We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was a lovely hotel with a lovely mix of character and competence !! It is beautifully located by the Bryggen. If you ask the staff they will provide a key to the tower, which gives a wonderful vista over Bergen, both during the day and at night. There is also a grand hotel staircase with lots of pictures of the city which was almnost like a museum visit in its' own right.

When we arrived, we learned to our delight that they provided a light evening meal, which was included in the rate (we did not realise this). Others have moaned about this, but whilst it is nothing particularly special, we found the food very tasty with a huge well presented variety (the same incidentally also being true of breakfast). They also provided a hotplate to make pancakes during the afternoon- great fun. The staff were all very friendly.

There was a well equipped fitness centre which was deserted and clean.

Our room was very comfortable, but faced the inner courtyard rather than the harbour. All in all a lovely hotel which really added to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roza Linn L, Hotel Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for your great review and that you enjoyed the stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with other readers

We hope we will see you soon her again

Best regards from all the staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was exactly right...location, facilities, staff, ands food. Our comfortable room, bed and bath were welcoming, as were the people at the front desk, who helped acclimate us in every possible way. The location, right on the harbor, is convenient to everything, yet just away from the crowds in the shops. Breakfast was delightful, the supper, provided in the price, was welcomed after a long day out..and a great bonus--crepes with jam from 3 to 5 each day, with coffee and tea available all the time. We loved our time here and would choose it again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roza Linn L, Hotel Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guest.
Thank you for your great review and that you enjoyed the stay at the Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret.
We appreciate you sharing your experience with other readers

We hope we will see you soon her again

Best regards from all the staff :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in August in junior suite 400, a nice corner room with good harbor view. Room size okay but not great for a jr. suite. Small bathroom with a tiny shower but with excellent plumbing. No bathmat; had to use a towel on floor. Maid did not replenish tissues and left heat on in bathroom one day which took a long time to cool because there is no a/c. You need to leave the windows open and they only open a few inches. Bed very comfortable. No porter to help with luggage.
Laundry open only Monday-Friday. They lost a brand new blouse and have not responded in any way to my attempts to get them to discuss that or to email me a copy of my bill.
Breakfast buffet average, i.e., good. Free dinner buffet of cold things which is nice if you're tired or saving money but not a thing to repeat.
In sum, a nice hotel in an excellent location but with service problems. A decent 3 star hotel, definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Fabulous hotel and very hospitable hotel. Spacious room and nice balcony to enjoy sit out in the evening over a cup of coffee. Nice spread in Breakfast and dinner also is served and is complimentary, too.

Room Tip: Don't forget to utilise the DVD collection the Hotel has for movies. Not to forget, the view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myselfHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Grand building with an interesting commercial history. The hotel is a mix of old and new, and the location is perfect. There is no hotel restaurant, but two rooms where you can have breakfast and evening meals(buffet). Room(superior in our case) was nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I spent our last 2 nights in Norway in Bergen and were glad we chose this hotel. The location right on the harbor was terrific and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were a great value. Easily made up for the slightly higher cost of the room. The room was clean and comfortable and had a big view of the harbor. It was also fun to go up in the tower and get views of Bergen and some history. On the way to the airport, we were able to walk across the street and get directly onto the flybus. Very convenient. If we had understood Bergen better on arrival, we could have easily walked from where we got off the express boat from Flam and Balestrand to the hotel. Altogether a great choice in Bergen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The public spaces and the clock tower are very interesting and worth checking out. We stayed for 3 nights. The room was quite functional and included a love seat. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well maintained. Staff were very pleasant and the dining staff were very eager to please. Both breakfast and evening buffets were very well done. Would highly recommend this property. Parking can be an issue. The hotel has very few parking spots and the public parking next door is quite costly. If arriving with car, other properties may be better for parking.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 49 in Bergen
737 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel No 13
Hotel No 13
#5 of 49 in Bergen
332 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
701 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#11 of 49 in Bergen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret

Address: Slottsgaten 1, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range: £147 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Havnekontoret Hotel Bergen
Clarion Collection Bergen
Clarion Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing