We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Park Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Park Bergen
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and were very pleased with this lovely small boutique hotel.
The goal was to stay in a moderate or higher class place with free wi-fi and free breakfast in a clean, quiet room with a comfortable bed for no more than $200US per night.
This place fit the bill perfectly!
I bought the Fjord Pass ($24US) to get the discounted rate and that rate turned out to be right at $200 per night (even after paying for the pass).

Our double room was in the main building on the second floor (which is actually the first floor with rooms).
We asked for a quiet room and got a room at the end of the hall away from the stairs and ice machine so it was quiet. We use ambient noise on our iPhones at night so we did not hear any street noise at all.

The women at reception were always there with a smile and willing to help with any sightseeing suggestions and even looked up schedules for us on the funicular and cable car...spoke English perfectly as well.
They also had a computer in the lobby if you don’t have your own and a printer we used to print out boarding passes.

The room was lovely even if a bit narrow getting to the bed. We did have to move some furniture around a bit to lay out our 2 large suitcases. We did have to live out of them due to lack of storage space. But being here only for 2 nights that was no problem.

The decor was nice and the room was fresh and clean.
There was no AC but not necessary as it was cool even on a beautifully sunny day in July.
You could open the windows to let in a nice breeze and, when closed, the double-panes kept the room quiet.
The bed was very soft and comfortable with plush comforters and pillows.

The bathroom was a bit bizarre as the shower area was the area in front of the sink, so that the floor was wet after your shower while you stood at the sink. Good space saving idea but just a bit unusual. Wish the bathroom would’ve been bigger.

The wifi was fast and free but you needed to get the code from reception each day.

The breakfast was served in a small area, a bit too cramped for as many guests as they accommodate. But the food was good, always quickly replenished and consisted of fruits, breads, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses, boiled eggs and scrambled eggs, juices, teas and coffee.
Every afternoon there was coffee and brownies as well....nice touch!

The location was fine for us as we don’t mind a bit of an uphill walk. It’s really only the last block and a half that is steep...the rest is just a gradual slope.

Tip: If anyone is doing Norway in a Nutshell and uses a porter service to transport your luggage to the Hotel Park (which we did) then you will have no problem walking from the train or bus station to the hotel since you won’t have your bags with you.
Then if you leave Bergen via the train or bus station it will be an easy 10 minute walk all downhill. We did this with our 2 very large rolling suitcases and it was a breeze (and saved expensive taxi fare!)
Another tip: if you are interested in using porter service you can message me for details of the reliable company we used.

Overall, even though this hotel is not in the main city center, I believe that it is a great value for what you get. It is in a lovely, quiet, residential neighborhood and we had a very comfortable stay here.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    164
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
243
69
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here in July twice - one night on our way to the fjords and one night on our way back. First time we were in the old building on the street side. At night there were a lot of folks coming up the hill early early AM hours likely to the park drunk and making a lot of noise. Because it was quite warm we had the windows open while we were sleeping. It was a bit bothersome. Second night we were in the newer addition in a room that did not face the street and it was great,

Staff were friendly and nice, room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok nothing terribly exciting - the usual choices and a good way to start your day. I really think the hotels in Scandanavia need better coffee but I am a bit picky so not likely a concern for most folks. Also the hill is no big deal if you at under 60 and find it difficult I am surprised!

Room Tip: Not on the street side if yo want to sleep with open windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CO_travel_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean View, Delaware, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Trip Advisor advised us that hotels at the wharf could be very noisy. So, we stayed at the Hotel Park, which is a 15-minute walk uphill from the Wharf area. We loved this hotel. Our room was spacious and newly renovated.

The breakfast room was charming and served afternoon tea and brownies. Breakfast was good and had gluten-free choices. They packed us a breakfast to take to the airport, since we had a very early departure.

The staff was pleasant and helpful, with great recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRKOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights to explore the city. The room was in the second building across the road and was very clean and spacious. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and welcoming and were able to suggest some excellent places to visit for authentic Norwegian and Swedish food (Pingvinen and Naboen). The breakfast in the morning had some good variety but would have been easier if things were better labeled. The trek up the hill to the hotel is a bit rough, but the hotel staff were able to suggest better routes to take to avoid the massive hill once you start to know your way around. Overall, a nice place to stay in a beautiful city.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Principessa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Hotel Park has a lot of charm. It is small, historic and well designed. My room was quite modern, but the public spaces were quite unique and stylish.

The location is OK. Take into consideration that it requires a certain walk from the Hotel to the fish market area, and that the Hotel lies on top of a small hill. Nothing serious but be prepared to walk a little, in rainy but lovely Bergen.

Breakfast was very nice, but a bit crowded. Having free coffee, tea, brownies and cookies was a nice gesture, and the staff was very warm and kind, always willing to help.

To sum up, a good experience in an original and charming hotel. Will come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharafek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from two nights in Bergen at the hotel park. I initially booked this through bookings.com but discovered that if I reserved it through the fjord pass system I received a much better rate. The hotel is well located up a rather steep hill - this was the only negative but only a minor one. We found everything to our satisfaction. Beds super comfortable with soft downy comforters. Our room was 115 in the annex which I would recommend. Very quiet and no strong light to keep you awake during the long summer days. Don't expect spacious reception areas - this is a quaint conversation of a listed building, but the best use is made of all of the space. Good value in Norway given that the prices here are about the highest in Europe.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel. It is a very nice, character hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The location is excellent, in the University precinct, not far from the train station. We had a sunny corner room in the main building, with a small balcony overlooking the street. There was a blind and curtains to block out the midnight light so that was not a problem.
We did not notice excessive noise from the street. We could hear people in the next room, but this is a very old building so it is understandable. I used the earplugs provided and slept very well.
The breakfast buffet was small but good, constantly restocked with delicious warm pastries. We also took advantage of the tea, coffee and brownies available during the day and evening.
We loved Bergen and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Bergen

Property: Hotel Park Bergen
Address: Harald Haarfagres gate 35, Bergen 5007, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bergen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#5 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Park Bergen is a family owned hotel, known for its particular personal style and pleasant atmosphere. If you would like to experience something which is different from the large chain hotels then Hotel Park is definitely worth a visit. Hotel Park is a member of the association “Historic Hotels and Restaurants” which consists of nearly 50 of Norway’s most charming hotels and restaurants, each offering its own individual character and distinctive features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Park Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing