We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business trip”
Review of Hotel Park Bergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Park Bergen
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“business trip”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

stayed in this hotel on a business trip without having to pay extortionate airport hotel prices.
Ideal location for a walk around the main town where there are many restaurant bars etc.
Was greeted by a very nice lady who checked us in. As we had an early morning flight, she arranged for a lunch pack we could collect at reception. She was there early anyway, so we grabbed a coffee and light breakfast. Rooms were very clean. My colleague was in a room on the third floor, so with no lift this could be a disadvantage to some folk with luggage.
If I was to travel through Bergen again, I would definitely look to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    165
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
62
251
69
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First, everyone working at this hotel is super. Great service. That said, there are a number of issues. First, the walk to the hotel from the bus stop is not bad. The final 30 meters is steep. But going up and down to the 3rd floor (especially with my bags) was what wore me out. The stairs are extremely steep. It is after all, an old building. But I will seek out a Bergen hotel with an elevator next time.

The room I received was, as expected, sparse. But it was not as nicely furnished as rooms with photos on the webpage or even on this site. The room seemed a lot more worn than other rooms. Granted, it does look a little frumpier after I slept in the bed and opened my bags. But that's how small the rooms are. If you mess up the bed, the room looks "totaled".

Worse though was the bathroom. The lighting was awful. There were lights, just never light in the right spot. It was difficult to get any light in front of the mirror to shave. Maybe this is simply our LED future. As can be seen in my photo, the bathroom is so tiny that any water from the shower ends up in on the floor everywhere in the room. So once you shower, you cannot stand in the bathroom without getting your feet wet.

Breakfast is more than adequate. I especially recommend the fresh rye breads you slice yourself.

I was there during the week in summer and I did not experience noise issues. In fact, due to the heat I needed to sleep with the windows open. There was some road noise but not a lot. I paid 990 Kr. a night. I think next time I will investigate a newer hotel downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HBSponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reime, Manager at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest .
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not
like your stay in our hotel. It would have helped if you had told us during your stay
that you had problems with the stairs, then we could have given you a room on a lower floor.

In the summer time we have to give our guests singel rooms if you book this , but in the
winter time we give all our guests double room for singel use if possible. We have never had complains about the light in the bathrooms before , but I will look into it an se if there is something
we can do.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs
with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Helpful staff, had tea and coffee all day long in their small breakfast area, this was included in the price. The breakfast was good but nothing outstanding.
Has narrow stairs and may be difficult to folks with diminished physical abilities.
The place was impeccable clean , will be back if we return to Bergen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Tito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reime, Manager at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear guest :-)

Thank you so much for the good review . We are so happy to read that you will stay with us
if you return to Bergen again.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs
with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This 19th century mansion is a pleasant change from the usual plain and boxy hotels. Decorated with antiques, it has an air of elegance and history. However, the average-size room is contemporary in style. Noise seems to be an issue, hence the ear plugs which are included in the bathroom amenities. We had a room facing the road at the front of the hotel, from where we could hear people chatting and laughingly loudly into late evening. However, it was the weekend so it might not be so noisy during the week.

Complimentary coffee, tea (many varieties) and delicious brownies are available in the cosy dining room which however, does not serve dinner. Breakfast was satisfactory.

From the hotel, it was an enjoyable thirty-minute stroll downhill through historical buildings, ending up at the famous Bryggen old wharf area which was teeming with numerous eateries.

As it was the weekend, parking was free outside the hotel.

Submitted by
See Toh Chue Peng/Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/United Kingdom

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seetohchuepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reime, Manager at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear gust :-)

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a good feedback. It means a lot for me
and my staff .

Welcome back to us another time.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs
with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a charming little hotel. The room are beautiful and comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. Breakfast was very rich. It's a few minutes walk from the center of the city. They have free wifi. Defiantly would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Got the largest suite by luck and really enjoyed the accommodations. A few minutes from the train and bus station. Easy to get to airport bus. About a 10 min walk from the WHARF through main shopping area.

Free tea, coffee and brownies outside of breakfast hours is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reime, Manager at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for the good review . We are always very happy when the guests have a nice
time with us ! :-)

Welcome back another time.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs
with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

In theory a pleasant hotel, and indeed some of the rooms are nice, the atmosphere is good (as it should be in a hotel connected to the chain Historic hotels in Norway), staff are helpful and breakfast is fine. However, some of the rooms face the street, and sleeping can become difficult, especially on a Friday or Saturday night. In particular I would avoid room 211 and 111 in the building across the street. They have windows to two streets. When bringing up the lack of sleep the day after, front desk did not offer anything except an apology. That´s not good enough when the price is almost 2000 NOK for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reime, Manager at Hotel Park Bergen, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

The weekend you stayed with us was the first weekend that the students is back
afther the summer holiday. We have the same problem every year that is a lot of parties
all over the city. I am afraid is nothing we can do with that. We was also fully booked and since you did not tell us before check out it was difficult to do anything.

Best regards
Anne Margrethe Klohs with staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#7 of 46 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Park Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Bergen

Property: Hotel Park Bergen
Address: Harald Haarfagres gate 35, Bergen 5007, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bergen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bergen
#5 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Park Bergen 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Park Bergen is a family owned hotel, known for its particular personal style and pleasant atmosphere. If you would like to experience something which is different from the large chain hotels then Hotel Park is definitely worth a visit. Hotel Park is a member of the association “Historic Hotels and Restaurants” which consists of nearly 50 of Norway’s most charming hotels and restaurants, each offering its own individual character and distinctive features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Park Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing