We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. At first sight it seemed horribly expensive, but when you look for the prices of other accommodation in Bergen, when you add a good breakfast, evening dinner and being in the heart of Bryggen, the room prices are more than correct. Bonus: there is a pancake self-service in the afternoon.
The negative point: we had to make the children’s bed ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    375
    120
    44
    17
See reviews for
211
558
50
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Havnekontoret is my home 3 times a year and has been since its opened. I choose always Havnekontoret of many obvious reasons;
The best beds and linnen, quiet A/C so I sleep like home.
Healthy breakfastbuffet and eveningfood so I dont need expensive restaurants.
Very close distance to shopping and fitnesswalk at Fløyen, with the best view.
In the middle of all attractions/sights.
The staff, at reception, kitchen, director.. All of them do the best to make you feel comfortable.
And offcourse, the hotel is delicatly styled and just being there makes you relaxed.

Go there, and feel like home!

Room Tip: I always ask for superior rooms, fronting the harbour east and city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoerilS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel and we were delighted. With due respect, I have to disagree about some of the complaints posted in August 19 by one reviewer. First, You DON'T have to stand in line to cook your own breakfast. There is the normal Scandinavian (i.e., excellent) breakfast buffet with meats, cheeses, bread, cereal, yogurt, etc. You MAY cook your own bacon and eggs, but there is plenty of other stuff to eat that is right there. That includes scrambled and soft boiled eggs already sitting for you. Nobody has to return their dishes to the trolley. Some people around me did. In one case the guy staffing the dining room seemed to be annoyed that those people were doing his job.

No if you want to have complimentary pancakes from 3-6 pm, you do have to pour the batter on the grill and turn them over yourself. Oh, and they also serve a free, light dinner buffet, which is really nice given the cost of eating out every night in Norway.

Obviously I haven't seen all the rooms, but ours on the 4th floor looking toward the south was roomy and tasteful. Correct, there was not doorman. I didn't really worry about it, as the front desk is a couple meters away from the elevator easily accommodates several people with large bags. I'm in my 60s and it didn't occur to me that I needed help.

Finally, about the desk staff... the one thing that I noticed about them other than that they were professional and helpful, was that they seem to all be good looking. I guess that isn't hard to do in Norway. But the male and female staff were great.

We stayed at some really nice hotels in Norway. This was definitely one of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaglandTTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is well maintained and has a perfect location for walking to all the Bergen attractions. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful -- Bianca stands out. The breakfast and supper buffets are extensive, high quality, and help you save $ in expensive Norway. The rooms are quiet and large, by European standards. Parking is a challenge in Bergen, but the hotel has a few spots across the street which they will let you reserve in advance. The rooms are very pricey, but everything in Bergen is pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The common areas of this hotel are bright and reasonably furnished but in a cheap way despite the cost of the accommodation. Location is very good but heavily trafficked with tourists of which I was one. The seafood markets are fantastic and a great place to eat freshly cooked varieties of crab, prawns, lobster, fish or whatever you fancy.
What appears to becoming a trend is the use of liquid soap dispensers. Cheap! There are no doormen to assist with your suitcases, the check-in staff who also run the adjoining bar are often pre-occupied telling the housemaids which rooms are being vacated and require service. The restaurant has to be seen to be believed. Be prepared to cook your own breakfast on a small grill (eggs and bacon etc.,) which you must share with all the other hotel patrons. You could wait all day for a jug of milk to be placed alongside the self-serve coffee machine. Knock on the kitchen door and still wait five minutes, I thought he must have been milking the cow! After finishing your meal you are required to take your plate to a trolly, scrape off any leftovers, place cutlery into a plastic container, coffee cups on the 2nd tier. The only time we witnessed what could loosely be termed as ''service'' was when an obese woman came into the restaurant and demanded to see the chef because she allegedly had food allergies. She had that man running back and forth to the buffet getting plates of everything while the rest of us dutifully cooked then cleared our plates and cutlery. No placemats, tablecloth, napkins etc., this is a fully self-serve restaurant.
Our fjord view room was so small we became claustrophobic so can't imagine what a standard room must be like. The hotel itself is very old and tells a story of days gone by, the location is fantastic but that's about it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Clarion Collection Hotel in Bergen very much! Excellent stuff and very good service. We want to mention Zintis, Sanita, Annija, Juergen and Spine who gave us a very good feeling like at home! They are great! Thank you very much for the pleasant stay!!
Natalia&Reiner

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reiner S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My grand child (9), who had been to Hawaii this summer, commented: "This is the best hotel and the nicest people!" And I agree. All the staff were helpful and smiling; we were even wellcomed by sms in the morning. Special colours and good furniture all over, and the old building is taken good care of. From the tower you have i nice wiew over the harbour and the city. I find the hotel expensive, but then you got a lot of good food included, dvd player and free films. We really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back yard are big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingjerd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#8 of 47 in Bergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing