We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Fish Market
from US$43.79
More Info
from US$96.81
More Info
from US$42.14
More Info
Reviews (5,984)
Filter reviews
5,984 results
Traveller rating
1,873
2,013
1,303
516
279
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,873
2,013
1,303
516
279
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood fresh fish salmon king crab whale meat prawns crab legs caviar stalls selling sausage for sale take away miso soup on display walk around cruise ship vendors
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 5,984 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2019

We visited here in late September and the market was very small and very expensive. I don't know if it was just because of the time of year? But, it was nothing like we thought it would be after reading the reviews. You can find cheaper good seafood and local munchies at other locals and restaurants.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank msmsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

It is a great place but was disappointed due to the high expectation we had. We expected it to be a massive food hall, but found out that it was a small little place:)

I am sure the food is good.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Themd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

We found the Bergen Fish Market a bit touristy and pricey. Then again, it's a tourist spot in a tourist town so that's what you expect.

There were local treats to purchase (gifts) along with snacks to eat.

I doubt we spent more than five minutes walking through the Fish Market. Not that there was anything wrong with the market. We would rather spend time walking about seeing other kinds of things.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank smenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

A visit to the Fish Market restaurant turned into major annoyance in discovering that whale meat was on offer. This is a disgusting revelation since Norway widely and publicly champions itself to be seriously environmentally friendly and vigorously protecting the planet by preventing pollution.
So this was seen as a sad contradiction of their commitment, which I can assure you is practised widely especially on the high seas. The Hurtigruten Cruises are jealously proud of their efforts to protect the nature existing around their expeditions. They should be celebrated and congratulated.
So, this bold sale of whale meat here in Bergen must must be widely criticized..... shame on the Fish Market restaurant!!!!
They must sanctioned by us all.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank rototank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Shocking disgusting At the end of our holiday we go to the fish market for sea food and see whale burgers and steak Our whole holiday we have been told how Norway is trying to protect its seas and environments and underneath their tourist office in the middle of town this is happening Shame on you for serving this on your menu You are expensive and your wine was terrible and then to serve whale on your menu I am beyond words I will be sending a further e mail to the fisheries minister

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank JennyL5178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews