We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Scandic Hotels
£180
£180
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Benedict Hunjan
Seagrave, United Kingdom

Poor breakfast, poor location.

Review of Scandic Ornen
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2019via mobile
We stayed at the Scandic Ørnen the weekend just gone as a family of four sharing two rooms for three nights. We were assigned rooms on the fifth floor. We had only booked standard rooms but these were exceptionally small. A/C in rooms for show and didn’t work. Dreary outlook over car park for station/bus station. Location is fantastic for connecting to bus and train but quite a walk down to town to main tourist area. Breakfast is very poor - staff rush around replenishing the meagre spread but the food is some of the worst we had over the ten days we were in Norway. There’s something very generic and perfunctory about this place and you feel very much just part of the mass - tourist in, tourist out. It’s put me off trying a Scandic again and I wouldn’t recommend this hotel.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this review
Responded 6 Sept 2019
Hi doctorbenedict.

Thank you for your reply.
Infortunatelly Scandic Ørnen does not have A/C, only 'balanced ventilation' which makes you able to adjust temperature in room with +/- 3 degrees. Sorry about this.
Our breakfast is a part of a concept you'll find in every Scandic Hotels in our chain. Sorry about our experience, it can be a bit crowded, especially between 08 and 9:30/closing.
Thanks again for your comments, we need this in order to improve!

Best regards, team Ørnen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£141
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £141
0.4 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £188
0.6 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Tripadvisor
£133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £133
0.1 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £159
0.4 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£198
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £198
0.8 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £180
0.7 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Scandic Hotels
£117
  • Tripadvisor
    £117
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
7.2 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £229
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £182
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Radissonhotels.com
    £177
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from Scandic Ornen
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bergen
Reviews (2,451)
Filter reviews
2,452 results
Traveller rating
1,082
831
343
123
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,082
831
343
123
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus roast restaurant breakfast buffet city centre minute walk open the window great breakfast fish market cold cuts floor norway bryggen conference harbour nok
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 2,452 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2019 via mobile

The hotel is right opposite to the Bergen central bus station and 10 mins walk to the Bergen city center. There are a few supermarkets within 2 mins walk but most of them are close on Sunday!
The room is quite big and we can easily open multiple suitcases at the same time.
Breakfast provided offered a good variety however, the coffee mugs are quite dirty (I stayed there for 4 days and had the same problem in every morning).

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank katzsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Dear katzun,
thank you for your kind review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards, Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

We paid great amount of money to stay for 3 nights. Below are comments for bad experience: 1) Staff is almost like a robots, no emotion or friendly touch to anything 2) simple things like getting umbrella or power adapter is an issue 3) Room phone is not working so for to get anything, you have to walk all the way to the front desk and request! 4) Bed is not made good each night 5) Shower is terrible in even a junior suite we stayed! once 1-person takes shower, there is water everywhere in the bathroom, which is terrible. Only one person can even stand in the bathroom as they are so small! 6) it takes 10 minute to get the elevator in the morning hours to get down! I can go on but I am more used to places like Hyatt and Marriott where they go above and beyond to make hotel stay an experience. In this case, we couldn't wai to check out!!

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank NiravShah45103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Dear NiravShah45103,
thank you for your review.
We're sorry your stay with us wasn't as expected.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, so that we get the chance to improve.

We hope we'll get the chance to welcome you again!


Best regards, Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019

Great location, amazing breakfast, lovely rooms and very friendly and professional staff. We higly recomend it. Scandic hotels are always a safe bet, but this was particulary amazing. We really enjoyed our time there.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Pilar_DeObeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Dear Pilar_DeObeso,

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

have a nice day and welcome back!
Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2019 via mobile

Responding to an invitation to review the breakfast. The breakfast was excellent however now I am having indigestion after having to scoff the meal while an angry looking staff person attacked with a vacuum cleaner.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Dear Victoria,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, we are very sorry that you was disturbed by a person with the vacuum cleaner.

Have a nice day!
Best regards,
Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Nice hotel a few minute walk from the city center. I liked the style, the bed, the dimension of the room and bathroom. However, there is room for improvement: light comes from the curtains, no bath mat and no vanity set, poor hairdryer, towel too small. Breakfast buffet is great but the sweet selection is very limited. Coffee is also not the best.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
scandicornen, General Manager at Scandic Ornen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Dear Simona M,
thank you for your kind review.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, so that we get the chance to improve.

We hope to see you again soon!


Best regards, Team Ørnen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews