We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it,”
Review of 1877

1877
Ranked #2 of 428 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$72 - US$88
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant 1877 opened in january 2013. We are located at Kjottbasaren, a historical building in the heart of Bergen. Our menu follows the season so that we can use the best raw materials, that are available. We put a lot of focus on the local producers in the area, and to the norwegian traditions around cooking. We serve shellfish, fish, meat, cheese, and dessert. From there you can choose if you would like to have a full evening with the 5 courses, or would prefer a half evening with 3 courses that you choose from the menu. 3 Course dinner - 595 5 course dinner - 725,- Winepackage is 435 for 3 course dinner, and 725 for 5 course dinner
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Has the 5 course set menu, All was beautifully served with interesting presentation @nd flavours. Of course it is Norway so not cheap but we thought it was worth every penny!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina1877, Daglig leder at 1877, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We appreciate your kind feedback and we are pleased to read that you certainly enjoyed your meal. Welcome back if visiting Bergen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

This was our first time at restaurant 1877 and it was fantastic! We had the five course menu and each course was delicious, creative and made with locally sourced food. The staff's enthusiasm and knowledge about all the dishes was brilliant and the restaurant is in a lovely setting. I never normally write reviews, but made an exception for this restaurant - we would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Bergen!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rgubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina1877, Daglig leder at 1877, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We appreciate your kind review and we are pleased to read that you certainly enjoyed your evening. Welcome back if visiting Bergen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

My third time in 1877 and again lucky, could it be otherwise? The food is delicious, the concept of "food with love" makes every visit an experience in itself and a delight for the senses. The service is excellent and the combination of everything makes this restaurant a must if you love good food while staying in Bergen. Prices high but this is Norway and quality comes at a price. If I can return to Bergen in March they can count on my booking again. Tusen takk!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina1877, Daglig leder at 1877, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We appreciate your kind feedback and we are pleased to read that you certainly enjoyed your meal. Welcome back when visiting Bergen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Yes, it is expensive, but it's so worth it. Not only because it's a unique taste and use of Norwegian ingredients, but because it's so creative, so! tasty and with the wine pairing and excellent service - you feel like you're in a well-written, well-directed movie about how glorious Norway really is. It's not just food. It's an experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lusepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina1877, Daglig leder at 1877, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We really appreciate your great feedback and we are pleased to read that you certainly enjoyed your evening. Welcome back if visiting Bergen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I had the five course tasting menu and it was one if the best meals I've ever had. I live in NYC so I have been to many top restaurants, but there was something special and unique about 1877. Each course was met with the chef giving a detailed description of how it was prepared and where the ingredients came from (mostly local). All courses were excellent, especially the fish and potatoes (which are important to Norwegians I learned). Highly recommended!

1  Thank CaliOdoacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina1877, Daglig leder at 1877, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We appreciate your kind review and we are pleased to read that you certainly enjoyed your evening. Welcome back if visiting Bergen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1877 also viewed

 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to 1877? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing