We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and luxurious”
Review of Scandic Ornen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Ornen
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Modern and luxurious”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a brand new hotel: I was the first person ever to sleep in my room (there were some stickers left over from last week's installation of the bath room :-)). I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 because I had to pay a surcharge for my early check-in, even though no one had ever slept in the room before me...
Room had a nice, modern design where almost everything was mad of natural quality materials. Great bed also. My minibar was empty but I'm sure that has been repaired ever since. Just a few minutes walk from Bergen's city centre,
All in all great place to stay, only down side (as usual in Norway): it's quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Taqqie!
Thank you very much for giving us your kind review of our brand new hotel! We are very pleased that you liked the hotel, and that your stay was to your satisfaction!
May and June are months in very high demand in Bergen, and prices fluctuate accordingly. My recommendation is that you book your room as early as possible to obtain the best possible prices.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at Scandic Ørnen for your next visit in Bergen!

Kind regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    472
    196
    60
    26
See reviews for
209
441
74
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Brand new nice hotel. Staff was friendly, rooms clean. Interior of room maybe a bit too black. Location: next to main train station's big parking garage, but not right next to Grieghallen as reception claimed. Hotel with more central city location would have been a better choice. TV remote control was missing and didn't get a replacement because they had run out! Paid extra to stay in a bigger Superior Room. No idea how tiny the normal rooms are, but the Superior Room was the smallest and poorest value-for-money ever. Incredible they get away with charging so much for so little.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear N0i!
Thank you very much for taking the time writing this review of our hotel.
I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations entirely. Please ask us for a bigger room at your next visit. We have been quite fully booked during May and June, but will hopefully be able to meet your request for a larger room in a periode that is not so busy!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Scandic is brand new and a short walk from Bergen centre. The inside is impressive and very appealing. With a bit of work, it would be really lovely.

The first room we were given hadn't been cleaned, so we were offered another. It wasn't too big but everything worked and there were no real complaints other than that the air-con didn't appear to do much. It certainly didn't cool the room. We opened the window, which helped somewhat, although it is noisy.

The lifts can be a bit of an issue. A large tour group arrived as we were trying to get to our room, with long lines through reception. Take the stairs, yes? Except they aren't well signposted and, well, it can be a bit weird. On the stairs closest to reception, if you come out on floor two for the restaurant, you end up in the staff's break room. There's a second door into the restaurant, but that was locked. It can be quite the maze at times.

The gym has some excellent up-to-date equipment, but is quite small and there are no towels. The rooftop terrace is worth a visit and is complete with umbrellas just in case.

In all, it is pretty good. I hope they tidy up the rough edges.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear K W!
I would like to thank you for taking the time giving us your very kind review of our brand new hotel! We are pleased that you liked it, and recognise that we still have som details to sort out. Regarding the elevators, we unfortunately had to have som alterations done on one of the four elevators, and did experience that this was unfortunate during check in and check out times. This is fortunately now taken care of. Signs in stairs have also been made easier. We do hope to see you back with us at some other time!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Brand new hotel. .The housekeeping staff has no idea what to do! I was moved to an upgraded room due to the television not working. When I went to rest.on the bed the pillow smelled of a woman's perfume. Upon closer inspection , the bedding had not been changed from previous guest. In addition, the restroom was not cleaned properly..used contacts on the counter. You must request your bedding to be freshened and complimentary e's to be refilled. The room I am occupying is the featured room on the scandic website but has one big drawback...it is directly under the hotel bar! These rooms are going for approximately 250.00 to 350.00 a night. You cannot lay in bed in this high end room and watch tv because the tv is not set high enough to clear the view of your feet under the bedding. Lots of improvements needed..No laundry facilities is a big drawback also.front desk staff very helpful and friendly. Buffet breakfast comes along with the room cost and is.pretty decent. The staff and.cooks are also friendly and.helpful. I checked in mid May and will check out early July.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr Eric!
Thank you for taking the time giving us your feedback! I am truly sorry about the unfortunate experience with being checked into a room that had not beed cleaned. Due to some start-up challenges in our systems, this problem has occured a couple of times, but is now sorted out. From your review it looks like you will be staying with us for some time yet, and I hope you will contact me through front desk if there are other issues you would like to adress regaring your stay. We do offer laundry service, and this can also be arranged by front desk if you would like to use this service.

Kind regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Firstly Bergen itself is stunnng .. The other hotels are somewhat older .. This new hotel is absolutely lovely . What tops it off .. The people couln't be nicer if they tried, the 13 floor restaurant has the best view in the city..the superior plus room was worth the little extra. I will definately be back and will recommend others...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Tripadvisorer!
Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback! Secondly - thank you so much for the very kind review you have given! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Bergen and in our hotel, and very proud to notice that the staff and the service is what you enjoyed the most.
We look forward to seeing you back very soon!

Kind regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The cool thing in this newest hotel in Bergen was to place the key card in the slot inside the door and have a beautiful giant owl light up on the wall behind the beds! The unusual thing was having gray-colored walls, making for a somewhat dark room. There were a few mod lamps in the room as well.

The bathroom had a shower that was the type you didn't have to "step" into (The tile was even with the rest of the floor.), and helpful for not stubbing the toes.

It would be worth the trip to the top floor (the bar) to see out -- use the elevator furthest to the left, facing the elevators, to get this to work. Oh, and don't forget to use your key card in the elevator.

Breakfast had all the variety you'd ever want. The hotel receptionists were very helpful and agreed to keep our luggage in the luggage room, when we had a miscommunication with our tour company.

Our twin was very quiet and we had a window that looked over the multi-story car park.

The location was handy to the train station and the trams; I really enjoyed traveling through the park area nearby with benches all around on the way to the harbor.

I'm not sure of the exact cost for us (a twin for 2 nights) as we booked through a package with Nordic Visitor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear tadudly!
Thank you for your very kind review of our brand new hotel in Bergen! We are so happy that you found everything to your satsifaction!
The view from our top floor restaurant is absolutely worth a visit, and as you point out, the location very convenient!
We hope to see you back with us at some other time!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, India
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a brand new property which was a month old when we stayed . Scandic hotel are was chic and modern

The hotel was couple of minutes walk from main station and the lobby was Modern , checkin was easy . The hotel is very the city centre and many sightseeing location including the Byrggen

The room were so new that we could smell the paint and varnish . The rooms were small so were the bathroom . The room had Picture of Eagle hanging behind the bed which was not pleasant . It was scary to have it in the room when u want peace

The breakfast was ok and they did nt refill a few items as the hotel was new they could nt estimate the guest which was a bad gesture

Overall not a bad choices

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shivapaavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Shivapaavai!
Thank you very much for taking the time giving us your kind review of our brand new hotel!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and can assure you that we work hard to improve all details in service!
We hope to see you back with us at some other time!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 47 in Bergen
613 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#15 of 47 in Bergen
882 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
595 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ornen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ornen

Property: Scandic Ornen
Address: Lars Hilles gate 18, Bergen 5008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Ornen 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Ornen, centrally located in Bergen, close to the city's cultural centre, the Grieg Hall and Bergen Art Museum. Spacious and modern rooms, including accessible rooms. Try our fantastic restaurant Roast and Bergen's only skybar, located on the 13th floor with a fantastic view of the city and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Ornen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing