We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and comfortable place to relax”
Review of Krok og Krinkel Bokcafe - CLOSED

Krok og Krinkel Bokcafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable place to relax”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This café is gorgeous! Old mismatched furniture and funky decorations, a huge wall of books and a piano are what you will find inside. It is almost like being at your Grandma's house, if only she was a little funkier.

The food was delicious and fresh. I chose to have the open sandwich (75 kroner) with chorizo and salad and my boyfriend went for the steak and blue cheese option. We finished with cinnamon rolls and hot chocolates (made from real chocolate!).

The only thing that I wasn't too happy with was the attitude of the waiter. He seemed a bit uninterested and not too welcoming. Nevertheless, we had a lovely time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank slouise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    51
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Space”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain, and found this place as we walked back down (near the end of the walk and about five minutes from the main fish market). Very cute inside - lots of mismatched furniture
and a very homey feel. People were playing dominoes and there were books that people could spend time reading. The coffee was great and the apple pie was good - not too sweet. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scho31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cake cake cake”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

First of all, this cafe is so adorable. There are games if you're a little bored and loads of books to read. They also sell little knick knacks. We popped into this cafe off a whim on one of our walks and saw their homemade cakes sitting on the bar. They looked so damn good we thought we'd grab one each. They were that good that the next day we went back and got some more. Seriously delish! The young man who makes the cakes gets up early in the morning and then heads off to uni. Not bad for a days job. The young fellow who served us, his english wasn't excellent but it was good enough to have a nice little chat.
Would have liked to sit down and enjoy the ambience because it has a very homey feel to it. Really felt like you were entering a friends home for tea. Worth a stop over!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HibouBibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

If you have made the hike up the mountain and down, you will have earned a lovely cake with a thick gooey glaze; if you haven't hiked, have a cake anyway and exercise it off later.

Home made in a lovely setting with nice coffee (or mocha), this is a perfect place for an afternoon happiness.

Helpful?
Thank Tammam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Chili con not so carne,”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Try the Chili con carne vegetarian style. Super location, with a nice atmosphere . Buy a book and relaxe with good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Krok og Krinkel Bokcafe also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing