We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Bergen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Ornen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Ornen
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value in Bergen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was modern and had good blackout curtains, which is helpful with the perpetual light during summer. The breakfast was good and made the hotel an even better deal, given how expensive everything is in Bergen. It's convenient to the train station and an easy walk to the city's sightseeing options. The staff wasn't overly friendly, although they were very polite when I asked if we could change the sheets because of a small stain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AllHolidays!
Thank you for giving us your kind review of our hotel!
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back with us soon!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    427
    179
    51
    23
See reviews for
175
386
66
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location to get to a lot of places in Bergen. For a new hotel, it is a lot of issues that don't seem to be resolved (we faced the same issues that other reviewers had mentioned some time back). To start off, most of the light bulbs in our bathroom were not working. After two complaints, and waiting for three hours, this got rectified. The facilities in the room are rather basic (although it was a spacious room). There are no tea/coffee facilities in rooms, no space to keep luggage, no drawers, no moisturising cream in bathroom, empty minibar and the air conditioning didn't work. The one big positive was that the bed was comfortable.

Next morning, breakfast was pretty good. My recommendation to the hotel would be to use the hot serving stations for serving hot breakfasts - we could see the chefs cooking eggs, but could not get an omelette with the fillings we wanted!

Another episode of poor management was that our room wasn't cleaned at all the next day! We asked for someone to clean up, at which point housekeeping sent someone who put the pillows in place, changed towels (despite the fact that we had hung them up as we were happy to use the same ones) and disappeared. Dustbins weren't emptied, bathroom wasn't cleaned.

In the evening, with no tea / coffee in the rooms, we asked for some hot water at the Toast café on the ground floor - only to be told that they had run out of hot water!!

Keep clear of this hotel - it's extremely poor value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the rooms overlooking the foyer of the hotel - they are a lot less quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear AllHolidays!
I would like to thank you for taking the time giving us your feedback from your stay with us.
We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations. Regarding amenities and waterboiler in rooms, this is available in our upgraded rooms, but unfortunately not in our standard rooms.
Other issues you mention is absolutely not to our standards, and will be adressed immedeatly.
We do hope to see you back with us, so we can have the chance to change your impression!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here during a conference in June, 2014. It's a farely new hotel, but still, by now it should have gotten rid of the trouble that usually occur in the start up period. The room was okay (ordinary double room with a shower). Nice bathroom, okay bed. No minibar, no coffee or other hot drinks. A bit dark, since the room was turning towards the atrium of the hotel.

Still, the main critique is the lack of effective handling through all lines, the main difference between a middle class and low class hotel in my opinion. Probably, some of the reason is the size of the staff being to small. Being a conference hotel, I expected it to be able to handle large crowds of people. In this matter, the hotel failed at all points. It started at lunch, whith a food counter which is too small for 50 people ++. We had to wait for so long in line, that we barely had the time to eat before the one hour lunch was over. Later, when serving wine/beers to 80 people during a ten minute break, there was only one person handling it, without filling any glasses before serving. That led to a long line, and the last person being served 10 minutes after the break was over. At dinner, the service was efficient, but the food was poor. A three course meal starting with a crab soup that tasted so bad, most of the guests ate merely a few spoonfuls. The pepper steak for main course was so difficult to chew, that I saw noone eat the full portion. The vegetables where undercooked. The sauce and potatoes tasted good, but there was far too little of the sauce. The dessert (pavlova) was great, but far too small. Especially since none of us were full after the two previous courses... Wine was good, though! The morning after, breakfast was okay, but several times the trays were empty, and the staff didn't manage to get the food in fast enough. The worst of all, still, were the queues that piled up during check out. I was lucky to be number ten in line, but behind me there were at least 20 people, and most of them eager to get to their plane in time. Two people at the reception were supposed to handle all the guests checking out. They were professional and impressively calm and good humoured, but sadly all to alone there. So, if you're considering to stay here, be prepared for everything to take a lot of time, be early everywhere, and avoid eating dinner and lunch at the hotel. If you follow that advice, you might be enjoying this as a 3 star hotel. If you're having the lot, find a different hotel...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovinda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lovinda24!
Thank you for taking the time giving us your review and constructive feed back from your stay with us. I am truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations!

As you mention, the hotel opened in May, and during June we still had some issues to sort out.
I sincerely hope you will visit us again, to experience that we have indeed improved on all levels.
If you would like to discuss any issues further, you are very welcome to contact me directly via e-mail: solvi.solmunde@scandichotels.com.

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice new hotel so rooms and bthrooms are still very clean and well maintained. Breakfast had a good selection. Location good for the bus or train station but not quite so convenient for the rest of Bergen. The only negative is for the price paid I would expect a kettle/tea and coffee to be provided in the room and not to have to pay for it at the cafe downstairs.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into the hotel atrium, windows don't open so can be quite hot despite the air co...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mda00rjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisorer!
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Scandic Ørnen!
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our hotel and services to your satisfaction.
We offer water boilers in all upgraded rooms, so for your next stay we recommend to book a superior room. We sincerely hope to see you back with us soon.

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Location : a bit off the city center, but an easy walk to all the attractions. Next door to the bus station and train station, so a plus if you arrive by train or want to start your fjord trip by early train. If you take an airport bus from the airport, it stops at the bus station on the opposite side of the hotel. Some convenient stores around, not many restaurants.
Hotel : very new, big lobby, big hotel, so quite busy with many tour groups. Decor was bright and airly, nice furnitures, new and quick lifts.
Room : quite a gamble, our groups got 5 rooms with different details and view. But there were high buildings around so no very nice view. Good size room, very comfortable bed and easy chair ( if you got one). There were flat screen tv, a fridge and working desk with a chair. OK decor.
Bathroom : a bit small but mine was functional. Shower was great.
Wifi : free and working ok.
Breakfast : great, it was included so don't miss it.
Staff : OK but staffs at the reception were not very eager to help.
Rate : we booked the hotel when it was not open yet so got a good rate but I guess it must be the same as the other hotels in the same level.
It was OK stay but next time, I probably stay somewhere else with more charm.

Room Tip: You really have to try your luck with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ArayaBKK!
Thank you very much for taking the time giving us your feed back of your experience at Scandic Ørnen. This brand new hotel opened in the beginning of May, and we are still working on all routines to settle.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to us!

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel just opened and has lots of new shiny surfaces. Positive: very clean, desk staff very friendly and helpful although not extensive knowledge of Bergen. Breakfast really large selection and some nice innovations- an orange squeezer for fresh juice. Located 10 minute walk from Fish Market, across the street from the train station.Wireless free and generally fast, Lobby cafe has friendly staff but limited selection and pricy sandwiches. Down sides make this review more negative: Rooms can be hot if interior to building (no windows to open); rooms are Spartan- literally the size of a bed- singles are barely walking room around the bed (only other item is a desk). No comfortable chair, not dresser to put clothing in- lived out of my suitcase! When taking a shower bursts of hot or cold water when another room had demands on water supply, No bathmats for cold stone (and wet) floor. No directions on phone to arrange wake-up or call front desk (If you stay here, dial "9") . No wash cloths. Exercise room with a couple of machines. Roast restaurant to be avoided, but that is another review

Room Tip: Get a room on the outside of the building since windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisorer!
Thank you for taking the time giving us your review of your stay at Scandic Ørnen.
I am happy that you found our service and breakfast very good, and sorry that we did not meet other expectations in the room.
Being brand new, we still have issues to sort out, and I can assure you that the problems you mention are about to be solved.
We hope to see you back with us soon, and you will experience improvements on all levels.

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We recently stayed in this new hotel for one night and found the rooms to be very basic, impersonal and very cold no mater what temperature I set the room thermostat on. The rooms had no draws for storage, no bathmat and given that there was a so called wet room this meant a very wet bathroom floor. The curtains had come free of their support runners which meant one could not fully close the curtains. Having the curtains always open with almost no evening darkness meant that the room was flooded with light all night.

Breakfast is served in a large and very modern dining area but the hot food consists of basically unusual sausages and lots of eggs with only one type of very basic pastry available.

Because the room was so cold I rang reception and asked for an extra blanket for the bed and was subsequently provided with a thin sheet style covering for a bed quilt but no
quilt/duvet !!

This is a very new hotel, positioned within walking distance of the town centre, however not the sort of place we would like to spend more than one night.

While in Bergen a trip up the local mountain on the funicular Floyen railway is really worth while and the top of the mountain provides spectacular views over Bergen and a range of scenic walking tracks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicornen, Daglig leder at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Greg072!
Thank you for taking the time giving us your kind review of our hotel! I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay!
Only 2 months since our opening, we still have some issues with adjusting temperature in bathrooms, and I am sorry you found yours too cold.
Regarding curtains, I sincerely hope you informed us during your stay, so that we could offer you a different room, which would be our normal proceedure in this case.
I can assure you that we are working hard to improve our performance, and hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Bergen.

Kind Regards
Sølvi Solmunde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ornen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ornen

Property: Scandic Ornen
Address: Lars Hilles gate 18, Bergen 5008, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Ornen 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Ornen, centrally located in Bergen, close to the city's cultural centre, the Grieg Hall and Bergen Art Museum. Spacious and modern rooms, including accessible rooms. Try our fantastic restaurant Roast and Bergen's only skybar, located on the 13th floor with a fantastic view of the city and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Ornen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing