We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent room a 20 minute walk from town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandviken Brygge Hotel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A decent room a 20 minute walk from town”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived in Bergen without any lodging arranged. We checked with the tourist office and they presented a few expensive options (well...everything is expensive, so it's all relative). Sandviken Brygge had one of the slightly better rates but was on the edge of town. We opted to try them out - we called ahead and they were very pleasant on the phone saying that they had a double room available.

We opted to walk out to the hotel - about 20 minutes from the main quay; it's a pleasant walk if you stick to the neighborhood route (rather than following the busier main street). Our double room was small (but not too cramped) and still had Thon signage and Best Western signage (I believe it was recently taken over by Best Western?). The TV was tiny, but we never turned it on so it wasn't an issue. The bed and linens were comfortable. It was a true double bed, which sort of surprised us (as opposed to the seemingly standard Norwegian double which was two twin beds pushed together); but workable.

Our only complaint was that the toilet was WAY too close to the counter in the bathroom. I mean....you kind of had to wedge yourself onto the seat. A tad awkward and, if you're on the heavier side, may actually pose some logistical problems. We were okay with it (we've seen stranger toilet placements) but it was odd.

A few buses ran by regularly, so you could easily grab a bus into town (for about $5 USD at least in 9/2011) but the walk was pleasant enough. The hotel was in a quiet location and right next to a grocery store. Breakfast was included and a standard Norwegian spread of meats, cheese, cereals, eggs, bread, and pickled things.

If this were a lower priced hotel, I'd recommend it whole heartedly. It was, however, rather pricey (but it seemed to us that everything in Norway was) hence the rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    65
    23
    7
See reviews for
27
42
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

No air conditioning. The television had only a few channels. Room was small and cramped. They did have a nice breakfast buffet, and a round-the-clock expresso machine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you do go, these are the buses that will take you the 2 km from Bergen: 9, 20, 23, 24, 26, 50, 71,80, 90

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricket2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToneHS, Booking/Frontdesk Manager at Sandviken Brygge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2009
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that your stay here did not meet with your expectations. Air conditions is really not that common in Norway, therefore we have not prioritized this at our hotel. But still the windows can be fully opened.
We have 8 free tv channels and 6 paytv channels.
About the size of our rooms, there is a big varaity. We have standard twin/queen room, upgraded doublerooms and some familyrooms, I belive you had a standard twin/queenroom. I don`t know if you told us about your dissapointment, but we always try to upgrade our guests to bigger rooms if available. If you tell us straight away, we should be able to help almost every time....
Regarding the busses, there are still many more to take, so lets say it in a easy way, you can take all busses, exept for number 5, 6 and express-busses.

We appreciate that you took your time to write a rewiev of our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bergen hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

We waited until the last minute and couldn't get in anywhere else for our last night in bergen. The hotel is pretty funky and modern but the room was really small. And it was quite far from the center of Bergen - although a bus does run out there. But back to the room - the shower was open - only a curtain separating it from the rest of the tiny bathroom so water got everywhere - and our drain was clogged so the water took 15 minutes to go down and leaked a bit into the bedroom area. Annoying. It was clean and breakfast was good. But if possible, stay closer to town - we much preferred the First Marin.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank KrisNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToneHS, Booking/Frontdesk Manager at Sandviken Brygge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank for your feedback.
There has been some changes since 2006, all bathroom does now have new shower doors in glass, all the drains have been fixed, so this is not longer a problem.
The hotel is situated 2 km from the city center. It will take 20 minutes to walk, or 5 minutes by bus. There are many busses passing the hotel, and you can take every bus exept for bus number 5,6 and express busses.

Thank you for giving our hotel a rewiev, and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2006

Just returned from a trip to Norway.
Arrived in Bergen at 29.06. by plane and booked the Sandviken Brygge by a local
operator for as low as 625.-- NOK B&B, a real good fare.
The hotel is located in a former industrial area, now rebuilt with new appartments, the most negative thing, a large and noisy building site nearby. Quiet at night.
A bus stop is about 100 meters from the hotel, high frequency, no long time to wait there,
most important is that the bus stop is named in the Gaiatrafikk.no system as Munkebotten but when I will wait till Munkebotten I was never arrived till now.
On the station timetables it is called Sandviken Torget, no station announcement in the bus.
The hotel and the room itself is modern designed, positive, I like it.
The staff was real friendly, at check-in and during the day, also positive.
When I think about that the hotel was only opened around one year ago, in my opinion the room was not in the best conditions, clean ok, but with scratches, I cant close the window and mentioned it late, only shower and a curtain, that means you flood the bathroom when you take a shower.
Breakfast was available from 7.00 am, I leave for the train to Oslo at 06.00 am so no comment to breakfast, I had a muffin and a water, ok for me so early in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2005

The hotel is brand new in an ultra modern style. We got a room that was tiny with semi-transparent shades, so it was light in the morning. The room was so small that there was no room for a bedside table. But the lighting was really good! We complained and got a much larger room the next night. It had a big bathroom and dark curtains, but the lighting was poor. The room had a sitting area with a couch, but it was dark at night.

The big problem (July 2005) was construction next door. They are building a high-rise building, and it was really loud starting at 7 a.m., even on the far side of the hotel. There was also a strange foghorn sound at night from outside.

The free breakfasts were good, and the menu for dinner was quite eclectic and reasonably priced.

The hotel is a good 20-30 minute walk to the tourist area (about 2 km), but they do offer free parking.

Helpful?
9 Thank HaroldP302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToneHS, Booking/Frontdesk Manager at Sandviken Brygge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2009
Dear Guest,
Even though it is a long time since you stayed here I would still like to give you a respond.

There has been some changes since 2005: *All the curtains are new and does not let the sunlight in to the room.
*All the bathrooms have got new showers and glass shower doors.
*There are not any contructionwork in the area
*The lightning in all rooms have been upgraded.

Thank you for giving a rewiev of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#27 of 46 in Bergen
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Orion
Thon Hotel Orion
#18 of 46 in Bergen
109 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#23 of 46 in Bergen
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandviken Brygge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandviken Brygge Hotel

Property: Sandviken Brygge Hotel
Address: Sandviksveien 94, Bergen 5035, Norway (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sandviken Brygge Hotel)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandviken Brygge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in natural surroundings by the Sandviksfjellet Mountain, the BEST WESTERN Sandviken Brygge Hotel is overlooking Sandviken Harbour. All guest rooms at the BEST WESTERN Sandviken Brygge Hotel have a work desk, a tea and coffee maker with supplies and a flat screen television with satellite channels. Some guest rooms offer mountain views. Breakfast is included in the rate and is served in the breakfast restaurant every morning. A bus stop with connections to central Bergen is 50 meters away from the hotel. The Floibanen is 2.5 kilometers away, and the challenging Stolzekleiven Hiking Trial is also nearby. The BEST WESTERN Sandviken Brygge Hotel is suitable for business travelers as well as for the leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandviken Brygge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing