We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low budget option for Bergen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Apartment Hotel
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Building has seen better days,looks worn,and tired.It should change name as it doesn't offer apartments at all,only small ensuite rooms.
My room was located beside dining area.It was cramped,no double bed as requested,two singles pushed together.It was clean,just very basic,hence the price is probably lowest in town.
TV worked,only one channel,but that's better than nothing.Internet connection was fair at most but worked OK.
Water in the bathroom was pretty warm,no complains here.Same with heating in a room.I actually felt too warm at times.
There was some noise from a bar downstairs,on Saturday night,but it didn't bother me with sleeping.
Best of all is the location,it's close to most tourist attractions,and there are some decent coffee places near by.
Lady at the reception was very helpful,and available within reception hours..
I've been in several hostels in different countries,and I would rate it above middle in that category.As hotel,at the bottom,and I've been in many.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank smerfetka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is more of a hostel. Very old building that has been converted to very plain room, which would have been fine, but it was not very friendly and very poor service. There was no one at the front desk when we arrived and we had to wait a while for someone to show up. There was no front desk service at anytime when we were there. The bathroom was a strange set up. The back of the toilet was against the sink. There was no shower curtain, so the whole bathroom got went whenever we showered. There were no amenities, no coffee service, one small bar of soap and very skimpy towels. There was a kithen, but was for use of tenents, so one would have to buy their own supplies. Also there was no elevator, so we had to drag our bags up 4 flights of stairs. Since the hotel is next door to a night club, the weekends are very noisy. It is also expensive to stay there, I would suggest spending a little more on a better hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room that is not on the street if possible or as far away from the nightclub, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea90401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE - I had to go Bergen emergency hospital after being bitten 16 times by Bed Bugs. Rooms are filthy and staff ignored me when i showed them the red bites/swelling all over. Staying here ruined my holiday and i urge you to either sleep in the nearby park or any other hotel. I have subsequently received hospital treatment in Spain and back in London from the insect bites and i am yet to receive any refund or apology. Hostels in Thailand at £2 per night have better hygiene. This place should be shut down and i am in the process of reporting them to the national health regulator to ensure that others do not suffer like i have.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Annon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a very convenient hotel as it is located in the city centre. It is a good value for money as it is clean and has many free-of-charge services (e.g. food & washing facilities). However, there was no elevator, the reception was open only during morning hours, and the room was a bit small.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andronikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Bedbugs. Loud Music from the bar downstairs. DIrty kitchen. This is not really a hotel but a glorified hostel. We stayed in a room on the 4th floor and could hear loud heavy metal music until am. There is absolutely no service at all, Avoid, avoid avoid.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is in no way a hotel, more like a run down expensive student house. It calls itself a hotel but offers none of the services expected of a hotel. If the shabby front door and entrance was not a portent of what was to come then dragging bags up eight flights of dirty stairs (this place has no lift) confirmed our misgivings. As noted by other reviewers the bathroom leaked into the bedroom, the beds were miniscule, the supposed tv did not work and the room incredibly noisy. A very expensive mistake.

Room Tip: Don't use this establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have been to many hotels in my life but this was by far the worst. Smallest double room I have seen. No elevator (5 floors). Heavy metal bar in first floor. Most trafficed street in Bergen. Water from the shower ran out in the bedroom. A lot of water. Toilet broken. No hot water. Double room has 2 single small beds. No customer service. You get the key in the bar. This is less than one star hotel. Way too expensive. No change of sheets or towels. (Only one towel) Bedsheets were worn out. Small very old tv with 2 channels and no remote control. Bathroom was VERY dirty. Worst I ever saw even compared to the third world countries I have been to. Walls dirty in the room. The pictures on the webpage has nothing to do with reality. I spoke to several guests and they said the same.

Room Tip: Choose something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulvenx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 51 in Bergen
424 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 51 in Bergen
74 reviews
Sentrum
Magic Hotel Xhibition
Magic Hotel Xhibition
#42 of 51 in Bergen
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,404 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 51 in Bergen
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartment Hotel

Address: Christies gate 14, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Apartment Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Apartment Bergen
Hotel City Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing