We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel”
Review of Bergen YMCA Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bergen YMCA Hostel
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was the first hostel I've ever stayed in, but I was quite impressed!

I stayed for one night in a room of 16 people. The hostel is located right in the centre of Bergen - turn the corner and you're basically in the main port/marketplace area!

It was clean and the staff were friendly. You make your own bed (of course) and the sheets were really pristine. The whole hostel is kept very clean - including shower, toilet areas etc.
There is a really nice lounge and kitchen area - I got breakfast in the morning which was pretty extensive (cereals, tea, coffee, meats, bread) for the price. I was there for such a short time I didn't use the kitchen. You get given a keycard which you need to access all the rooms, including your own dorm. Lockers are in the lobby, you have to pay a refundable deposit of 200kroner or leave your passport/driving licence at reception to use one.

Naturally it's a busy place so be prepared for a hustle and bustle of people always coming and going!
It does look at touch shabby in places ... but then it *is* a hostel, not a hotel. It's extremely clean throughout.

I'd recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmytraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staff were vey helpful sorting our early morning bus to the airport for us. Good common room with wifi access. Kitchen is very well equipped and large fridge, although someone did steal a beer from our labelled grocery bag. Rooftop terrace where we ate our dinner. Comfy rooms and clean, safe with key card access. Well recommended hostel as was a good mix of nationalities staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NicholaKelly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here four times in 2014 so far, each time I've had few problems. Staff are helpful, facilities are quite clean, nice bright social room. Only complaint is the size of the kitchen, during the evenings it's often impossible to find any space to make a meal until everyone has cleared out. Great 4th floor terrace though!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Tell_Ya_Hwhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hostel is located in the heart of the city and everything is surrounding you specially the fish market which has a delicious Salamon... waw. it has people from variety of countries who i set with and talk in the TV room and exchange ideas and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AL-Aidaroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hostel has some facilities such as kitchen and wi-fi (although it wasn't working properly when I tried to connect it). The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and tidy. But the best feature of this place is the location: right in the center of the town and close to the main attractions of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anselmo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The rooms were fairly clean, the bed sheets had dried blood on them though. The location is fantastic but the 4 bed dorm I stayed in was incredibly cramped. I'd probably stay here again but only because theres no better options

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was a very suprising and disappointing experience. The hostel might be in an amazing spot but it does not make up for the low quality of everything else. I am an experienced traveller and have stayed at plenty of hostels all over the world - this was one of the worst ones: for the 12 bed(mixed) dorm, the showers are in the basement, they are tiny, they seem to keep od furniture there, hair all Over the floor, simply disgusting. The two large dorm rooms are next to each other and not seperated by a wall but by something like a wooden curtain, you can hear everybody snoring and talking on the otherside asweel as in your room so you might aswell sleep in a 24 bed dorm. The kitchen is tiny, none of the computers in the common area worked and the staff is at times a bit moody. Not at all recommended. You might save a few kronas, but it will cost you the quality of your stay in bergen. Go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Citybox Bergen
#22 of 49 in Bergen
63 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basic Hotel Bergen
#31 of 49 in Bergen
413 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
724 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#20 of 49 in Bergen
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen YMCA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen YMCA Hostel

Address: Nedre Korskirkeallmenningen 4, Bergen 5017, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Price Range: £18 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen YMCA Hostel has a superb location in the city center, minutes from the main attractions! The rooms are bright and spacious, with en-suite facilities and kitchenettes. We offer single, double, 4 and 6 bedded rooms. Budget dorms are available during summer. Other facilities: Internet Cafe, WiFi, TV lounge and common rooms, guest kitchen and a roof terrace with incredible views over the harbour! We are open all year. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bergen YMCA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bergen Ymca Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing