bit tired. Breakfast was pretty reasonable and included in price. 15-20 minute bus trip to city was better option than parking, even with four people. Three stars, but 2.5 more realistic. I wouldn't stay again, not that I'm planning on returning to Bergen in the next 50 years.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heathcliffe1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Free parking is one reason we picked this property, and it was only a 10 minute drive down to the harbour for food and drinks. Yes, we stayed in bunk beds, but it was only one night. Good breakfast and beer in the soda machine! Wifi was poor to non-existent (we were warned by the front desk) and "renting" sheets and towels was a hassle and expensive. The store down the street was handy. Not the easiest place to find either...

Room Tip: The second floor is good because it's the same level as the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaatmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Positive points: good breakfast, there is a supermarket near, friendly staff, free wifi, quiet neighborhood. The view of the city from the hotel’s area is nice, and you can see the sunset. The hotel is close to the Mount Ulriken.
Negative points: no free towel or sheet, there isn’t lockers. It is far from the central train station(40 min by foot, 15 min by bus). The shower is not private, it is in a room with two showers separated each other by a wall and the door of the room don’t close and you don’t have a private area between this two showers. It’s not a quiet hostel.
In general is a good place to stay in Bergen on a budget, in a very expensive city

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#28 of 49 in Bergen
25 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#26 of 49 in Bergen
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montana Family & Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana Family & Youth Hostel

Property: Montana Family & Youth Hostel
Address: Johan Blytts vei 30 | Landaas, Bergen 5096, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Montana Family & Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Montana Family & Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana Family And Youth Hostel
Montana Family & Youth Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing