We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing how much space is inside!”

Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.64*
and up
Bergen Card
Ranked #17 of 138 things to do in Bergen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Close to Hakon's Hall you will find the Rosenkrantz Tower, which is considered one of the most important renaissance monuments in Norway. Parts of the tower are from the 1270s, but it has been extended on several occasions for the purpose of fortification and as a demonstration of power to the independent-minded Hanseatic traders. If you climb up the narrow and dark flights of stairs you can climb right up on to the roof, which still provides impressive views. The tower was built in the 1560s by the governor of Bergen Castle (Bergenhus), Erik Rosenkrantz, and served as a combined residence and fortifi ed tower. Earlier structures - King Magnus the Lawmender's keep from about 1260 and Jorgen Hansson's defence from about 1520, were incorporated in the tower. 1.6.-15.9.: Café. Off season the Tower is only open on Sundays. During the season the Tower is open every day.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing how much space is inside!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I was suprised at how much room was in this tower! Outside it doesn't look that big, but once inside there is lots to explore. A nice view up top, with an interesting little history museum on the top floor mkes this tower worth a visit.

FYI the stairs on the upper floors are quite steep for those who this might be a challenge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brizzy4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    178
    90
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Room With A View”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a lovely place to visit, with wonderful views over Bergen from the Ramparts outside. The tower itself was an interesting building, with several rppms to investigate, and lots of winding stairs. The guides were really helpful and interesting to listen to. Voucher obtained to have free cup of tea or coffee in adjoinign cafe , where it was peace and tranquility.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank funtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool prison”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stumbled upon this after the hall. The tower is pretty cool. You follow the little red arrows around the place and you get told about the history of the building. Up at the very top you get to go out onto the roof and have a lovely view of the city and harbour. Don't step out if you're afraid of heights though. Up in the room under the ceiling is a pretty cool museum about the legal history of the city and the building.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HibouBibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very old and interesting”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One large hall was built in the 12th century so was of great interest, and it is an impressive fort, well worth the visit. Nice view of the harbour - some old sailing ships sailed in while we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Docbebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A surprise positive”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

In truth, we decided to see the Rosenkrantz Tower just to get out of the rain. We spent FAR more time there than we planned and that is a positive comment. The Tower has a long history, has some really interesting historical exhibits, with descriptions in both Norwegian and English. Our "30 minutes to be out of the rain" plan turned into two hours.

Cost ... moderate ... with breaks available in combination with other nearby sites and with a "free cup of coffee" included in the price of admission.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen also viewed

 

Been to Rosenkrantz Tower - Bymuseet i Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing