We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel in historic building .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Havn means harbour in Norwegian and kontoret means office...
The harbour area in Bergen is a charming place to stay and a very short walking distance to the most interesting sights. Rosenkrantz tower and Haakons hall from medieval times and the oldest church in Bergen (St.Mary's) are situated only a few steps away. The famous Fishmarked and the Funicular takes you 5 minutes to reach. Quiet hotel with a great breakfast. Plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance. I like that the hotel doesn't have a busy restaurant and it feels good to get away from the buzz and into the relaxing reception area.....
The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds great.

Room Tip: The hotel has a very special suite with a balcony overlooking the harbour ...expensive but well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanteaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is an average 3 star hotel. The location is good and convenient for many things. But the rooms are small and the amenities basic. Some of the furnishings are looking tired and in need of some TLC. The room temperature is hot and not easy to control, open the window and the outside noise keeps you awake till 2am close the window and the noise is lessened bunt it is too hot to sleep. The food is always cold. The DIY bacon and eggs in the AM -may have seemed like a good idea at the time - but there is not adequate facilities and frequently one person hogs the grill while the rest of us stand in line for up yo 30 minutes waiting to do our eggs and bacon. Personally I pay 4star plus rates to have someone else do it for me. The inclusive evening light meal is a very poor. The supply runs out early and is not replenished the attitude is keep out of the way and let them get on with it. Overall this is not value for money and in many, ways does not live up to the description on line.

Room Tip: Book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liznis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. It is right in fish market district and has great views. The hotel has a great buffet breakfast included in its price. It also has waffles in the afternoon for its guest and a light dinner free. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and very much wanted to please you. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNCDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The good:
The location of this hotel is just perfect. You walk right out the door and are just steps from the harbor, fish market, beautiful and historical UNESCO site. Also an easy walk to the train station.
The bed was really (I mean, REALLY) comfortable.
The bathroom, while not huge, was roomy enough, very clean, and the shower pressure and temperature (always a pet peeve of mine) was solid.
The not-so-good:
We checked in as a family of five in a family room and were definitely expecting a tight fit. And this fit was indeed tight. We had a large bed which we shared with our 5 year old and a pull out couch. It felt a bit cramped but considering we were only there for 2 1/2 days and spent minimal time in the room we were okay with this. However, there are a few things that would have made the room better.
- The lighting was strangely dark. You couldn't really light the room to pack or unpack. Just weird.
- Our room looked out over the "inner courtyard." That means a great view of some office building and a dingy "alley." And that view of the office building meant opening the curtains and waving to some folks having a conference in an office maybe 100 feet away. I guess this was the cheap room without a view, so if that is your thing, make sure you ask at booking.
- The room had black out curtains (good) but no shades or sheers that would allow natural light with some privacy. This was particularly needed considering the dim lighting.
- The bathroom door was made of glass which was partially frosted but didn't provide much privacy. For a couple...fine. But my pre-teen would have liked an actual door.
The lovely:
- The staff at the hotel were exceptional. Warm and friendly at check-in and very helpful with any questions we had about Bergen. The Tourist Information center should come and see how these professionals greet visitors and handle guest inquiries. Always a smile, very helpful, and attentive.
- The breakfast, afternoon pancake "snack" and dinner is a life saver for families on a budget. The breakfast was wonderful - fresh fruits and veggies, breads, meats and cheeses, and the option of making an egg and bacon...we were able to make a nice meal for a family of five with a great selection. Enough to satisfy a vegetarian. We had the "make-it-yourself" pancake snack one afternoon and that was nice too. Dinner was great. A lot of selection and always fresh veggies and greens for salad, a starch or two, bread selections, and sandwich selections. Again, we were able to get three kids full meals.

We would absolutely stay here again if we have the opportunity to visit Bergen.

Room Tip: If you are interested in a view, ask, as some rooms look into an alley way.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank 374Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed three nights at this Clarion. We were lucky with the room (305) which , though small, has a nice window facing the port and a great bathroom with an equally nice window also facing the port ! Not everything is perfect but you will have a hard time finding a better buffet breakfast, a pleasant afternoon tea ; you can prepare your own pancake and add nice jams or maple syrup. For dinner, the salad bar is very good and you can complete it with a simple hot buffet, tacos for the first night, then chicken and rice for the second and lasagne for the third night. All included in the price of your room ! Feel at home ! You can buy a glass of wine or a beer at the bar, near the reception. We had very nice dinners in Copenhagen and Oslo, so this was a good opportunity to eat something simpler but good. Kids would also enjoy it... Especially cooking their own pancake(s) .
Staff at the reception are perfect and will handle everything with a nice smile. Good place !
By the way, I forgot to add that it is the best location in Bergen ( but everybody has already said that ) .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Although the harbor location is considered prime, the small, minimalist room does not warrant the price or the reputation. The room (although clearly remodeled) was so small that if you put down the luggage rack, you would surely hit it in the middle of the night. The lighting was so minimal that even with the reading lamp, you had to move your book back and forth to get enough light to read. There was no safe and only one outlet to charge things. Since there was no clock, I had to charge things in shifts. The bathroom was modern but tiny. The funniest part of the bathroom was the great magnifying mirror that was so high that it was useless for an average size person. Even though we paid for a harbor view, we chose a room in the back because of the street noise. The staff was harried, mainly because the hotel seemed to understaff the front desk. The saving grace was free dinner buffet which saved money on the expensive, ordinary food elsewhere. After walking around Bergen for a while, I would have much preferred a hotel in a less congested area which might have cost far less than this very overpriced hotel. The free shuttle to the Hurtigruten cruise ships stops right in from of the hotel, but you do have to allow time for it to stop at every hotel.

Room Tip: Non street side rooms are quieter but darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is in a great harbor location. Everything is within a few minutes' walk. We had two rooms and both showed some signs of wear and tear. The included breakfast, mid-day pancakes and evening supper make this hotel a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelermary2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
680 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
321 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 49 in Bergen
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £158 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing