We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprised to the better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bergen Travel Hotel
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“surprised to the better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

we were warmly welcomed. We had a big room, bigger than many of the others. The beds were good and we had a nice sleep. There was some noise from the street, but it did not disturb at all. Close to the airport bus. I forgot a book which they sent me the same day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
9
30
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I read the reviews after booking and I was REALLY nervous to arrive. I was already looking up some other places. Silly me. We traveled through Norway for two weeks and this has been my favorite hotel. The rooms must've been recently renovated - they're well outfitted and modern! The bed was incredibly comfortable, again, better than the others I had slept on. The bathroom was clean. It's a little small, true, but jeez, this is in the middle of a European city!

To address concerns about the noise, my future-in-laws stayed at the front of the hotel and they didn't have problems with the pub. We stayed at the back and the noise was also not a problem. If you're really noise sensitive, the center of town probably isn't the best place for you - you'll always be surrounded by cars, people, and restaurants. Also, bring earplugs!

A few other points: The breakfast was great! Hot and cold food and a good selection. The location of the hotel was also amazing, just 10 minutes from the fish market, maybe 12 from the furnicular, and near tons of amazing restaurants.

My summary: I would stay here again and I recommend that you do too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

First night was in a large room with kitchen at the front of the hotel. Didn't get any sleep because of loud pub next door. The curtains didn't fit the windows and as it's summer, doesn't get dark. We asked for a different room and were moved to a much smaller room but it was at least quiet.
I know it was cheap for Norway, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very small room, adequate bathroom. NOTHING is "affordable in Bergen but this comes close. Not central but Bergen is walkable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PJMJLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed here for one night during a music festival. The hotel was undergoing renovation, but the front desk was very helpful and the rooms were clean and basic. Quiet night, and good location, and reasonable price. I would recommend the hotel to people passing through and looking for a hotel in a decent location for a reasonable price. The breakfast was very basic (still good, just not a huge selection) compared to other hotels we stayed at while in Norway.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s002axb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed here in June 2008 for 2 nights, a last minute booking whilst backpacking around Norway. Was given the apartment for reasonable price as no rooms at the main hotel. The apartments were across the road from the main hotel and so we had to walk back over for breakfast. The apartment was very spacious and fairly modern but the cutlery was dirty and the kitchen was unclean. I complained about this but they did not bother to clean it. Location was central but quite noisy, with a couple of late bars nearby. Breakfast was good with a wide range of choice. I probably wouldnt stay here again but i guess its not all that bad overall.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doncha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Having arrived at the hotel we headed for reception and were greeted with a smile, our smiles however soon sunk when we were informed that they had double booked our room and we instead had been placed in the apartment in the next building. As we lugged our bags outside and up the stairs we were dreading what we were about to discover, only to be COMPLETELY amazed at what we had been given (at no extra charge!). A two level 3 bedroom airy fully modern apartment which could have accommodated a family of 5+, with a balcony view across Bergen and looking out to the stunning Mount Floyen. It took us many hours to get over the shock.

The open-plan spotless apartment had a kitchen with all you could need, wooden floors throughout, wardrobes in the hall leading to the other 2 bedrooms, one of which was up the stairs on the next level. Also there was a 32inch wall mounted LCD television and the living area seating was more than comfortable.

The breakfast was ideal, self service, a good choice of cereals, fruits, drinks etc, also a nice space outside to sit in the sun.

We realise that this was a one off and most likely never will happen to anyone else but there's no question - this 'mistake' by the hotel made our first holiday together so very special and certainly if we were to return to the Bergen Travel Hotel we would request this apartment again whatever the cost.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewJS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Klosterhagen Hotel
Klosterhagen Hotel
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergen Travel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergen Travel Hotel

Property: Bergen Travel Hotel
Address: Vestre Torggaten 7, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bergen Travel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bergen Travel Hotel offers spacious rooms at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Bergen within easy strolling distance to all the town's attractions, shopping and restaurants. Cosy pub and breakfast room as well as a nice courtyard with tablesserving. Public parking just outside. Spacious rooms, 1 - 4 beds. All rooms en-suiteen suite, with parquet flooring, TV and telephone. A hearty welcome to Bergen Travel Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bergen Travel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing