We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet night's sleep on a rowdy midsummer eve.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Park Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Park Bergen
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A quiet night's sleep on a rowdy midsummer eve.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had one of the best night's sleep of our vacation in this comfortable well appointed hotel. We were offered a choice of two rooms, one spacious and sunny with a view of the town, the other a tiny room
on the lower floor of the anex with a small window overlooking a small courtyard. The owner was surprised when we choose the tiny room, but we got just what we needed: cool, quiet, dark room with an extremely comfortable bed. The windows don't have blackout shades, so the smaller window meant less midnight sun and street light, the lower level corner meant no neighbors to make noise. Lovely little gem of a room with a very nice new bath. We enjoyed the brownies and tea in the afternoon, and the breakfast had a fine selection of usual nordic choices: breads, cheeses, meats, veggies, fruit, yoghurt, eggs. Although the hotel was fully booked, there were only two others eating breakfast at the same time as us (8:30am), so navigating the buffet was no problem. The staff were friendly and helpful. We'd stay here again, and we'd be happy to have any of the other rooms if the staff installed blackout shades in all rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c3graces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    164
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
244
69
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff was very nice. However, the noise is deafening. I have been traveling internationally for about 25 years and this hotel is one of loudest places that I have ever stayed. It's just a non-stop assault on the ears. I knew we were in for a rough night when I found a bowl of earplugs in our room.

Room Tip: If you actually want to sleep, choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear guest.

Thank you for takeing the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel
and the staff. We are so sorry that you had a problem with noise. You do not write if it was from outside or inside the hotel. The main building is from 1890, and in a old house you can sometimes hear people in the other rooms. Because of that we have earplugs in the rooms. If you had told us about the problem when you stayed with us we could have changed you to a room in the other building. This building is much more sound proof then the main building, it also have some rooms facing the back yard. Next time you stay in a hotel, please tell the reception if you have any problems with the stay, because then the hotel has a chance to help you.

If you ever come to Bergen again, we will be happy to give you a free room that is as quiet as possible in a city.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was a nice hotel in Bergen. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good although the area was cramped if there were lots of people trying to have breakfast at the same time. Tea and coffee was available throughout the day and some lovely brownies! The location was good only a 10 min walk from the city centre. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only criticisms I have are that the hotel was very expensive and I would usually expect more for the price, however, Norway in general is expensive. Finally I did not really get a feel for the character of the hotel. Perhaps this was because I was staying in the building across the street. If you have a choice it might be worth looking at rooms in both buildings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Similar experience overall to others - yes, walls so thin I could hear someone snoring but I live in a city so am not too bothered by such things but do be aware in case you are. I found the breakfast decent though limited in selection. Breads and cheeses and homemade preserves were yummy and the seemingly constant stream of homemade brownies along with fantastically friendly and helpful staff will bring me back again. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you get the chance to experience Bergen I would highly recommend a stay at the Hotel Park!
I have stayed here several times over the past years.
The service has been impeccable, with the employees going out of their way to make my stay go smoothly.
Everywhere was super clean and well maintained.
The Wi-fi was fast and reliable.
Great breakfast!!
Free coffee and tea during the day with home baked chocolate chip cookies. A small thing that added to the experience.
The hotels location is walking distance to many attractions and down town.
The only minus about this hotel is that the beds are TOO comfertable. Sheets are white and chrisp and duvets are fluffy and soft. I'll be back!

expat, Singapore

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank odin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had booked to stay at a hotel right in the city centre but heard from a couple I had met in Tromso that downtown could be noisy on weekends and the nightclubs go till late so I decided to change hotels and was so glad I did! This is a real gem of a place that sits about 10min walk from the city centre, just behind the museums/galleries. its a boutique hotel and the design touches/decor create a warm, contemporary but homely feel. Rooms are on the small side but have everything - as a solo traveller I booked a single room but was given a double room when I arrived! Service was great and free internet a bonus. Free tea/coffee and cake/brownies throughout the day was very welcome. Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I returned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melly_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel which we found to be in a slightly removed but okay part of the city. There was a good hike up a fairly steep hill, but we didn't have a lot of luggage, so we found this to be manageable.

The room was small. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good and the staff was accommodating. We would stay here again if in Bergen.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#9 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Bergen

Property: Hotel Park Bergen
Address: Harald Haarfagres gate 35, Bergen 5007, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bergen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#5 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Park Bergen is a family owned hotel, known for its particular personal style and pleasant atmosphere. If you would like to experience something which is different from the large chain hotels then Hotel Park is definitely worth a visit. Hotel Park is a member of the association “Historic Hotels and Restaurants” which consists of nearly 50 of Norway’s most charming hotels and restaurants, each offering its own individual character and distinctive features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Park Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing