We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a familiy”
Review of Lone Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lone Camping
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place for a familiy”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the "motell" part of the camping place, it was a decent size livingroom, and kitchen and a small bathroom and two bedrooms. The location was great a 20min drive from all the stuff we wanted to see. A nice playground for the kids, a "zoo" and well a great place to relax when you have kids and for a swim.. my 6 and 8 year old loved it.... we stayed for 6nights and I bet the kids would love to stay 6 more..

its close to a bakery and foodstores so no problems getting the stuff you need..

with that said.. when we came our room was dirty.. I talked to the staff and we fixed things right away.. no problems.. they just said how sorry they were ect.. so no problems what so ever.. I always say everyone can make mistakes its how you fix them that shows your caracter..

so next time we go to bergen I will stay here :) and I bet my kids will be very happy if we do :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We found this campsite after a bit of a let down at the Bergen camping park. Although just off the main road, and behind a petrol station, it is situated on the edge of a large lake with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Due to a long day in torrential rain on the road, we had already decided to forget the tents and rent one of the hytte. We were able to view the hytte before renting and opted for the smallest most rudimentary accommodation. This consisted of one room containing four bunk beds, a fridge, a two ring electric hob, table and bench seats and a sink, although no running water. It was clean and supplied with cleaning equipment for use during your stay. Close to the hytte was a tap supplying clean drinking water. The shower/WC facilities were very clean and appeared quite new. Don't be upset at the charge for showers, this is the same throughout Norway, but as value for money goes, Lone is extremely reasonable with the hytte costing us only 350NOK. The staff at the site are both friendly and helpful. As mentioned, at the entrance to the site there is a petrol station, but that has no detrimental effect on the site. In addition to the garage, there are two stores, (one a Rimi, not sure about the other), situated on the main road, one on each side, so plenty of opportunity to stock up on your essentials. Travel into Bergen is easy, we drove to Arna, parked free at the railway station and got the train into and out of Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThoughtsOfNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found this campsite after a bit of a let down at the Bergen camping park. After the terrible conditions we found there, we were elated to find Lone camping. Although just off the main road, and behind a petrol station, it is situated on the edge of a large lake with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. Due to a long day in torrential rain on the road, we had already decided to forget the tents and rent one of the hytte. We were able to view the hytte before renting and opted for the smallest most rudimentary accommodation. This consisted of one room containing four bunk beds, a fridge, a two ring electric hob, table and bench seats and a sink, although no running water. It was clean and supplied with cleaning equipment for use during your stay. Close to the hytte was a tap supplying clean drinking water. The shower/WC facilities were very clean and appeared quite new. Don't be upset at the charge for showers, this is the same throughout Norway, but as value for money goes, Lone is extremely reasonable with the hytte costing us only 350NOK. The staff at the site are both friendly and helpful. As mentioned, at the entrance to the site there is a petrol station, but that has no detrimental effect on the site. In addition to the garage, there are two stores, (one a Rimi, not sure about the other), situated on the main road, one on each side, so plenty of opportunity to stock up on your essentials. Travel into Bergen is easy, we drove to Arna, parked free at the railway station and got the train into and out of Bergen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We're not used to camp, but if you're doing a roundtrip in Norway and your budget is restricted, you might not get away without booking a cabin on a camping. We didn't book anything in advance, so we browsed the internet for a hotel room in Bergen the day before arrival. We were a little late, so we looked after cabin on a camping and found Lone Camping, only 19km away from Bergen. The cabin was clean, not too expensive. The staff was very kind and helpful. The sanitary facilities (no running water in the cabins) were clean. There are no doubleromms, you have to sleep in bunk beds. The ambiance in this kind of place is quite nice and you could get used to it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 46 in Bergen
1,186 reviews
Citybox Bergen
#25 of 46 in Bergen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Camping

Property: Lone Camping
Address: Hardangervegen 697, Bergen 5268, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Bergen
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel rooms, cabins (with and without shower) - 2-6 beds in each cabin, places for tents, camping wagons and campers. Lone Camping is just beside road no. 580, 19 km from the center of Bergen. With an area of 13 acres and space for almost 300 tents, it is Bergen's largest campsite. The idyllic location beside Lake Haukeland, with the shapely Liafjellet rising to 650 meters in the background, makes Lone Camping just the thing for people wanting the peace and quiet of the countryside ­ but at the same time wanting the attractions, shops and culture of Bergen within easy reach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing