We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational and enjoyable”

KODE Art Museums of Bergen
Ranked #7 of 129 things to do in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: KODE is one of Scandinavia's largest museums for art and music. It has a unique combination of art museums and composers' homes, of visual art, historical objects, concerts and parklands. KODE stewards almost 50,000 objects that can be experienced in four museum buildings in Bergen city centre, KODE 1-4, and in the homes of the composers Ole Bull, Harald Saeverud and Edvard Grieg. Welcome to KODE!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational and enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The KODE Museums are worth a visit for the interesting collections. If you like museums that are small to moderate size and varied as we do you will definitely enjoy the experience. We loved the silver and gold displays as well as an installation by a Finnish photographer. We spent the day going to all four buildings stopping for a coffee in the in the gardens. A great day out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    163
    48
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton Under Edge
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Very Fine Viewing”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went to Kode 1 to 4 and enjoyed them all in their diversity. Shame part of it was closed but I believe it re-opened the day we left. Certainly worth a visit it to catch the wider look a Munch range.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandJWottonunderEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Limited things open and very little to see”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We went to all the available art museums with the Bergen card. Many of the museums had exhibits closed or in transition. Those that did, there was little to see. It's possible they are getting prepared for the summer season. I would have been more upset had I paid out of pocket to see, but less of an issue when we used the Bergen card. We simply left early and went to the next museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dafos27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“typical art museum”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

the art museums are the same world over. good if you like art. good selection of works for all tastes. well set out and not too big to overdose on it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bertrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsmore, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Outstanding Silver Collection at Kode 1”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This Museum is now Kode 1 and has an outstanding collection of Silver. It was closed on the day we were in Bergen. However, the staff kindly opened the Silver Room just for us! The silver dates from the middle ages until the present day and is a wonderful collection of the silversmiths' art from spoons, to giant tankards and crowns. The silver is displayed in horizontal cabinets but items are sometimes numbered left to right, which is confusing as the cabinets are numbered in a clockwise direction. Some of the items in the lower cabinets are a little difficult to see. There is a comprehensive film showing outstanding items in the collection. This collection is a part of the Kode 1,2,3,4 museums all in one street and it is about £10 for entrance to all four. If you like silver, this is the place to go. It also has a very pleasant cafe which overlooks the gardens at the front.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KODE Art Museums of Bergen also viewed

 

Been to KODE Art Museums of Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing