We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, well-located, and generous-spirited Norwegian hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had a wonderful three-day stay in the Havnekontoret Clarion in Bergen. The staff was consummately professional and helpful (even locating a fascinating used bookstore for us near downtown Bergen, which we'd been unable to discover through thorough Internet research). The property itself is not only well-located (quite near several museums/historical sites and easy walking along the quay to Bergen's center but beautifully appointed both in the public areas (we loved the DVD/library and the seating in the lobby area) and in the room we got (2 double beds and well-designed bath with heated floors and towel rack; the room was quite distinctive and had a balcony to a building across the way-- not a great view but still a refreshing place to step out that really "opened up" otherwise angular room which was a bit dark. The breakfast is really excellent, with some good choices even for the vegetarian in our family (that we found more difficult at other Scandinavian hotels) and also the free evening buffet after 6 p..m. (delicious -- and filling, much appreciated)! Top that with having complimentary pancakes(another treat!) at teatime lovely dining area, the very strong Internet signal (better than in some other hotels, we found), the quiet (thick walls and carpets), and the invitation to mount to the building's tower for a (free) view of Bergen: our expectations were not only met but far exceeded. We also appreciated the free DVDs/machine in the room and friendly explanations about using that, and also enjoyed the sauna and steambath in the lower level (though we had to ask at the desk to learn more about using those.) This was certainly our all-around favorite hotel during our 10-day stay in Norway--deserved the award it recently won in the Clarion Collection in Scandinavia.

Room Tip: Although we were initially disappointed not to have a "room with a view" (and our room loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank college_prof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 727 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is very well located and good value for money. The rooms are large and the furniture is modern and clean. The food is good and you get a lot of free food and drinks all day, which makes it even better. The lobby and restaurant and very nicely decorated and good places to hang out.

The only problem I found with this hotel was that the bathroom doors in all rooms were SEE THROUGH! I felt very uncomfortable with that and had to cover the bathroom door with a blanket the whole stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halacontemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

THE PROS: the Female staff on the desk are delightful and seriously try to address any problems.
We can't speak highly enough of them.
Thats it for the pros
THE CONS: We paid for a Delux room. Apart from having 2 easy chairs which were comfortable, It's tiny. Guests have no control over the temperature in the room, despite there being many dials to fiddle with. The room can become insufferably hot at night.
The suitcase holder blocks entry into the room and in any case the size is only big enough for a small carry-on bag. The shower cubicle has no holder for soap or shampoo. There's little space / shelving to put anything. There's absolutely no information on TV, Wi Fi, in the rooms. Laundry is neither picked up or delivered and in our case, articles clearly marked Dry Cleaning were washed. And then it took 48 hours. The breakfast was the worst we've encountered in 2 weeks in Scandinavia which we have at times marvelled at.
There is no one or even trolleys to help with luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Nice hotel in a big stone builing at the end of the Bergen Bryggen. The hotel has taken over an old builing and dont have too many similare rooms, many looks different from eachother. Some small, some big - some with no view - other with great view. But if you're lucky - you'll get a great room with great view.
They have an free evening buffet - with different food every day. Breakfast is ok, but they maybe should change chairs..... Or maybe its a part of the image...
Free wifi is a pluss, even computers in the lobby if you dont have your own.
The airport shuttle bus starts from the other side of street outside the hotel. And an store next door if you need some food/snack.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frode R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were given an upgraded room,hate to think what a regular was like.Small,could only stand upright in half the room.Tiny bathroom.American Express told us this was the best hotel in Bergen,I really hope this is not true!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I feel lucky having the opportunity to stay in what’s rewarded as the best Clarion Hotel in the world. The service at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret is at top level. The staff is always smiling, and they do everything they can to make the stay as comfortable as possible, and feel at home. The breakfast is great with both ecological and local food. :) In the evening the hotel serves a hot meal which can serve as dinner if you don’t want to try some of the great restaurants in the harbor area. I give this hotel my best recommendations. This is my first and only choice in hotels in the Bergen area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I was in this Hotel on January 2012, during a winter holyday trip from Oslo.
I spent one night and my experience is very positive. I think it is the best hotel in Bergen, considering position, cleanless, service, extremely courtesy from staff (in particular, I would like to congratulate Julien).
Very convenient is the evening dinner, included into daily rate. Position, as I said, is fantastic, and the Spa area (sauna included), completely free, is very relaxing place.
For sure, I will come back next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
737 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
333 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
701 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £147 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing