We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in prime position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in prime position”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My husband and I returned to The Clarion Collection Havnekontoret earlier this month (December 2011).

Room Tip: Superior rooms look onto the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebrownjug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    389
    125
    46
    18
See reviews for
219
581
51
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The airport shuttle dropped us next door but it was an easy 2 min walk over cobblestones. It took us 30 mins to get from the airport to the hotel in rush hour traffic and cost 90NOK.
The really nice and helpful reservations people made me anticipate a more wonderful stay. The promised reserved corner room was given away. They moved things around and accomodated us. Tonje at the reception was very nice.
The hotel itself can be compared to a Holiday Inn. It had a really nice, quirky, modern lobby. Off the lobby, the cafe had free make-yourself pancakes in the afternoon.
The room was sooo tiny, we almost had to spill out into the hallway with our luggage. We barely had room to move around. It was warm the day we arrived and the room had no air conditioning. They had some "air system" that circulated air but it could barely be felt. It was stifling after someone showered. With windows open to the nice harbor view, the smell of bus fumes and the street noise from people at the nearby bars became unbearable enough to switch rooms in the middle of the night. Camilla at the front desk was so nice and cheerful and did the best she could. We moved to an even smaller room with an even teenier bathroom. Our view was the backs of other office buildings. It was quiet though.
At 2195NOK, I felt like this place was a total rip off. I do understand that Norway is an extremely expensive place. I spoke to the first unhelpful person there, mgr Bengt Erik and he reluctantly took 500NOK off one of the two nights we were there. We were just disappointed we weren't told about them no having airconditioning and the hotel pictures protraying a much nicer place. Disappointing and we would never return.

Room Tip: If you want the harbor view, be prepared for bus fumes and noise from the bars below. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beaverhousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Rooms very modern and quite an opulent feel - surprisingly. Comfortable throughout and very quiet. Obviously, Norway prices make value for money ratings tricky but my rate was quite reasonable given that there was a complimentary evening buffet - should one be so inclined. Take the Flybussen airport bus from Bergen airport. 95 euro and much cheaper than a taxi. Bus stops right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bringbackthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norge
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked a room for 4 people. 2 kids and 2 grown ups.
Family suitell. 2 Big beds. But no space for the clothes for 4 people.
The reception is very friendly, full score. The price....
Yes we are in Norway, very expensive. I expected a more spacious room for 3200 NOK/night
Location. No better place in Bergen. Breakfast included for all four of us.
Supper also included, but not good followed up and became very empty......
Room is dusty, cleaning could be much better
Shower, saving water for this price ? Stordalen ar you kidding ?
I want to be wet when I take a shower. Shower hose was disgusting and a new one should
have been installed for long time ago

Room Tip: My suggestion is not go to Bergen if not necessary, if for fun go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geirNorway22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Great location on the water and in the old town. Meals were very good both breakfast and dinner included. Maintenance of this hotel in serious need of attention. We stayed in one of the tower rooms, and "upgrade"....but walls behind the curtains literally crumble when you touch them, mirror fell off the wall when my husband brushed past it and the electrical systems were developed before anyone had iPhones, iPads, etc. to charge. When you turn the lights off, all of the outlets turn off so when wake up thinking your gadgets are all charged, they are all dead!

All of that said, service was good, staff was very nice and accomodating

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andywoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

we had stopped at the clarion in Oslo and was not dissappointed with the Havnekontoret.It really is worth the extra money to stay in this hotel. the wall has signed plaques of various stars who have stayed here. the breakfast is good and again the afternoon pancakes are well worth an attempt. the hotplate is in use on a morning as you can cook your own bacon and eggs.Enjoyed being at the heart of the sightseeing area looking out .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StHelensLes1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon and it was fantastic. The staff were great, breakfast and the included light dinner were high quality and there was always plenty of choice. Although the dinners are described as 'light' we ate here as our main evening meal each night with no problems. The location was really really great - just off Bryggen and overlooking the harbour.

There is a bus that goes directly from the airport and stops almost right outside the hotel door.

We especially enjoyed the ability to borrow DVDs from the library and watch them in our room, and the 360 degree viewpoint that you can access from the 6th floor. Great views!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzewearsshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 46 in Bergen
571 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
518 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 46 in Bergen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing